We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and offering good value”
Review of JL Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JL Bangkok
Ranked #183 of 756 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Properly functioning aircon unit — nice cold air blowing out. The room is clean and you can really get a good night's sleep.

Courteous and efficient staff.

Wi-Fi all right for some of the time, but at peak hours the signal is too weak to be usable.

Not so good is the breakfast. Awful coffee (instant would have been better) and not very tasty food. Room for improvement there.

Room Tip: This is a good hotel but the breakfast is pretty poor. Book a room without breakfast at a lower pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissMoonbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2011

Want to share few of the funny experiences we had while we were in JL Bangkok. From the suvarnabhumi airport we get a taxi and it was a rainy day. We got a good old cab driver who is friendly and he used highways with less jam. He finally dropped us off in a crowded place where there were contles and oh so many shops, barbeque stalls and ready-to-wears hanging beside the roadside. We were surprised and actually shocked cause it was far different from what we expected. We were told to go farther inside a patio. So we reached the end of the patio and there is a rather beautiful boutique- that is the JL Bangkok, we used the back side of the hotel as entry. The front side is much better. The staff are uber-friendly, foods for the breakfast are yummy- mostly pork (sorry for my muslim friends) But they are also able to serve halal foods. Overall, our stay here is a remarkable experience for a low budget holiday. I would come back here again, for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Lovely friendly hotel with clean rooms and excellent food. Much nicer than the soulless large chains. I would definitely come again

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlaDoucette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

A great place to stay for a short stopover. Close to the city and airport. I have stayed three times and will again as the price is right. It is a family owned hotel and you can meet them every night at dinner and they will help you with all your travel concerns.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. I prefer the front facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alastair1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

JL Bangkok was a wonderful budget hotel. The staff was courteous and helpful. They made suggestion on things to do in Bangkok and around Thailand in general. The rooms were clean and well kept. The hotel was quiet at night as most of the other hotel guests were international professors or students studying at nearby Ramkhamhaeng university. The only downside is that the hotel is not centrally located. It is a little far from the main city attractions such as the old city, china town etc. It is a good location for people who don't mind traveling in by boat or taxi to see these attractions.
Overall, I would highly recommend JL bangkok hotel to anyone traveling to Bangkok

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank uchenna30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This is a family owned and run hotel. Some member of the family is always present, but you will never need them. The staff is outstandingly self-sufficient with the responsibility to make important decisions. I've stayed at this hotel for four weeks at a time and never have I had a problem the staff could not/did not resolve immediately. The hotel is affordable and located on major bus lines. The water-taxis to downtown is a short (very interesting) quarter-mile walk away (17 baht, 0.50US$). The restaurant has a wide variety of dishes that are excellent. My favorite is shrimp with cashew nuts.

Bottom-line wonderful hotel located away from but within reach of town with an outstanding staff. Be sure to say Hi to Prenda and Julia and their family.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel is where the street traffic is, but I did not find the traffic annoying. Actuall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACCTGPHD1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Stayed here a few times earlier this year accompanied by my wife and we found the hotel to be of a good standard for a budget hotel. The staff and managers are very attentive and helpful. The hotel is very clean and approximately 30 minutes away from the tourist places in Bangkok. I have always found Bangkapi to be the real deal by way of seeing, living and breathing Thai life. It close to the airport, shopping centres and restaurants. Subsiquently, we have recommended this hotel to family and friends and would be happy to stay here again. The wifi internet is free as well...... All in all a good, budget hotel. Highly recommended :)

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank The_Immy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#367 of 896 in Bangkok
460 reviews
Banglamphu
Roof View Place
Roof View Place
#348 of 896 in Bangkok
429 reviews
Silom
Swan Hotel Bangkok
Swan Hotel Bangkok
#564 of 896 in Bangkok
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airy Suvarnabhumi Hotel
#510 of 896 in Bangkok
346 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
River View Guest House
River View Guest House
#383 of 896 in Bangkok
401 reviews
Nasa Vegas Hotel
#728 of 896 in Bangkok
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JL Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JL Bangkok

Address: Soi Ramkhamhaeng 23, Huamark | Bangkapi, Bangkok 10240, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 756 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: £16 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — JL Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 50 rooms of contemporary design and hi-technology provide a sophisticated experience for both leisure and business travellers. Guests can stay connected to the world with our wireless Internet access in all rooms. And at the end of a great day enjoy a night of blissful sleep on our exclusive bed. We're just 15 minutes away from the International airport and is located near one of the best night markets in Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your JL Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jl Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing