We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Sivalai Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sivalai Place
Ranked #183 of 1,303 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I stayed at Sivalai Place for the month of January 2013. The apartment was very clean, with big rooms (with AC) and a well equipped kitchen (fridge, stove, microwave, dishes and more). The apartment building itself offers a very convenient laundry room, a swimming pool, restaurant and even some tennis court. When it comes to the location of the building, it is located in Bangkok Yai. From Sivalai, you can easily access the city center. It is also important to mention that the building is located in neighborhood with very few foreigners. This offers a very authentic experience! Another feature that I really appreciated was the rooftop terrace. From there, you have a very nice view of Bangkok's skyline.

When it comes to the personnel working at Sivalai, I must say that they were always very nice and helpful. Especially when you need a cab or advices! Although getting out of Sivalai is easy, coming back can be quite difficult if you do not know the way. My best advice would be to learn to say “Itsaraphab soi sam sib sam” (the address in Thai). Learning how to use the local transportation methods is also a good idea.

Overall, my experience was very satisfying and I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sivalaip, Front Office Manager at Sivalai Place, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Dear Value Guest,

I am really sorry for the late reply. I would like to thank you for your recent visit to Sivalai Place and your positive comments. We hope that your stay was pleasant.

We look forward to seeing you again hopefully, in the near future. Please let us know if there is anything you need on your next visit to make your visit to our hotel as memorable as possible.


With best regards,


Front Office Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2013

With regard to the apartment and living condition I can give 5 stars as its very spacious and very clean. Cleaning equipment is not provided and they expect us to buy them which is bit of a hassle as there are no shops closeby and it's not practical to buy cleaning equipment for a very short stay.The prices are amazingly affordable specially with the extras you get, such as the gym, swimming pool etc.
The restaurant has very tasty food and I loved the staff at the coffee shop. Though they never had any food items there are cheap snacks, ice creams, drinks etc. It's very convenient. If the coffee shop is close, the little shop opposite the apartment has basic snacks, yoghurt etc. Its run by a lovely family, the owner can't speak english at all but the little daughter does.
The security and other staff are very friendly but I didn't like the owner lady. Very rude and authoritative which should not be the case since we are paying her for the stay. Also, whenever we asked directions to go somewhere they offered to call a cab, but these cabs either quote high charges or take us down a long/far route to charge extra which was annoying! The airport drop charges were very reasonable though.
It's extremely difficult to catch a taxi from the apartment so you have to walk to the main road which is about 1km. The roads are very safe and silent, we enjoyed our walks but it could be really tiring specially after a long day of shopping.
The location is excellent if you want to go see the temples/ thonburi side of bkk but if you want to go to the city everyday or go shopping this place is not practical. Taxis can be expensive to the city and the bus (40 route) is cheap but will take atleast 1 hr! Make sure you catch the AC 40 bus to the city as that's faster and more comfortable. It was SO unbelievably hard to get a taxi to drop us to sivalai from the city as most of the drivers either didn't know the place/ area or didn't want to go. Make sure you print a map in thai and also write the address in thai language. When you speak say the name 'isaraphab, saam sip saam' (which means isaraphab 33) and say its near sriraj hospital- most ppl would understand the location by that.
If you walk 1km either way to the main roads, there's KFC, 7/11 (which has tasty microwavable ready cooked meals), Tesco, a fresh market, etc. There's a tops supermarket a few Km's away, has almost everything you need, too far to walk though, a taxi would be cheap.
Although the location let us experience the real authentic thai culture and their daily lifestyles, it would have saved both money and time if we stayed in the city.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sivalaip, Front Office Manager at Sivalai Place, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Dear Value Guest,

I am really sorry for the late reply. I would like to thank you for your recent visit to Sivalai Place and your positive comments. We hope that your stay was pleasant. I am really happy that you giving us as 5 Stars as its very spacious and very clean. Your comment has been shared among our team to ensure we will continue delivering good service to all guest.

We look forward to seeing you again hopefully, in the near future. Please let us know if there is anything you need on your next visit to make your visit to our hotel as memorable as possible.


With best regards,


Front Office Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

The room is fantastic and especially considering the price, so I can't complain about that. The two times we have asked for help have been okay, but English is not their strong suit, as Thai is not mine...trying to get here is soooo hard....getting a taxi from here the boys ride a bike to the main road and then bring it back so the meter is already running. It is no big deal but just know that.

We have been catching buses here and there for two reasons - to get among the people (and they are so helpful) and because when we try to get a taxi back here no one wants the fare...like really...last night from Khao San Rd took two hours by bus cos not one driver would drive here.

The location is great in terms of being really among the locals and i love that...to get around beware....

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Leo2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sivalaip, Front Office Manager at Sivalai Place, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Dear Value Guest,

I am really sorry for the late reply. Thank you for your positive comments and we really appreciated to read that we have made up to your expectation. Your comment has been shared among our team to ensure we will continue delivering good service to all guest.

I am looking forward to welcoming and servicing you. Please let us know if there's any ways that we might make improvements in the accommodations and services for our guests.


Best Regards,


Front Office Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

We recently stayed for 2 nights - Dec 12 as part of our 6 week Asia tour and it was great. We had been up for 24 hours when we arrived and it was late. Welcome was very friendly and efficient. Room was great more than we had expected. Family run hotel and everybody was very friendly, helpful and could not do enough to help us. Olly in particular. Great value for money. Room was an apartment which was spacious, well equipped and clean. It's not downtown Bangkok which we were pleased with but close enough to all the things you need to be. Facilities were excellent as was the very well priced food. Def recommend and stay again for affordable accommodation. Taxi fare to nearer BST station was 70 Bh.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Red6866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sivalaip, Front Office Manager at Sivalai Place, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Dear Value Guest,

I would like to thank you for your recent visit to Sivalai Place. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.
I hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Sivalai Place.

We look forward to seeing you again hopefully, in the near future. Please let us know if there is anything you need on your next visit to make your visit to our hotel as memorable as possible.


With best Regards,


Front Office Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Great hotel I with my friends stayed here for three nights. The rooms were very spacious and very clean. The swimming pool is refreshing after busy day in the city. The staff are very helpful. The food at Little is delicious. I ordered Padthai and it is far better than other places. Big portion at more than reasonable price. There is a security guard 24 hour and will go get the taxi. BTS is about 15 min and about 70 baht only. Temple of dawn and other cultural place is very close by. I recommend this unique place. I will come and stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayumi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sivalaip, Front Office Manager at Sivalai Place, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Dear Value Guest,

I am really sorry for the late reply. Thank you for your positive comments and we really appreciated to read that we have made up to your expectation.

Please let us know if there's any ways that we might make improvements in the accommodations and services for our guests.


Best Regards,


Front Office Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We were looking for a place to stay with our family, didn't want to be in the heart of Bangkok city, but wanted to be convenient for Grand Palace, Southern Bus Terminal, Thonburi station & Hualamphong (arriving by train and then onward travel by bus)
This is a family run hotel/apartment complex, its a bit off the beaten track as it is hidden in a maze of sidestreets off Isaraphab Rd, but as long as you have the directions in Thai for the taxi driver, it is easy to get to, and like a little oasis way from the bussle of Bangkok.
PROS - very helpful communication by email when booking, lovely well equipped apartment at a good price, great swimming pool, very nice food in restaurant, lovely rooftop area offering great views over Bangkok, very helpful staff (Thanks Ollie....), convenient location for all places mentionned above. Also a very 'real', non-touristy area with shops and amenities nearby.
CONS - none really other than that some of the staff struggle with english a little, but the owner and her daughter both speak perfect english, so there is no problem with getting help and information

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANDYCHEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sivalaip, Front Office Manager at Sivalai Place, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Value Guest,

I am really sorry for the late reply. Thank you for your positive comments and we really appreciated to read that we have made up to your expectation. Your comment has been shared among our team to ensure we will continue delivering good service to all guest.

We are looking forward for your future return. In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us anytime if we can be further assistance.

Sincerely yours,

Front Office Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I have stayed 3 weeks at the Sivalai Place Apartments and in one word I can describe it: HOME.
From the first day I walked into the building, I have felt like I was at home with my family. Everybody here goes out of their way to make you comfortable. From the outstanding restaurant to the main office, I can't think of anything they could do better.
The location is a little off the busy path, but that's what makes it even better. It feels like you are walking through your neighborhood when you decide to go for a walk. If you want to travel to the main tourist spots, it's just a 15 minute (50 BHT) taxi ride to the BTS station. Then you can go wherever you want. With a map and a business card from the hotel, the taxi driver's seldom have a problem getting you back. The rooms are big and clean and the pool is fantastic after a hard days shopping/sightseeing. Sit in a chair on the roof area and look out over Bangkok at night. Just the kind of atmosphere to relax and unwind.
If you want a great place for the money, choose Sivalai Place Apartments. You won't regret it. 5 Star all the way for a 3 star price.

Room Tip: Nothing I can think of, just tell the staff what you would like and they will be happy to assist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sivalaip, Front Office Manager at Sivalai Place, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Value Guest,

I am really sorry for the late reply. Thank you for sharing the experienced of your stay with us for 3 weeks and for choosing Sivalai Place for your holiday.

We are happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay and apparently you have made the right decision and the right choice to stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to our Sivalai again in the near future. In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us anytime if we can be further assistance.

Sincerely yours,

Front Office Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Hotel Royal Bangkok at Chinatown
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#141 of 885 in Bangkok
1,599 reviews
Theatre Residence
#477 of 885 in Bangkok
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Din
Bangkok 68
Bangkok 68
#281 of 885 in Bangkok
345 reviews
Baan Wanglang Riverside
#167 of 885 in Bangkok
332 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Chic Hostel
Chic Hostel
#112 of 1,303 in Bangkok
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sivalai Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sivalai Place

Address: 168 Soi Isaraphab 33, Isaraphab Rd | Tha Phra, Bangkok-Yai, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 1,303 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: £23 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sivalai Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sivalai Place is a perfect accommodation for your comfort stay in the old capital part of the city! We provided a modern luxury room & lovely service along with the friendly price. Our fitness room offers a variety of exercise machines and free weights suiting all your cardio and strength training needs. Along with the 25 meter ozone swimming pool offers our guests with a refreshing way to relax after a long day.Resturant Lil Chef provided various selection of Thai taste and interenational menu.Our hotel located in nearby to all the must seen beautiful& charming caultural sites, walkable to Wat Arun temple of Dawn and 15-20 mins to Grand Palace,easy access to the Pier.15 Mins drive to Khao Sarn rd and BTS Wongwienyai. Perfect for both short or long stay in Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sivalai Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sivalai Place Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing