We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, but bad location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lub d Bangkok Silom
Ranked #12 of 1,186 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very clean, but bad location.”
Reviewed 14 February 2011

The hostel is very, very clean. I was really impressed by that! It's a massive place, four stories, quite modern looking, and the rooms were spotless and big. If you get booked to stay on the 4th floor, it's a trek up! I stayed in a ten bed mixed dorm, ten bed female dorm, and a twin dorm. All were very nice and roomy.

If you decide to stay here, book ahead and not the day of. They charge $2 more for same day bookings and you won't be able to book on the same day online.

They provided free lockers which was great and free linens. The bathrooms were extremely clean too. The showers knobs were a bit strange to work out in the beginning, but after a few tries, worked perfectly well. Hot water! :)

Free luggage storage which is nice, there are printing services 10 THB a sheet, and free internet. There's a 7-Eleven three blocks away, so convenient. The train station (Chong Nonsi) is only three blocks away, so it was good, but if you get off at the wrong exit, you'll be lost for ages.

Most people haven't heard of the place or know of the location, so it was very difficult to find especially for taxi drivers. They constantly dropped me at in Silom and I had to ask around to find the place. Have the staff write the address of the hostel in Thai for you.

Most of the staff there were friendly, but the female staff were another story. They just seemed miserable and unapproachable. They serve breakfast, basic and the prices were average. Though, you could find cheaper breakfast elsewhere.

There is an information center there, just a guy with a stand. He was helpful to a degree and you can book tours with him. But, better to figure out what you want to do and how many days you want to travel to any locations on your own. He wasn't much help in that sense. Nor, did he know where popular restaurants or bakeries in Bangkok were. Plus, he didn't have a computer on him, so you'll have to find that stuff out yourself. But, he was able to write addresses for me in Thai to give cab drivers which was very helpful.

Pros:
Very clean
Quiet
Friendly staff (just the men)
Big rooms
Free lockers (bring your own lock)
Blow dryers in the bathroom
Free towels (if you stay in a twin or double room)
Free internet

Con's:
Location. No one seemed to know where this place was located.
It's not near anything exciting or near many shops or restaurants.
Quiet location.

Overall, I would stay elsewhere where there was more happening like shops and restaurants. I liked the hostel, but it was just too far from things. Plus, it was on the more pricey end when it came to hostels. You can find hostels for cheaper, but, I do think they'll lack the cleanliness of this place.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kookykoalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    262
    43
    9
    7
See reviews for
4
153
299
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Lub D is a good value hostel - very clean and the staff are helpful. Good location in that it is close enough to transport and night markets, but it is far enough away from the bars so that there is no noise late at night. Good prices and interesting interior.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tabras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Stayed in a twin room for 2 nights in January 11. It was fantastically clean - esp. the bathrooms!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2011

This hostel is more for people who has a "gap-year" outlook (regardless of age). Lazy bean couches and mod design all lends to its appeal.

I was very surprised when I arrived close to midnight after a 8-hour train ride that the hostel did not have an elevator. As I had just recently hurt my back and was on medication (and hence, the trolley bag!) and travelling with my mom, it seemed overwhelming. Luckily, one of the staff, Tong, helped us carry our bags four floors up. Thanks Tong!

We were actually told that as it's closed to midnight, it's not safe for two women to walk outside the hostel to get food, even if it's around the corner to 7-11. Quite true. On our second night, we realised that there's little street light leading up to the street where we live, and so it can be quite dangerous.

Otherwise, staff at frontdesk especially the gentleman one night, was very unfriendly. When asking him a question, he answered without making eye contact, preferring his computer screen to actually speaking to a guest. The ladies were cautiously friendlier.

I've stayed in many guesthouses both of backpackers and boutique quality, so I can honestly say that the structure of the room (a double room) takes some getting used to. The tap water doesn't flow well into the designer'ish sink: instead, it splashes all over. Whomever who does the housekeeping has gotta be cursing at the interior designer for it. The toilet's real tight and there's no shelf to put extra toiletries in the shower area.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AggieO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lub_d, General Manager at Lub d Bangkok Silom, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
Dear Valued Customer,

We're sorry for the anxiety, frustration and inconvenience that you experienced during your stay with us. According to our hostel design and structure, the elevator was considered unsuitable, especially since our guests tend to be young and fit. Nonetheless, as you noted, our staff was pleased to assist you with your bags.

In Lub d, we host a wide variety of guests, including "Gap Year" flashpackers and each has different expectations which we strive to meet. We are committed to continual monitoring of our amenities and will take your comments into consideration when changes are made. Thank you for pointing them out to us.

Friendly regards,
Pranod Lerttheerachanchai (Nod)
Lub d Host & The Gang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2011

Comfortable place, new installation, good location, friendly staff and most important clean and safe place!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ligpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
korea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Even though it's my favorite thing to be a hippie when I travel to bangkok, staying in this hotel was a good experience.

I loved that I can travel anywhere with skytrain not to mention having no hassle of getting a cab! - Thanks to it so I could discover many cute parks within the city Bangkok.
The place was well designed for the comfort after a long day of walking.
Also it's super clean despite of the guest load.

If there's a place like this in Singapore, I"ll run over every weekend and enjoy the time alone when I want, or enjoy the many other travelers company like did there!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curiosaliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
95 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

I came back to Lub*d about a year after my first stay. It is still spotless and well run...there's no fading going on here at all. The staff was very helpful and the location is really good. The railway twin is a great room - i stayed in one by myself and was happy to have a top bunk to put my things on. Bathrooms are tops. If you're a budget traveler, you'd do well to stay here and not in the middle of Khao San. They also opened a location near Siam.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idoltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Amara Bangkok
Amara Bangkok
#44 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,399 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Smile Society
Smile Society
#3 of 1,186 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Siam
Bed Station Hostel
Bed Station Hostel
#2 of 1,186 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Silom
Everyday Bangkok Hostel
Everyday Bangkok Hostel
#11 of 1,186 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lub d Bangkok Silom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lub d Bangkok Silom

Property: Lub d Bangkok Silom
Address: 4 Decho Road | Suriyawong, Bangrak, Bangkok 10900, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 1,186 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lub d Bangkok Silom 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic, trend-setting ‘original Lub d’ is still a ‘Bangkok must’ for many who are aware of its deserved reputation. With a downtown location conveniently places in Silom, Bangkok business district, Lub d - Silom is surrounded by a plethora of shops, coffee shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs. Silom buzzes from early morning until late night. Travellers are connected via the nearby BTS skytrain and the pier for boat rides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lub d Bangkok Silom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lub d Bangkok - Silom Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing