We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lub d Bangkok Silom
Ranked #11 of 1,193 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
96 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Stay”
Reviewed 2 May 2010

The Lub D is really difficult to fault. It's modern, clean, and everyone really goes above and beyond to help with anything you may need. The rooms are absolutely beautiful and I wish that every city had one. We recently took a trip around the world and this became the place we compared everything against (even top of the line hotels).

Don't be discouraged by it being a hostel. We stayed in one of the private rooms, located on the top floor. It had air conditioning, a private shower, TV, safe, and internet. The clientele is young and it appeared there were always people around chatting or on the internet in the lobby.

The hostel is very safe - there are safety cards and the corridors lock behind you. The location is decent - close to markets and the subway. The only slight downfall is this is super close to the Patpong area, which can be avoided.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duellema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    263
    43
    10
    7
See reviews for
4
153
299
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2010

Very clean rooms, nice architecture, super friendly staff, happy guests...

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoelVanHoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2010

Only stayed here a few nights but found the place really really great. Very close to the train station...very nice and helpful staff...very clean bathrooms and rooms, wonderful down blankets, great common area and kitchen, bike rental at the hostel, and a nice bar on the ground floor for socializing!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrottinLucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2010

Nice and simple place to stay. Location was a little hard to find at first but manage to caught it after the taxi went one round around. The staff were helpful and nice and helped us to check-in as fast as they could. The rooms were what we see in the pictures and good enough for me. The toliets and bathroom were clean too.

Would love to come back here again

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoranTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2010

My friends & I stayed at Lub D for 2 nights. The place was surprisingly charming and attractive. I loved the design of the building, it was airy and modern, there were no stuffy furnitures in sight. The staff was really helpful and accommodating, despite that some of them had a hard time expressing themselves in english. Nevertheless, we managed to understand one another through gestures & maps. We slept in the twin bedroom, that houses a bunk bed, a small table & chair, & a safety deposit box. The room itself was quite narrow, smaller than the room depicted in their photos, but the four of us were able to sit comfortably on the available floor space when we decided to hangout for a quick chat. We used the communal bathroom, which was really huge, clean & tastefully designed with high ceilings. There were several H&C showers, toliets, as well as sinks.

What I didn't like about Lub D is the location, although it was supposed to be one of the good points of the place. We flew in late at night from KL, and we haven't had dinner yet. We tried looking for nearby open restaurants; however, there weren't any. The nearest would be 2 blocks away along the main road. The area was quite dark and deserted so we didn't really feel safe walking along the sidewalks at night. Good thing that the train station was quite near, around 10-15min walk.

Overall, as long as you don't mind walking to the restaurants & train stations, I think Lub D is a good place to stay in around the Silom area - it's clean, affordable, attractive and there are a lot of backpackers whom you can befriend. You can always hop into a cab or tuk-tuk anyway.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Lub D was great. I stayed in hostels and hotels all around Thailand, Laos and Vietnam and this was one of the best places I stayed in, even better than the overpriced but posh boutique hotel I spent a few nights in.

The staff are extremely friendly, and it's in a great location. It's about a five minute walk to Chong Nonsi sky train, 10-15 to Sala Dang (15 if you're walking at snail's pace). There's a great atmosphere in the hostel as well and the bar/lounge is fun to relax in.

By taxi it's about 130 baht (under $4) to somewhere like Kao San road, but I took the sky train most of the time, coupled with a few tuk tuk rides. Via Silom road (just a few minutes from the hostel) it's easy to get to Siam and the riverfront.

Rooms and showers are incredibly clean (and cleaned every day, even if you stay in a private room).

I really can't emphasise enough how much I enjoyed staying at Lub D. I stayed in about 10 places during my trip and, aside from a few 500 baht beachfront bungalows, it was my favorite accommodation.

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RFS28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, ny
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2010

Loved this place. Very clean. Very nice people. Lots of personality. The beds could be more comfortable but it was my experience that most beds in Asia were harder than those in the U.S. The on site laundry and movie room were a bonus.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wornoutshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 858 in Bangkok
3,433 reviews
Silom
Amara Bangkok
Amara Bangkok
#49 of 858 in Bangkok
1,031 reviews
Siam
Bed Station Hostel
Bed Station Hostel
#2 of 1,193 in Bangkok
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Smile Society
Smile Society
#3 of 1,193 in Bangkok
700 reviews
Silom
Glur Bangkok Hostel
Glur Bangkok Hostel
#17 of 1,193 in Bangkok
887 reviews
Siamaze Hostel
#4 of 1,193 in Bangkok
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lub d Bangkok Silom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lub d Bangkok Silom

Property: Lub d Bangkok Silom
Address: 4 Decho Road | Suriyawong, Bangrak, Bangkok 10900, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 1,193 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lub d Bangkok Silom 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic, trend-setting ‘original Lub d’ is still a ‘Bangkok must’ for many who are aware of its deserved reputation. With a downtown location conveniently places in Silom, Bangkok business district, Lub d - Silom is surrounded by a plethora of shops, coffee shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs. Silom buzzes from early morning until late night. Travellers are connected via the nearby BTS skytrain and the pier for boat rides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lub d Bangkok Silom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lub d Bangkok - Silom Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing