We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool, good rooms.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rikka Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rikka Inn
Ranked #341 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great pool, good rooms.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2009

The review below which mentions no left luggage facility is incorrect - there's a big sign in reception stating it is 20 baht per bag. We used this service and were also allowed to use the pool all day until our evening flight. The staff were lovely to our two small children and the security guard even gave them a gift when we were leaving. This hotel is excellent value, relatively quiet, and with very comfortable beds and good en-suites, and if we stayed in the KSR area again (which we probably won't - too many teenagers drinking and puking all night long for us these days) we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winterdune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    510
    385
    102
    81
See reviews for
66
553
129
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2009

We stayed at Rikka Inn at the end of our Southeast Asia trip as we have to fly back home from Bangkok. We glad that we stayed here. Of course, it really hard to find the peaceful place to saty on Khaosan Road, BUT Rikka Inn surprised us with the calm and quiet room (or perhaps we chose the right one at the back of the building). The room is spotless. Staffs are friendly and very helpful. Swimming pool on the roof is very attractive. Most of all, the location, the hotel is just right on the Khaosan Road. That's made it very easy to shopping before getting home!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iamjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

The hotel is very well situated, but, the attitude of the staff was beyond belief. Neither myself or my friends could understand how aggressive and rude the staff behind the reception counter were. As we checked out they accused us of stealing a towel and refused to return our deposit. The problem was that they had not picked up a phone or checked the room or in anyway checked. Plus, if they did check the room they would have realised that ALL towels were in the bathroom, the room has been given a basic tidy up and there was nothing amiss. The staff, however, REFUSED to check the room and insisted that we had stolen the towel - since when is this normal? Eventually they relented and returned the deposit, but, the accusation of theft was very distasteful. In addition to this, the receptionists were generally short and would ignore you when you approached the counter. Finally, having sorted out the issues with the towels and deposits, we asked whether we could leave our bags in reception until closer to our flight that evening. The receptionists then told us that they have no facility to accommodate this type of request. We found this very hard to believe given the sheer volume of travelers passing through Khao San.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DHSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bangkok
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2009

Have stayed many times. I and my gf are the big fan of this hotel. Very clean room. Nice outdoor pool. Friendly staff and best value. Very convenient- middle of everything. New and modern. Highly recommended for travelers who look for a decent place to stay to explore bangkok.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klinssy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

Having heard mixed reviews about hotels on Koh San, and after looking at a few in the same price range or more expensive but not even a 3rd of the quality, i was very please to find the Rikka Inn. Based right in the middle of Koh San with a 7/11, pharmacy and internet cafe literally at the hotel entrance. The first time i stayed here there were 4 of us so we got 2 double at 600 bht per room (promo rate as it had just opened now 800 for twin or double room). The reception staff were helpfull letting us see the rooms befor checking in, and as we had to wait an hour until check in time they let us leave our bags (at our own risk) behind reception. The rooms,linen and bathroom were all very clean, they were small though bigger than other rooms we'd seen in bangkok, and certainly had sufficent space since we were only using it to sleep, they were also modern and decorated in a minimal style. The beds were comfortable, there was a cable TV with a few english channels (we weren't there to watch TV) and there was also a desk. The showers had hot water, clean towels were provided and there was a large mirror in the bathroom. The air con was also great and you could open the windows as they were covered with netting so nothing got in (not that you'd want them open in bangkok but its nice to have the option). The roof top pool was small but clean and deep enough to swim in and great for relaxing in the hot afternoons. We all stayed at this hotel again when we returned to Bangkok a couple of weeks later and i stayed again a month later with another friend, each stay was as enjoyable as the 1st and as far as backpacker hotels go its an excellent find with all the basics you'd need, clean comfortable and good value very good location if you want to be on koh san.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael_Newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

Nice, clean, basic (though tiny) rooms bang in the middle of Khao San road! Don't expect anything more! There is no room service, laundry, soap, hair dryer, cupboards. Just a tiny clean room. And a nice pool. But convenient enough since all amenities are available just down the road.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aakanksha_Sharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2009

Rikka Inn is pretty much smack bang in the middl of Khao San Road. It's clean, the rooms are fine, maybe a little small but compared to the others we stayed in in Bangkok was the biggest.

The roof top pool is it's main attraction and is lovely. A real refresher especially on those steaming hot Bangkok afternoons! You could easily spend a whole afternoon just relaxing up here to get away from the madness of Khao San Road!

TV channels were pretty basic. Think we only had BBC World News in English, but I guess this is fine if you don't want to spend too much time in the room!

There is also a lift! A rarity in the cheaper hotels which was great!
Would definitely recommend for your first couple of nights in Bangkok.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank havemonkeywilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#189 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Banglamphu
D&D INN
D&D INN
#507 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#368 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Banglamphu
Adamaz House
Adamaz House
#227 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha
Villa Cha-Cha
#355 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rikka Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rikka Inn

Property: Rikka Inn
Address: 259 Khaosan Road | Phra Nakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#48 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rikka Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rikka Inn : New Budget Hotel with a Touch of Style On Khaosan Road. Superbly located right on Khaosan Road. Very convenient- shopping, dining, clubing. Breathtaking outdoor roof-top pool. Room equipped with private bathroom with hot shower, air-conditioner and satellite TV. Simple,sleek and stylish decoration with relaxation atmosphere. Clean rooms and great value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Rikka Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rikka Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing