We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean room. good breakfast. far from attractions”
Review of JL Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JL Bangkok
Ranked #160 of 695 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 March 2009

stayed here 2 times. clean, new rooms with nice staff and decent buffet breakfast. i would recommend requesting a room not too close to the elevator because othewise you will hear "ding!" every time someone takes the elevator to your floor. it gets annoying late at night. also, you can hear your neighbors but it's not too bad.

the hotel's located on "ramkhamhaeng 23", a side street within walking distance to many clothes/food venders and shops (also a movie theatre nearby). there are 2 malls (with supermarket) and 7-11 in either direction out the main street.

it was a pleasant stay at a very reasonable price; however, if you plan on doing any sightseeing, this hotel is not really close to any attractions. there are many cheap local buses passing through the main street, ramkhamhaeng, but all signs are in thai and the buses take forever getting anywhere. taxi rides aren't any better unless you are into being stuck in bangkok traffic. what you can do to save time is get a taxi ride to the nearest bts skytrain station, Ekkamai (E7), about 20 minutes by taxi (60-90 baht).

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redeyeblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for JL Bangkok
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2009

This small hotel was in an ideal position for me. Being a solo traveller I always felt safe here and it was only a minutes walk to the night markets and 5 minutes either way to the mall or the Big C shopping centre with clothes stalls all along the way. The mall was full of resturant and massage salons along with heaps of shopping and the other side mall was full of designer clothes. There was even KFC and Maccas and a wonderful icecream palour. I spent the last 5 nights of a 5.5 week trip here so just wanted to unwind and this was perfect, I could walk up and have a massage every day if I wanted.
The hotel price includes a small buffet breakfast, has aircon, free wifi and sky tv. there is also a resturant if you wish to eat here. The rooms are cleaned daily and you get 2 complimentary bottles of water daily. The rooms are big, clean and newish as is the rest of the hotel ad the staff speak English. From the airport it is a 15 minute ride by taxi.
Perfect spot if you dont want to be in the middle of Bangkok with all the hustle and bustle but still want to shop and have a selection of eating paces.
This will be my choice hotel for any future visits.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grinningchook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2009

My wife and I recently stayed at the JL Hotel Bangkok. The owners could not possibly do more to make you feel part of the family - we have never had such great attention - nothing, absolutely nothing, was too much for them. My wife does not like hot, spicy food - so they made special foods for her and also stated that if she wanted any meal at all, to let them know in the morning and they would prepare it - and they did at very reasonable prices. The owner ( Peter) and his wife (Julie) also introduced us to all the local fruits ( at no charge)- Peter even walking down the street to get it fresh.Yes, it is situated somewhat out of town but this is far more than compensated by the warmth and service we encountered during our stay - top marks JL and thank you for a fantastic stay

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank splitterzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2009

I just came back from a lovely stay at the JL Bangkok hotel. The room is very clean and the complimentary bootles of water are just great. Although the hotel is a bit far from the main tour sites, I would defenitily stay there again!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EduardoPaciGalvao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2009

This was my first time in Bangkok and I could not have done better. I have 42 countries under my belt and many hotel stays all over the world but not even the 5 stars hotels compare to the desire to please of the JL Bangkok hotel staff. The hotel is central to everything since Bangkok has superb means of transportation. Not only is close to the airport but conviniently situated around tourist atractions, a university and shopping. A 24 hr restaurant is available at your disposition and they also arrange from a taxi pick up to laundry service, the famous Thai massages and tours to different atractions are easily booked at the lobby by the smiling staff. Definetly I will use this, VERY CLEAN, hotel with a family atmosphere when I come to Bangkok again. The owners were there to see that I had a very enjoyable time in their country. They succeded because my longlasting impression of the whole trip experience was ultimate awsome. ♀ 53 yrs old

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WORLDASHES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2009

My family enjoyed the stay at JL Bangkok very much on behalf of my elderly parents would like to thank the staff for the wonder service. Rooms were spacious and clean. There were a few big shopping malls around, and night market is just a few mins walk away. Hotel is very near the airport, less then 20mins journey from the airport to the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josielai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2008

We stayed at JL Bangkok en route from Chiang Mai to Brisbane. This is a very pleasant boutique hotel well located between the city and in easy reach of the airport. The hotel is new and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. The staff are most helpful. The food in the hotel’s restaurant was excellent. It is well located near markets, shopping facilities and cultural interests. There was no concern about safety or security and the rooms are quiet.
If you are looking for an economical stay with clean well serviced rooms and very friendly staff, we would highly recommend this hotel.

John & Bev Scantleton
Lismore Australia

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Scanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
0.2 mi away
Zircon Hotel
Zircon Hotel
#479 of 879 in Bangkok
4 reviews
1.9 mi away
Livotel Hotel Lat Phrao Bangkok
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Aleaf Bangkok Hotel
#317 of 695 in Bangkok
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Bedroom
The Bedroom
#138 of 695 in Bangkok
19 reviews
2.3 mi away
Baron Residence Bangkok
Baron Residence Bangkok
#355 of 695 in Bangkok
13 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Mandarin Residence
Grand Mandarin Residence
#822 of 1,283 in Bangkok
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JL Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JL Bangkok

Address: Soi Ramkhamhaeng 23, Huamark | Bangkapi, Bangkok 10240, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 695 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: £16 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — JL Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 50 rooms of contemporary design and hi-technology provide a sophisticated experience for both leisure and business travellers. Guests can stay connected to the world with our wireless Internet access in all rooms. And at the end of a great day enjoy a night of blissful sleep on our exclusive bed. We're just 15 minutes away from the International airport and is located near one of the best night markets in Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your JL Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jl Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing