We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, simple but far away from downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Check Inn Phromphong
Ranked #146 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean, simple but far away from downtown”
Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed there 3 nights.
Everyday, they changed the bedsheet and towels, filled two small bottles of water in the fridge and a new roll of toilet paper.
There is a place to prepare food,you can boil water and they provide tea and sugar.
The only concern was the size of the shower/toilet,way too small.
At the night time, we tryed to have a walk in the neightborhood but we changed our mind very fast because of the gloomy atmosphere.
The breakfast is very tasty, a lot of choice.
The staff was very nice and cool with us.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NaS B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    129
    56
    12
    8
See reviews for
22
75
115
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

this is situated in the heart of sukumvit town
2 minutes walk to the BTS station
the rooms are small but it was well fitted with everything
the breakfast was okay
nothing to complain
please do visit food market nearby so that grab some fruits and meat
hotel is cheaper than most of the hotels around the areas

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank susan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Here's another example of bad plumbing and the absolute need to look at the hotel prior to booking. When we arrived the front desk staff switched the properties on us. They have another location down the street (but it may not be any better) We asked for a "high floor" when booking on an Asian travel site, but the staff ignored that request. Since I wasn't feeling well we took what they gave us on the first floor because they said we could change rooms the next day. The room did not have windows that opened and the bathroom, although remodeled, smelled very strong of Bangkok sewage. If you've ever been to downtown Bangkok you know how bad that can be.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Booked 2 nights at short notice we were put in the A wing which was approx' 50m from the main hotel.This was an old building rooms were small had to climb up narrow stairs.
Room was well equiped with microwave and hot plate + hot water kettle.Bathroom was very small was hand basin was outside and was hanging at an angle.Bed was comfortable.Hotel is in a good location close to BTS and other 'entertainment'. Breakfast was buffet style and good.
What I found a bit diconcerting was the lack fire protection I could see noway out should a fire start on the ground floor.

Room Tip: Good location choose new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirdmanPatong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phatthalung, Phatthalung, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2012

great inn , i stayed at new wing it was great. hi-tech and comfort ... but it's small room btw i like it ;) , near BTS and just 20 m to Tops super market ........................................................................................................... :)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BZ18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Up Country Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

This small hotel is in a GREAT location if you need to walk a 2 minute walk to BTS, or less than one minute up to Sukhumvit at the Tops Food Market parking lot. I stayed 3 nights in a deluxe room Wing B, which seems more recently remodeled than Wing A. It is a QUIET hotel, but the Elevator did not work on 1 day nor on one night.

The English language TV selection was pitiful. When Russia Today is your ONLY news option in English, you know this hotel is CHEAP in paying for a guest TV package. The worst, no BBC, no CNN, no Aljazerra, no MSNBC, no Australian News, just Russia Today news.
There was no real bellman most of the time. Front desk staff have rather poor English for a Bangkok Hotel. Breakfast buffet was WEAK, nothing could be cooked to order, only one bread for toast, just plain weak for a 1000 baht a night Bangkok Hotel. Great mattress, quality linens, quality bath towels. The two Apple PC computers in the lobby had a decent internet connection, I can't speak how well the free WiFi worked. This is a family friendly soi, just behind Tops Food market. However, I was traveling alone and I did not have enough room in that Deluxe Room. The sink in the bathroom was smaller than a 1960's travel trailer sink. I brushed my teeth in the kitchenette sink due to the bathroom sink being about 6 inches deep from front to back. Decent small fridge. For one or two nights, if you were NOT going to be in your room other than sleeping, this hotel could work. If you have trouble with stairs, especially too steep of a rise, then avoid this hotel unless you insist on ground floor. I was on the top floor which is floor 4. There are better options in this area of Bangkok in this price range.

Room Tip: The elevator at the end, makes noise with a ding. At the other end of the hotel you would hear peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IssanExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

Very convenient ! Lovely staff and very hospitable especially pavey! It Was our first time in Bangkok and really happy with Our hotel choice! We stayed in this hotel twice after when we came back from pataya! I recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virgili_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Check Inn Regency Park
Check Inn Regency Park
#242 of 862 in Bangkok
577 reviews
Sukhumvit
Smart Suites
Smart Suites
#91 of 862 in Bangkok
909 reviews
Sukhumvit
Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok
Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok
#159 of 862 in Bangkok
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Rezt Bangkok
Rezt Bangkok
#280 of 862 in Bangkok
64 reviews
Sukhumvit
S Box Sukhumvit Hotel
S Box Sukhumvit Hotel
#227 of 862 in Bangkok
166 reviews
Klassique Sukhumvit
#74 of 862 in Bangkok
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Check Inn Phromphong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Check Inn Phromphong

Property: Check Inn Phromphong
Address: 2/20-22, Sukhumvit 41 | Khlongtan Nua, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Check Inn Phromphong 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near BTS Phromphong. Tastefully furnished with fully equipped kitchenette. 24 hrs front desk, free wi-fi, fingerscan entrance to the premise, CCTV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Check Inn Phromphong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Check Inn Phromphong Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing