We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok, Italian food in Bangok... but so good!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Scala

La Scala
Ranked #551 of 10,626 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Sathorn
Paris, France
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Ok, Italian food in Bangok... but so good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

One can argue that when you visit Thailand you should have Thai food. I agree and had my share of great thai food, in many restaurant and in the streets of Bangkok.
But you can also indulge in any other cuisine, as long as it is worth it... And yes, this is great italian (a bit expensive) food: amazing pizza crust, tasty ingredients, cooked to order, fresh and hot.
Pasta and salads are also very interesting and quite authentic. Just once, eat Italian in Bangkok!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexparis183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at La Scala, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Alexparis183,

Thank you for making such a wonderful review. We are proud to be serving Bangkok one of the most authentic Italian cuisine one can find in Asia!

We appreciate your review and kind words that you have given us here on our TripAdvisor page and we hope to see you again here at La Scala.

Best Regards,

Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    46
    14
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
268 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Fabulous food dreadful noise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had to move tables so we could hear each other. The exhaust fan in the kitchen - which is in the middle of the restaurant sounded like a jet engine. The heard surfaces makes it a very noisy place. That said the food was excellent a great menu with lots of choices. The service was excellent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 69Armstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at La Scala, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear 69Armstrong,

Thank you for writing us a review for our TripAdvisor page. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed our food and services at La Scala and that our staff was able to accommodate you with another table to suit your comfort. We hope to welcome you back here again at La Scala.

Best Regards,

Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“VERY VERY GOOD”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very good atmosphere, very good ambiance, amazing food !!!!
Italian chief very friendly. Nice open kitchen
I recommend you to go to this place to have a excellent lunch or diner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amélie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at La Scala, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Amélie B,

Thank you for your review and recommending us on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to hear that you had an amazing dining experience with us and we hope that we are able to get a chance to welcome you back to La Scala at The Sukhothai Bangkok again.

Best Regards,

Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Excellent ambience. Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

A great place for a nice dinner. Food was excellent and service staff were attentive.

The open kitchen gave me a good view of the cooks going Hammer and Tongs at preparing our meal.

A most pleasant experience.

Helpful?
Thank RYWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at La Scala, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear RYWong,

Thank you very much for your great review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to learn that you had an impressive dinner at La Scala recently. You also enjoyed the open kitchen which allows guests to see how our Chef team prepares your favourites dishes as well as the attentive service of our well trained staff.

We wish to welcome you back to La Scala again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
224 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Not quite what it should be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Overall a disappointing experience. Food was basic not tasty like what fine dining should be. We found the food quite heavy as well. This used to be a very nice italian fine dining restaurant but for some reason the quality is not there anymore.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marcnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Scala also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to La Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing