We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and attentive staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JL Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
JL Bangkok
Ranked #105 of 604 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Alabama
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very friendly and attentive staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2010

This was my first trip to Bangkok, so I really didn't know what to expect. I stayed for one month and was surprised at the level of service I received at such a reasonable price! The staff did everything they could to make me feel comfortable and at home. They helped me find my way around town, made reservations and made many recommendations on how to spend my free time. The breakfast was included and very good. I often ate dinner in the hotel (usually around 240 THB) and it was always wonderful. I am looking forward to coming back next year.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocJon56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    38
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
15
29
31
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Blue Mountains NSW
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2010

JL is close to the airport, right at a night market but a little distant from the centre. It is a great location for all the various tourist activaties that we engaged in. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the rooms although not large, were very clean and comfortable with top quality firm beds. I highly recommend this hotel and will return with my wife on our return trip to SE Asia.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginastu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2010

This hotel is great. It's clean and the service is awesome. It's possible to do some shopping around the hotel but if you want to be near the shopping center of Bangkok, it's a little bit far.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TTHTTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2009

hotel is good.. bit away from d city .. its very clean .. breakfast is good..
staff r very friendly..

Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kollimadhuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starkville, Mississippi
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

The best family-run hotel I have encountered in 45 years of travel throughout Europe, Asia and the United States. Preedha, Julie and their sons set a standard of hospitality which the entire staff seems to enthusiastically support. The multi-national chains should send teams to Bangkok to study how these people run a hotel.

Physical plant: Simply furnished but immaculately clean rooms (maid service every day), modern bath/shower with ample hot water, very effective (and quiet) A/C, cable-TV with a number of international channels, DD phone, new mattresses (firm, but that’s what I like), free Wifi throughout the hotel, refrigerator in room, free bottled water every day. My room was ample (11’ x 18’). Modern elevator.

Services: Very nice hotel restaurant, small but elegantly laid out. Primarily Thai dishes but some Euro-American options if you want a taste of home. English-language newspaper available every morning. Very economical (compared to what I pay in European hotels) laundry service. They provided free airport transfer going and coming.

Location: Excellent for me, as I was there to do a series of guest lectures at Ramkhamhaeng University. It’s in a suburb and thus quite a distance from the major tourist attractions of the central city. This entire area has wall-to-wall shops, so there is no problem in buying anything you want. 2-4 minute walk from shopping centers. Incidentally, these cater to local folks, so prices are substantially below what you would pay in the tourist areas. Three minute walk from mega-mall with upscale shops and stores. Banks and post office within two minutes. On a side street off of Ramkhamhaeng Road, so you aren’t bothered by street noise.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Papa_Sid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAngkok
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2009

We stayed for 1 night due to the location being close to the airport. We found the service extremely pleasant. the Owner was very nice and accommodating. Very clean, rooms were small but very comfortable and beds were awsome. i would come again and reccommend this to all. Thankyou JL Bangkok. VERY HAPPY!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilko_john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2009

I can't recommend this hotel: the rooms and the surrounding are little charming, the location is far from the center and the rooms that I was shown had bad smell and noisy A/C

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank GuyLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
0.3 mi away
The Dynasty Hotel
The Dynasty Hotel
#540 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seasons Bangkok Huamark
The Seasons Bangkok Huamark
#708 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Patra Suvarnabhumi
The Patra Suvarnabhumi
#698 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Sunshine Apartment
#696 of 1,128 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent Ramkhamhaeng
Regent Ramkhamhaeng
#643 of 1,128 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Muslim Home 2
#177 of 604 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JL Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JL Bangkok

Property: JL Bangkok
Address: Soi Ramkhamhaeng 23, Huamark | Bangkapi, Bangkok 10240, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 604 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — JL Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 50 rooms of contemporary design and hi-technology provide a sophisticated experience for both leisure and business travellers. Guests can stay connected to the world with our wireless Internet access in all rooms. And at the end of a great day enjoy a night of blissful sleep on our exclusive bed. We're just 15 minutes away from the International airport and is located near one of the best night markets in Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your JL Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jl Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing