We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great countryside bike tour”
Review of Absolute Explorer

Absolute Explorer
Ranked #68 of 225 Tours in Bangkok
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Absolute Explorer are specialized in tailor-made travel itineraries for discerning travelers seeking authentic experiences in Thailand, Vietnam, Cambodia, Myanmar and Laos.
Athens
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great countryside bike tour”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We went on full day tour to the countryside of Bangkok. I think the tour was very nice, we saw all the rice plantations and you really get an idea of how people live outside the center of Bangkok. Our tour guide was very polite and willing to answer all of our funny questions. We tried new fruit and we had a very tasty meal in a local house in the area.
Don't worry about the required fitness for this tour, because the landscape is as flat as possible. It is very easy, relaxing and you really get a chance to enjoy the beautiful scenery.
The unreliable timetable of the trains does make it difficult to make the most of your time, and you might feel that the tour is ending a bit too soon, but it's still worth it. Great bike-ride.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank marianathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    19
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
2 reviews
“Countryside bike tour”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We went on the half day bike ride on a recent trip to Bangkok. It was a fantastic experience especially with a 10 and 7 year old. The bikes are well used but functional and there is a spanner on hand if needed along with constant smiles and local information. We all raved about our day to my husband who had been unable to join us! We would love to try the new cookery tour offered by this company as the food was delicious and the setting so refreshing after a few days in the city. Come rain or shine this is a day to remember - we managed to shelter from the rain with the guide and enjoy an undercover rest! This lingering meant we had to run to catch our scheduled train but it all added to the fun and adventure. Orn was brilliant and took great care of all of us.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rachel_HKHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Rice fields, visit of school and wooden house where we ate were great. Bikes were old, brakes did not work well and could not adjusted to my height (1,82 meters). Guide was not taking care of my 2 kids. We nearly got lost. Thai trains are unreliable making an ineficiente use of your time.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing bicycle tour in the Thailand countryside”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

My wife and I were on our Honeymoon in Thailand for 2 weeks in July and came across this bicycle tour. A friend had recommended going on a bicycle tour while in Bangkok. We didn't realize at first that this tour was primarily outside of Bangkok... and what an amazing experience it was! We had a very nice, friendly, knowledgeable tour guide, Panida aka Orn. Orn took us on an adventure starting in a local farmers market in Bangkok in the morning. The market was quite an experience, very interesting (smells and sites!). Then we took a local train ride for about an hour to a village northeast of Bangkok airport. We then road bikes throughout the beautiful countryside and farmlands. Stopping frequently to hear about the fascinating things Orn had to say about the local people, vegetation, and culture. We stopped at a few different places for local snacks & to rest. We then had an excellent meal in a newly constructed house which sits over water. We then worked our way back to Bangkok to call it a day. What a great experience! To top it off, even thought it was the rainy season while we where there, we had sunshine all day!

Thank you so much for the amazing day in the Thailand countryside! Thank you again Orn (and by the way, the lottery ticket we bought on the Train going home didn't end up being a winner, shoot!)

John & Mary Manilla

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jrmanilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great break from Bangkok”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This day trip was heaps of fun. Enjoyable day away from the grind of Bangkok - great lunch provided and lovely people in this adventure.

Helpful?
Thank TrentHeckel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Absolute Explorer also viewed

 

Been to Absolute Explorer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing