We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the extra Baht”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lub d Bangkok Silom
Ranked #28 of 1,389 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2011

The hostel is decorated in a very minimal fashion, warehouse style with a metal stairway...and I was on the top floor - no fun with luggage!

However, the dorm was a large 6 bedded room, with a sofa and was extremely clean, with large comfy beds. The shower facilities were on the same floor, very clean and spacious. I quite happily extended my stay at this hostel. In fact, one of the women in my dorm was there for a whole month (which speaks volumes).

The reception team are fairly helpful and there is free internet available (and wifi) also.

Additional there is a tour representative situated in the hostel, I did book a trip - can't say that I was too impressed with the level of service and on reflection the price was hiked. My error - I should have shopped around.

There is a relaxed feel in the communal area and generally speaking welcoming.

Location - perfect for me. A short walk away from 'interesting' night life, or a stroll from the skytrain...but not backpacker land to a massive degree.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
Thank 627,432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (843)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

621 - 627 of 843 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2011

Interior concept, attention to detail and overall atmosphere are fabulous - no doubt about that. Where Lub comes just a liiiittle bit short is the rooms. We stayed in the double... The heavy black curtains over not so clean windows (which you can't open) gives a somewhat gloomy feeling. I'm sorry, I really am to write this, but we loved everything about the Lub...except the room. The minimalism inside the room was not a fun one. I'm not a complaining-about-the-plumbing type of guy, but the shower head (and neck) can be (accidentally) removed with just a little bit of touch and the AC is slightly noisy for me. Still, I recommend this place, for it's price, location and lobby fun...now if only they could match that fun inside the rooms. Anyway. Good luck, Lub!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audriano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lub_d, Manager at Lub d Bangkok Silom, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2011

Dear Murklys,

First of all, we thank you very much for staying with us and letting us know the problems.

Unfortunately, the room is designed in such a way that we cannot open the windows. Keeping the windows clean requires Spiderman's services but we are working out a way for our handyman to reach the windows from the outside so they can be cleaned. As for the shower head, I just checked it and, you're right. I have assigned the handyman to fix it and all the others in Lub d ensure they fit correctly. I also checked the A/C and while I found nothing irregular, I will call the mechanic team to check it again.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts. It offers us the chance to make Lub d even better. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again soon :D

Warm regards,

Tivas Phetbunyang (Pure)
Hostel Manager & The Gang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

I've been staying here together with my girlfriend three times now. It has always been a decent stay with friendly staff, clean rooms, free internet and sort of a cinema on the 3rd floor. It's a 5-10 minutes walking distance to the nearest skytrain (Chong Nonsi), so it's pretty close to the main things to do in Bangkok. Besides that I dont think that Lub D is "the 17th coolest hangout spot in the world", like it says in their homepage, I really have nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Stayed here a couple of times whilst travelling around thailand and thought it was fantastic!!! also a great place to meet new people!!!

the hostel offers different types of rooms to accomodate budgets-we stayed in a private twin room-which was great!!! but there are also dorms available!!

the staff are all fantastic and extremely helpful!!!

the hostel is located in a good area of bangkok-but its easy to get a tuk-tuk to anywhere around bangkok anyway!!!

would reccomend to anyone!!!!
hope to stay again sometime!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelguru07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

The hostel is very, very clean. I was really impressed by that! It's a massive place, four stories, quite modern looking, and the rooms were spotless and big. If you get booked to stay on the 4th floor, it's a trek up! I stayed in a ten bed mixed dorm, ten bed female dorm, and a twin dorm. All were very nice and roomy.

If you decide to stay here, book ahead and not the day of. They charge $2 more for same day bookings and you won't be able to book on the same day online.

They provided free lockers which was great and free linens. The bathrooms were extremely clean too. The showers knobs were a bit strange to work out in the beginning, but after a few tries, worked perfectly well. Hot water! :)

Free luggage storage which is nice, there are printing services 10 THB a sheet, and free internet. There's a 7-Eleven three blocks away, so convenient. The train station (Chong Nonsi) is only three blocks away, so it was good, but if you get off at the wrong exit, you'll be lost for ages.

Most people haven't heard of the place or know of the location, so it was very difficult to find especially for taxi drivers. They constantly dropped me at in Silom and I had to ask around to find the place. Have the staff write the address of the hostel in Thai for you.

Most of the staff there were friendly, but the female staff were another story. They just seemed miserable and unapproachable. They serve breakfast, basic and the prices were average. Though, you could find cheaper breakfast elsewhere.

There is an information center there, just a guy with a stand. He was helpful to a degree and you can book tours with him. But, better to figure out what you want to do and how many days you want to travel to any locations on your own. He wasn't much help in that sense. Nor, did he know where popular restaurants or bakeries in Bangkok were. Plus, he didn't have a computer on him, so you'll have to find that stuff out yourself. But, he was able to write addresses for me in Thai to give cab drivers which was very helpful.

Pros:
Very clean
Quiet
Friendly staff (just the men)
Big rooms
Free lockers (bring your own lock)
Blow dryers in the bathroom
Free towels (if you stay in a twin or double room)
Free internet

Con's:
Location. No one seemed to know where this place was located.
It's not near anything exciting or near many shops or restaurants.
Quiet location.

Overall, I would stay elsewhere where there was more happening like shops and restaurants. I liked the hostel, but it was just too far from things. Plus, it was on the more pricey end when it came to hostels. You can find hostels for cheaper, but, I do think they'll lack the cleanliness of this place.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kookykoalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Lub D is a good value hostel - very clean and the staff are helpful. Good location in that it is close enough to transport and night markets, but it is far enough away from the bars so that there is no noise late at night. Good prices and interesting interior.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tabras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Stayed in a twin room for 2 nights in January 11. It was fantastically clean - esp. the bathrooms!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia Di K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Bed Station Hostel
Bed Station Hostel
#3 of 1,389 in Bangkok
1,123 reviews
Siamaze Hostel
#5 of 1,389 in Bangkok
571 reviews
Silom
Everyday Bangkok Hostel
Everyday Bangkok Hostel
#9 of 1,389 in Bangkok
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Smile Society
Smile Society
#4 of 1,389 in Bangkok
733 reviews
Siam
Lub d Bangkok Siam
Lub d Bangkok Siam
#35 of 1,389 in Bangkok
1,077 reviews
Boxpackers Hostel
#11 of 1,389 in Bangkok
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lub d Bangkok Silom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lub d Bangkok Silom

Address: 4 Decho Road | Suriyawong, Bangrak, Bangkok 10900, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 1,389 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: £9 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lub d Bangkok Silom 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic, trend-setting ‘original Lub d’ is still a ‘Bangkok must’ for many who are aware of its deserved reputation. With a downtown location conveniently places in Silom, Bangkok business district, Lub d - Silom is surrounded by a plethora of shops, coffee shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs. Silom buzzes from early morning until late night. Travellers are connected via the nearby BTS skytrain and the pier for boat rides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Zenrooms, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lub d Bangkok Silom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lub d Bangkok - Silom Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing