We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY VERY GOOD”
Review of La Scala

La Scala
Ranked #574 of 11,477 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$61 - US$215
Cuisines: Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Sathorn
Description: A class all its own - La Scala Restaurant in Bangkok is a triumph of innovative interior design paired with classical Italian cuisine, perfectly concocted. Just as the design and decor unite the contemporary with a Thai cultural context, so the cuisine presents pure traditional recipes with unparalleled creative flair. In keeping with the attention to detail that makes La Scala so special, great care has been taken to ensure that the wines present the best choices to match menu selections. Subtle, unobtrusive and yet finely attuned to the rhythms of the day, music at La Scala is perfectly pitched to accompany fine dining.
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very good atmosphere, very good ambiance, amazing food !!!!
Italian chief very friendly. Nice open kitchen
I recommend you to go to this place to have a excellent lunch or diner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Amélie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at La Scala, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Amélie B,

Thank you for your review and recommending us on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to hear that you had an amazing dining experience with us and we hope that we are able to get a chance to welcome you back to La Scala at The Sukhothai Bangkok again.

Best Regards,

Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 80 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

A great place for a nice dinner. Food was excellent and service staff were attentive.

The open kitchen gave me a good view of the cooks going Hammer and Tongs at preparing our meal.

A most pleasant experience.

Thank RYWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at La Scala, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear RYWong,

Thank you very much for your great review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to learn that you had an impressive dinner at La Scala recently. You also enjoyed the open kitchen which allows guests to see how our Chef team prepares your favourites dishes as well as the attentive service of our well trained staff.

We wish to welcome you back to La Scala again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Overall a disappointing experience. Food was basic not tasty like what fine dining should be. We found the food quite heavy as well. This used to be a very nice italian fine dining restaurant but for some reason the quality is not there anymore.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marcnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We were hotel guests at Sukothai when we went for dinner with our 13 yo son, all of us decently dressed and well-behaved. But the staff of this Scala told us that kids are not allowed indoors.
This is totally unheard of! Of course, upmarket fine dining places in super-ritzy places in Paris or London do have such rules, we understand. But nobody has rules to allow kids only outdoors. Shame on this disgraceful terrible place! We ll never return to Scala or Sukothai.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
2  Thank PPPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is the TOP restaurant of The Sukothai and also one of the best i Bangkok!
The food is European/Italy inspired and the wine list is amazing! Staff is extraordinary!
I can really recommend this !!

1  Thank Patrik T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at La Scala, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Patrik T,

Thank you very much for your cheerful review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that you have recommended us to be one of the top restaurants in Bangkok. You were pleased by an amazing taste of the food as well as the wine list, the unique service from our professional staff.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to La Scala again soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Scala also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to La Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing