We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of JL Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JL Bangkok
Ranked #146 of 643 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 4 September 2010

The hotel was excellent in terms of their staff and rooms. My room was cleaned everyday so well you could eat off the floor. The hotel food was very good in the evening but I think the breakfast could be improved. The service is excellent. All staff were very friendly and most willing to assist you from getting you ice to booking tours.

I found the hotel to be convenient for my purposes as I was teaching at Ramgkamhaeng University. Cabs and buses are each to catch. There were two malls both about two blocks going either right or left. Bangkopi Mall was only a 10 min taxi ride.

For the money, this is a great place to stay. Each room has a flat screen TV and a mini-bar.

Although not downtown, I frankly liked the idea of not being in a tourist area of town. Everything was quite close by taxi or bus.

I will be returning to Bangkok in December and I"m staying at the JL.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhambetros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    37
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
15
29
31
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Based on the website and the reviews here we booked this hotel for 3 days. Unfortunately the website sets unrealistic expectations - the rooms are clean but basic. Don't expect them to match the photos from the website..! There is tatty furniture but the beds are decent with good duvets.

The staff are helpful, but breakfast is disappointing. Cold buffet omlet, fried egg, noodles or toast. Not up to the standard of most SE Asia hotels in this price range.

I would go somewhere else - value for money this hotel isn't great. Maybe at $15 a night it would be more attractive.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KJC1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2010

In every aspect, especially the service, the hotel is awesome. People who work here care a lot about how you are and they give you many advices about the places you should go and how to get there. The food is variated in the restaurant. Tidy, clean and close to some good shops. I would definitely come back again....

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piolincanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JL-Bangkok, Owner at JL Bangkok, responded to this review, 18 July 2010
Thank you for your kind words. We are happy to hear that you enjoy your stay at JL Bangkok. We have recently rennovated our restaurant and added more choices to our breakfast line. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2010

... with exceptionally nice people, and very close to two universities

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piolo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blue9bkk, Richard U, Guest relations at JL Bangkok, responded to this review, 4 April 2010
Thank you very much for your kind words. I hope you would come back to us again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

. . . but I suspect most travelers want a little more comfort and/or convenience. The room itself was OK for the price, clean and decently furnished. However, the location is far from the main tourist attractions, although fairly close to the airport, and in the midst of a bustling shopping area that caters primarily to Thai people. The hotel is located down a dark alley, which may or may not be safe to walk down at night. The biggest problems I had were the noise at night generated by barking dogs in an adjacent temple and the hallway smoke alarm which went off in the middle of the night more than once (perhaps set off by a smoking guest?). My breakfast, which was acceptable, was from a set menu, not buffet.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blue9bkk, Richard U, Guest relations at JL Bangkok, responded to this review, 4 April 2010
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. Please let me assure that JL Bangkok is located in a safe area, close to a vibrant night market and a police station. The area has a very low crime rate.

Occasssionaly, we offer a la carte breakfast to our guests. The meals are freshly prepared and cooked the way you like it.

All your comments have been shared with our senior management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2010

I was traveling with my mother and sister on this trip and we stayed in Bangkok before moving on to Cambodia. We decided to stay at this hotel reading the reviews online and also I was excited about taking the boat rides into the city center. But we found the hotel to be too far and also being vegetarians it was difficult to find nice restaurants around the hotel. We did use the boat services to get into the city centre on two occasions. It was fun but one of the days it started raining heavily and we were completely drenched. We eventually decided to shift hotels. Our experience overall besides the hotel being far from all the activity was pleasant. The rooms were nice and clean. The staff was also helpful.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jyotika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blue9bkk, Richard U, Guest relations at JL Bangkok, responded to this review, 4 April 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoy one of the boat trips to Bangkok's central district and that your overall experience was pleasant.

I have passed your comments about the hotel's cleanliness to our staff to keep up the good work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2010

This was my first trip to Bangkok, so I really didn't know what to expect. I stayed for one month and was surprised at the level of service I received at such a reasonable price! The staff did everything they could to make me feel comfortable and at home. They helped me find my way around town, made reservations and made many recommendations on how to spend my free time. The breakfast was included and very good. I often ate dinner in the hotel (usually around 240 THB) and it was always wonderful. I am looking forward to coming back next year.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocJon56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
0.3 mi away
The Dynasty Hotel
The Dynasty Hotel
#512 of 858 in Bangkok
95 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Patra Suvarnabhumi
The Patra Suvarnabhumi
#631 of 858 in Bangkok
66 reviews
1.9 mi away
Livotel Bangkok
Livotel Bangkok
#447 of 858 in Bangkok
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Sunshine Apartment
#737 of 1,194 in Bangkok
2 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Aleaf Bangkok Hotel
#304 of 643 in Bangkok
4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent Ramkhamhaeng
Regent Ramkhamhaeng
#472 of 1,194 in Bangkok
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JL Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JL Bangkok

Property: JL Bangkok
Address: Soi Ramkhamhaeng 23, Huamark | Bangkapi, Bangkok 10240, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 643 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — JL Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 50 rooms of contemporary design and hi-technology provide a sophisticated experience for both leisure and business travellers. Guests can stay connected to the world with our wireless Internet access in all rooms. And at the end of a great day enjoy a night of blissful sleep on our exclusive bed. We're just 15 minutes away from the International airport and is located near one of the best night markets in Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your JL Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jl Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing