We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and location, will definitely come back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Navalai River Resort
Ranked #35 of 1,187 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location, will definitely come back”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Location on google maps is way off, search for Aquatini riverside bar instead!
(I've read this thanks to other reviewers so management: when are you going to fix it!?)

Stayed two night 3 friends for sightseeing around Bangkok.
Rooms are nice and spacious comfy beds and very nice balcony (although we weren't bothered to pay extra for a river view one). Roof top pool is a great plus, nice river view.
Breakfast was well worth the 250baht per person. Staff is friendly and helpful.
Location is superb right at the number 13 phra arthit ferry pier were you can easily access all bangkok a major tourist destinations like Wat arun, grand palace, asiatique etc.

Room Tip: If you are in a budget do choose a city view room but bring earplugs for the heavy traffic and noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    840
    211
    39
    22
See reviews for
272
886
77
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a deluxe double room with river view and we loved it. It was our last night after 3 weeks travelling around Thailand, Cambodia and Vietnam and sitting on the balcony watching the sun go down made it really special. Very big room with a proper double bed (not twins pushed together).
Big rooftop pool with plenty of sun loungers and again an amazing view.
Excellent location. Right on the river ferry stop (one of my favourite things to do in Bangkok) which will take you to the grand palace, Wat Pho etc and 10 minute walk to Khao San road area.
Did not have breakfast so can't comment on that. Staff provided excellent directions.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pow84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Lovely hotel and roof top pool/bar is perfect for a relaxing day. Scenic views of the river and boats from the restaurant/bar. Loads of choices for breakfast. Kaoh San Road 5 minute walk away but loads of bars, eating places and shopping on the way there. Would definitely recommend staying here

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charmaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
111 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This hotel was booked by our tour operator for us for the first two nights of our stay in Thailand. The room, whilst fairly large, well decorated, clean and with all the usual facilities, had one of the hardest beds, EVER (although after staying in 5 other different hotel/lodge rooms, Thais must like a hard matress - it was like sleeping on a wooden plank!). The hotel is well situated for Kao San Road (a must visit) and also the River Ferry Terminal it's only drawback was the noise from the surrounding bars - which didn't stop until first light! The rooftop pool was great with a nice bar and breakfast on the terrace was varied and hot.

Good - great location, nice pool area, clean and serviceable rooms, free wifi and computer terminals available for guest use
Bad - noise from the nearby bars (ask for a room at the rear, overlooking the river)

Don't think that, as you had worn the slippers in the room, that they are complimentary. Oh no! I made that mistake and either had to pay for them or ferret around in my bag (which had already been loaded into a minivan for the next part of our trip). Slippers are obviously recycled - yuk!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back to avoid the karaoke from the nearby bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clhtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Combe Martin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed here in February for two nights. First impressions when you pull up to the hotel is where the hell are we, as it has no on street entrance just a small alley way to the hotel reception. After that any worries we had disappeared as the reception area is small but very well decorated, then we were taken to our rooms which were very spacious and clean. We did not get a view but this did not matter as we dumped our bags and headed for the rooftop pool and bar area. The pool is very nice overlooking the river, although sunbeds are at a premium. The bar is well stocked and the cocktails are a bargain ( buy 1 get 1 free), also try the Chang beer towers. The only issue was the pool was very merkey on the second day.
Breakfast is very good with loads of options and the restaurant is in a fantastic location overlooking the river.
Location is very good, close to the tourist areas, temples and other attractions and one of the ferry stop offs is right outside the back of the hotel.
We would return here on our next vist.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bolton737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and thought it was overpriced and did not match the description (did not feel like a resort hotel at all, rather like a budget hotel near the backpackers area). The hotel was clean and comfortable but lacked the character and atmosphere. Noisy at night due to nearby bar playing live music (very bad live music:). Poor views on the shabby ugly building across the street. Did not use the restaurant on site as it was expensive. The location is only good if you want to be in the very close proximity to Khao San Road (5 minute walk). You could also walk to Grand Palace (30 minute walk) or take a boat from the pier.

Overall, not a terribly bad choice for Bangkok, but I am sure you can do better for the price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poumnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
186 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed two nights on the recommendation of Tripadvisor. We wanted location next to the river station. As it turns out..there is multiple excellent hotels within a few minutes walk of this hotel. All will use the same public access to the ferry terminal. The price difference is quite substantial. This hotel has old rooms that are not special in any way. The view from the room was quite bad. looking at a dilapidated old house next door. There is a nice view from the rooftop pool. The hotel restaurant is too expensive. The buffet breakfast was very nice, but it is open to the public and at the same price as the hotel guests.
My advice is to use the map location option on your booking program to pick one of the nearby hotels and save the money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#21 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#138 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#71 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#173 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Banglamphu
New Siam Riverside Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Navalai River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navalai River Resort

Property: Navalai River Resort
Address: 45 / 1 - 2 Phra Athit Rd | Phra Nakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 1,187 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Navalai River Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Navalai offers a hip design, unlike any other city hotel. You can find this extraordinary experience of Oriental Chic Boutique and be inspired by historical and social context of hotel location. 74 unique and stylish rooms are decorated in four different themes: Artist; Thai-lifestyle; Colonial-influenced; and Rattanakosin heritage. This uniquely designed hotel is the ideal place for honeymooners and travelers who look for a unique life style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Navalai River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Navalai River Hotel Bangkok
Navalai River Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing