We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Friendly guest house” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of JL Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
JL Bangkok
Ranked #98 of 598 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly guest house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Firstly location. Great location for the airport. From the skytrain is a 50 baht taxi ride or a 20 minute walk, but everything you need is within walking distance of the hotel. Supermarket, cinema, shops, restaurants etc. Apart from the cinema however there is little else to do in the evenings unless you are prepared to take a taxi or skytrain ride.
Congratulations to the staff at JL, very friendly and welcoming and will go out of their way to help with any problems. I was having great difficulties booking onward flights and hotels but with JL's vauable help I got the problems sorted out.
My room was great, good size with a large queen or king size bed and was very clean. I had one evening meal in the downstairs restaurant and this was well prepared and good value.
Just a few niggles stops me from giving this hotel a higher rating and they are just minor niggles but I feel I should mention them so that future guests are aware of them before they arrive. Firstly there is no soap in the bathroom, just a very small bottle of shower gel, which for a couple would hardly last a day. Being a traditionalist I do like soap so my first purchase at the 7/11 was a bar of soap. Also the shower is electric and the water pressure is very poor.
Breakfast was adequate although the food was served luke warm at best, cold fried egg is not the choicest of food ! But there was a reasonable selection,
Please be aware that although your booking agent may have taken your credit card details, like mine did; at check out i found that payment had not been made by credit card and I had to pay the bill in cash which meant a speedy trip to the atm.
All in all JL was good value for money, but i have to admit that the shower and location might just make me look for an alternative hotel next time. But thank you JL staff, you were great !

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    38
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
15
29
31
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ubon Ratchathani, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

I recently visited Bangkok on a business trip and stayed at "one of the most relaxing and comfortable" Hotel I can remember for a long time. for the price and the convenient location having access to department stores and of course 7-eleven, there is even a mall close by. The hotel restaurant served excellent food and seemed to be very clean, the service was fantastic. For the money and a most comfortable and enjoyable stay in Bangkok, Try the JL Bangkok.

Room Tip: The single room with a queen size bed was great. Other folks I talked to that stayed on the opposite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochabamba, Bolivia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

We did expect little for the price and that's what we got. We choose the hotel because of the good and quick connection from the airport. Actually nobody said how far it is to walk from the railway station which connects to the airport, and the hotel website indicates a five minutes distance but this means by car!! In the map it seemed to be close but with laguage better take a cab!! Room was clean and had Wifi. But there was this big motorway bridge passing just 150mts. from the hotel which was an annoying noise at night! The breakfast was too little, but once again we did not expected much for the price.
The streets around the hotel are busy and there is street food as well as food stalls in the near by malls. I guess there are better hotel options close to the airport so I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bolivia-Online
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

It was my fifth trip to Bangkok and staying at the JL Bangkok. Actually, I feel like coming home. The hotel management and staff, the cozy ambiance, smiles and welcoming attitude, JLB is certainly the best place to relax and get to know Thai wonderful people. I enjoy being able to walk around the neighborhood, “window shopping” through dozens of vendors along the sideways, or at the two close by malls, visiting the temple across the street and to go around the city I may take the river taxi two blocks away from JLB, or an inexpensive taxi …your choice: car or motorcycle.

Good food is also a JL Bangkok attraction that goes beyond exotic tastes. A meal at JLB is enriched by a family like environment regardless of the language and culture barriers.
Definitely, if you are looking for fanciness and extravagance then JLB is not your place. If you want comfort and respectful friendliness “the Thai people way” all the signs point to JL Bangkok.

Room Tip: Corner suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Educadora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

very happy here .had an upgraded room was clean and basic don't expect to much its a room with a tv and aircon ,could not complain about anything
this area is pretty cool cheap clothes if your small and food cheap but very busy city road
100 meter walk to supermarket
great place i going back again

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nhaga41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starkville, Mississippi
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Just completing my third extended stay at JL Bangkok and have no reason to change the great reviews I have written before. My room, as before, was large and comfortable. In fact, I've been in a number of rooms and have not seen a single one I would not stay in. Staff does a wonderful job of keeping everything clean and neat. In fact, the whole staff (front desk, restaurant, room maids) is remarkable: friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. I conclude from the awards from Trip Advisor which they proudly display in the lobby that I am not the only one who likes the place. It has become my home in Bangkok and I hope to return often.

Room Tip: I personally prefer the 5th floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Papa_Sid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

This was my second time in Bangkok. I teach at nearby Ramkhamhaeng University and the hotel is convenient enough that I can walk to the campus if I feel like it. As others have said, you will enjoy your stay here. The hotel staff is very knowledgable about Bangkok, the local area and transportation. The rooms are kept clean ans room service is quick and efficient. Breakfast is well prepared and I have always found another traveler to talk with if I wanted to. Other important things to know about this fine family owned hotel is that there are two movie theaters and a mall within a 5 minute walking distance of the hotel. If you go to the mall check out the basement floor which has a number of medium priced restaurants and a food market. If you need to go into town grab a cab to the Airport Link (50 BHT) and within 30 minutes you will be in the heart of Bangkok. For the price and service you get at JL Bangkok, you cannot find much better.

Room Tip: 4th floor is quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CollegeProfessor56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Seasons Bangkok Huamark
#704 of 845 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
The Dynasty Hotel
#533 of 845 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Regent Ramkhamhaeng
#633 of 1,097 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunshine Apartment
#685 of 1,097 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Sathorn
Sribumpen Plus
Sribumpen Plus
#162 of 598 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Muslim Home 2
#175 of 598 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JL Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JL Bangkok

Property: JL Bangkok
Address: Soi Ramkhamhaeng 23, Huamark | Bangkapi, Bangkok 10240, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 598 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — JL Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 50 rooms of contemporary design and hi-technology provide a sophisticated experience for both leisure and business travellers. Guests can stay connected to the world with our wireless Internet access in all rooms. And at the end of a great day enjoy a night of blissful sleep on our exclusive bed. We're just 15 minutes away from the International airport and is located near one of the best night markets in Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your JL Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jl Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing