We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay next to Khaosan rd ”
Review of Villa Cha-Cha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Cha-Cha
Ranked #365 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Hamburg
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good stay next to Khaosan rd ”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We come here every time we visit Bangkok.

The place is not cheap and the rooms are mostly not the best you can get for the money, but it is a quiet oasis next to the loud and hectic Khaosan area.

You can reserve the rooms over the website from the hotel. That makes it more easy if you come late at night and do not want to run around with your backpack after arrival

We like to stay here and we'll come back again

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank c0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    358
    175
    61
    33
See reviews for
63
233
45
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Massively enjoyed the stay here for 2 nights, it was recommended by a good friend and I was not dissopionted.
The front of the hotel doesn't look very inviting on arrival but once you step off of the street its a lot of fun with the pool to the left and the reception on the far right.
The room had everything I needed and the bed was very comfortable the only down side was the water in the shower not heating up.
once you get down to the ground and head out the back you are in a big restaurant with a huge menu of thai and western food at very nice price, it is on the end of one of two very popular backpacker's streets and the buzz is electric, the restaurant/bar claims to never close I was there eating thai food at 4am so I feel like that might be true!
WARNING - if you are a 5* person this is not the place for you, its basic and music runs on late into the night, I loved the place though.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Millzy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
122 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I have to say that I was a bit nervous of staying here after reading the reviews especially the one regarding the passport and the stained sheet story. Check in was flawless, the room lovely and then I saw the damage sign, The cost of damaging any of the facilities or furniture in the room was lovingly detailed. I thought of the room deposit (2000 Thai Bhat or the passport), I put a towell on the pillows and worried that I might dribble during the night and thus stain the pillow slip. But mostly I managed to relax and enjoy lots of lovely pillows, great AC and reliable WiFi and thanked the Buddha that even though the hotel is in the KhoaSarn road area, the hotel was very quiet.
I think that the idea of charging a room deposit only tells a sad story about previous guests and that its possibly a trend learned by bitter experience by hotels in the area as I have never been charged such a high deposit if any at all in other areas of the city.
Anyway I like it, service was friendly and professional and no problems at check out.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsharmawinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I booked a room here for a few days after my boyfriend and I arrived in Bangkok from the USA super jet-lagged. The room was small but had a western-style shower (aka most medium budget rooms in Thailand will have a shower head in the bathroom that kinda just sprays everywhere - no shower curtain or stall, Villa Cha Cha had a proper stall). The AC was solid but the wifi internet was spotty from my device for whatever reason I was never able to figure out. There were ants in the bathroom everyday - not a big deal given the fact that it is Thailand and you need to expect more bugs just in general. However, I'd expect ants in a room going for $20-30 a night, not $50+ a night. The pool and sauna were very nice. The decor is exotic and tasteful. The hotel's travel desk for booking arrangements was sub-par. The woman was nice but didn't speak enough English to explain that the train to Chiang Mai was under construction. Instead, she just kept saying that the train was not available. After hearing horror stories about sketchy bus companies catering to the Khoa San Road crowd by using untrue stories about local transport to make folks book with them instead of using other resources - I had no idea if I could trust her. In hindsight, her prices were mostly okay but for only $50 US more I could fly two people to Chiang Mai in less than an hour as opposed to spending nearly 10 hours overnight in a bus. I'm glad I booked flights instead. Overall, I wasn't a fan of the frequent scams/hustling vibe directed at tourists in this area. I'd recommend you get out of Bangkok if you really want to see Thailand. Also, don't expect taxi drivers/tuk-tuk drivers to know where this place is at all. If you can, copy down the address in Thai - not English - and find it on a map or write down the major cross streets to show any drivers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 699kathrynm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Had a great stay....we were here for just two nights passing through Bangkok and to see the Palace and Khoasan Road area and picked a great spot. The pool was a welcome retreat after wandering each day, the ambience in the lobby and restaurant was amazing and the staff were all very welcoming and helpful. The rooms themselves were nothing special but were clean and comfortable, and the highlight was that the hotel was so close to the Palace and Khoasan Road. Didn't need any longer in the area and wouldn't call it a holiday destination but it was a nice spot to stay while doing the sights of Bangkok.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2RoamingGnomies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Excellent location spotless rooms lovely food pool and ambience fab cocktails.loved our stay here wish we had stayed longer. I. Would definitely go back and recommend to friends.thevstaff were friendly and cheerful , and nothing was to much trouble for them to make your stay special.

Room Tip: Close to koh san road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolphindreamsno01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilbao, España
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The only word that comes to my mind is.... Trickster!
We were here for 5 nights, everything was simply correct. The restaurant service was slow, rude and forgetful.
But the surprise came the last day, while we were doing the checkout,( they were holding our passport for those 5 days, its completly illegal!)
During the checkout they showed us a sheet with a grey spot of 2 square cm, to our eyes was nothing to worry about, but the lady (to name in a polite way to the receptionist) forced us to pay the sheet in concept of damage or break. We were trying to explain that this little spot could be simply remove, cleaning with bleach, laundry detergent...
And even more! How could we know that this sheet was ours? How can they threaten us to pay in order to get back our passport? Has not a hotel a proper laundry service?
Finally, after a huge argue, we paid 1000baths!!!!!! (30€)... It was imposible to reason out with them.
I have never seen such a bad service. Please, beaware of this kind of fraud.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JunePomposo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#186 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#344 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
#421 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#356 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri House
Rambuttri House
#449 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cha-Cha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cha-Cha

Property: Villa Cha-Cha
Address: 36 Tani Road, Taladyod | Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Cha-Cha 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is very conveniently located near the historical area. We are a 10-15 minute walk from the Grand Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Cha-Cha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Cha-Cha Hotel Bangkok
Cha Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing