We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great budget hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rikka Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rikka Inn
Ranked #341 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel!”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

For US$30 per night you cant expect much more! GREAT LOCATION right on koh sang road, decent sized rooms with comfy beds, aircon, free WIFI all over the hotel, great rooftop pool. Had a room facing away from koh sang road so room wasn't noisy at all. Hotel doesn't offer breakfast or laundry service but plenty of places nearby do. Hotel does charge 3% surcharge for credit cards which was a little annoying. But besides that all great!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannonluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    513
    387
    103
    83
See reviews for
66
556
130
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

pros: decent rooftop pool, free wifi, rooms are pretty clean
cons: staff are not helpful or service-oriented. standard rooms are tiny. khao san road is very loud (obviously) and this hotel's windows don't do much to keep the noise out. if you want to get to sleep before 6 am, stay elsewhere. also, despite all the posters around the lobby and the rules listed in the room, prostitutes-- and lots of them-- are allowed in this hotel. i arrived at 5:45 am after an overnight bus ride and saw multiple prostitutes being taken to rooms. i mean, if that's your thing, then sure, but it's a pretty gross scene overall.
finally, i had reserved a room for one night in march and then three consecutive nights in april because i was going to myanmar for a couple weeks but coming back to bangkok and staying at rikka inn again. the morning i left for myanmar, i accidentally left a bathing suit and a sarong in the room. i emailed them as soon as i could (a couple hours after i checked out) and asked them to please put the items aside for me because i would be back in april. they responded and said, 'sorry, our maid threw the items away.' i know it's my bad for leaving items in the room by accident, but a more thoughtful hotel staff would have put them aside- at least for a day- or checked to see whether that customer would be coming back to the hotel (i had also stored a small backpack in their luggage room the morning i checked out, so they should have known i was returning).
if you really want to stay on khao san road, i suppose you could do worse, but do yourself a favor and stay a couple blocks away in any of the numerous hotels that i'm sure will give you a better experience.

Room Tip: ask for one at the back of the hotel, it might be a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butforthesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The location is excellent. The rooms are very small but vey small! The room service is awful. I didn't have for 2 days and when I asked for a towel the receptionist told me it is not her business! No lounge room, no breakfast. We decided to move but they didn't want give us the money back. They don' t give any of info either.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alebobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Guys if you are looking for good accommodation at Khao san then Rikka inn is definitely one of them.It is in the middle of the Khao san so you are gonna love to be there.The location is the best,shops,money exchange shops,and specially places like burger king,mc donalds etc are very near.While walking towards the hotel u'll pass by travel agent,a place to eat as well as Seven eleven.So ill suggest its a good place.
As far as the room is concerned it was neat and clean,not noisy at all.The only problem i found was that the room was pretty small than as it looked in the picture.The toilet was extremely small too.So if u can manage this small problem i'am sure u'll love the hotel.The pool is additional benefit :)

Enjoy \m/

Room Tip: Ask the receptionist to show u your room before paying for it.I guess some rooms are big and some ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HK_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dak Lak
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Do not pass up the in-room Thai massage. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet in the morning was incredible. The accommodations were as beautiful as functional. I would stay here again and again. Loved it. Loved it. Loved it. The hotel was a short walk to the Bangkok Transit system... which would take you within walking distance of several sights, such as The Grand Palace, The Temple of the Dawn, and Jim Thompson's house. Also, taxis to other sites weren't expensive. Don't pass this place up.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kang P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Positive: quite clean rooms and free internet at reception. That is all.
Negative: very rude hotel employees, do not make any effort to be understood, to help, and to smile. Not honest, accused us having stolen a little towel (dirty and spoiled by the way) that in fact was taken by the cleaning team, and wanted to make us pay for that.
No breakfast, a lot of noise because of location in th kao san, swiming pool on the roof but closes too early (6pm, still sunny and hot at this time), really basic decoration, supposed free wifi access in all the hotel but we never succeed in connecting.

You should definitely not go, you can find better for this price!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeleneB3175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The Rikka was convenient for us simply because we could book ahead online before we got into Bangkok. We rarely book our hotels in advance, but we were arriving late in the evening from our home country so it was nice to have a place secured. Compared to many other places in the Khaosan area, the rooms were very small but the small face lifts in the decor (i.e. wall murals, newer paint) made it a bit better. The rooftop pool was clean and offered some salvation from the Bangkok heat.
That being said, we found the front desk staff was very unfriendly and would speak to us in a condescending manner if we asked them any questions. If you are looking for the quintessential Thai friendliness and hospitality, you might not find it here. We understand they probably deal with the worst of the worst when it comes to young, loud, obnoxious tourists on Khaosan Road, but their hostility towards us was completely unwarranted and unexpected.
The Rikka would be a good deal if it were around 500-600 THB a night, but since its upwards of 900 I think its overvalued.
Also, if you want to upgrade to a premium room then don't expect to get sleep because these rooms face Khaosan Road and are loud throughout the entire night.
For friendly service and beautiful clean rooms, check out Ben's House on Rambuttri Road (which runs parallel to Khaosan and is more akin to playing live acoustic sets of music all night as opposed to the same 10 dance songs that cannot be escaped on Khaosan).

Room Tip: Don't upgrade to premium if you eventually want to escape the noise of Khaosan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madeleine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
D&D INN
D&D INN
#528 of 852 in Bangkok
1,529 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#188 of 852 in Bangkok
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#357 of 852 in Bangkok
995 reviews
Banglamphu
Adamaz House
Adamaz House
#200 of 852 in Bangkok
190 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha
Villa Cha-Cha
#352 of 852 in Bangkok
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rikka Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rikka Inn

Property: Rikka Inn
Address: 259 Khaosan Road | Phra Nakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#43 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rikka Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rikka Inn : New Budget Hotel with a Touch of Style On Khaosan Road. Superbly located right on Khaosan Road. Very convenient- shopping, dining, clubing. Breathtaking outdoor roof-top pool. Room equipped with private bathroom with hot shower, air-conditioner and satellite TV. Simple,sleek and stylish decoration with relaxation atmosphere. Clean rooms and great value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rikka Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rikka Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing