We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anything you could hope for a long-term stay”
Review of Sivalai Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sivalai Place
Ranked #196 of 1,307 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I stayed with Sivalai for several months whilst studying at Thammasat University nearby, and it was great. Nice rooms at decent prices, cleaning service and restaurant available and great facilities. The gym was above expectations, they have a nice 25m swimming pool and three tennis courts.

It is located in western Bangkok fairly far from the Siam and Sukhumvit areas of the city, but moving about in BKK is very cheap. If you're up for a longer stay in the city, I would definately recomend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boc44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sivalaip, Front Office Manager at Sivalai Place, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Value Guest,

We are really sorry for the late reply. Thank you for sharing with us about the experienced of your stay and for choosing Sivalai Place to stay.

We are happy to read that we have met up to the expectation of your stay especially when we made you feel welcome and seems that the entire stay was a successful. Your comment has been shared our team as this has shown that we have come to the right direction. We will ensure that the same level of service will be continued.

We hope to see you again in the near future, in the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us anytime if we can be further assistance.

Sincerely yours,

Front Office Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

The staff is very helpful and friendly, the rooms are big and clean. The swimming pool, gym, and tennis court are very nice. The fact that the house is located on a quite peaceful and quiet Soi is nice since you get away from the noisy traffic on Isaraphab. Overall, I have been very pleased with Sivalai Place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RS1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sivalaip, Front Office Manager at Sivalai Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Value Guest,

I am really sorry for the late reply. Thank you for your positive comments and we really appreciated to read that we have made up to your expectation. Your comment has been shared among our team to ensure we will continue delivering good service to all guest.

We are looking forward for your future return. In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us anytime if we can be further assistance.

Sincerely yours,

Front Office Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I stayed at Sivalai Place for approximately 5 months as part of my study abroad program in Bangkok.

In an absolute sense Sivalai is ok, rooms are decent, the gym is well-equipped and many Europeans are used to stay there.
However, when you start analyzing Sivalai in a relative sense by comparing with other options, you quickly realize that it is a very poor choice for travelers as well as for students. I would like to point out 3 BIG issues that people NEED to be aware of**:

1) Terrible location: Sivalai Place is located around 8 to 10 min from the main road, i.e. Itsaraphap, which is in itself very far from everything including the BTS and MRT (Public Transportation). It very frequently happened that the taxi drivers did not want to take me or my friends because of the bad location. Consequently overpaying for the taxi to be able to come back home is very common.
Forget about easily accessible nice restaurants and great shops, Sivalai Place is far from everything. I would say that the location is pretty terrible for Thammasat students as well given that you still need 30 - 45 min to reach Tha Prachan campus (This is the same length of time as if you were living in Silom area, which is much closer to the center and its attractions).

2) Poor services: They don’t provide you with anything when you move in, e.g. Bed Sheet, Towel, Water, Soap, Toilet Paper, which is quite a shame for a “serviced” apartment. I do not remember any other hotels or serviced apartments that did not provide me with Bed Sheet and Towels. The restaurant, i.e. “Little Chef”, proposes bad quality food besides an excessively slow service. Moreover, I agree with a previous comment that pointed out the guest/registration policy. Sivalai Place is a “serviced” apartment that offers Student Hostel rules and this is simply inconsistent.

3) Significantly overpriced: Considering the points aforesaid, you will still pay 15, 000 – 16,000 THB/Month for a one bedroom apartment (even including a discount for students), which is equal to or greater than the amount of money you can spend for a very nice room in a great location with much better facilities and a nicer living environment. Besides, the cleaning services are not included in the price and cost 300 THB (9 USD) for one hour. Moreover, you have to take into account the electricity fees, which surprisingly tend to reach 2000THB/Month if you use the air conditioning around 8/10 hours a day.

To put in a nutshell, Sivalai Place needs both SIGNIFICANT improvements to justify the price it currently charges and a lower price to justify its terrible location.

I give Sivalai Place a grade of 1/5 only because of the very nice people I met there during my stay.

**This review is based on my experience at Sivalai, the research I made about Hotels, condominium and serviced apartments in Bangkok and the discussions I had with local people.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShantiA0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sivalaip, Guest Relations Manager at Sivalai Place, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with the general staff attention, the room and gym facilities. We would like to thank you for your business and support, especially as you had the option to move out after the first 3 months contract ended but as you chose to stay until your semester was over.

From reading your valued review, we are sad that you were not happy. Constructive criticism helps us identify problems and make adjustments. However, there are some facts we would like to clarify.

First the location: Sivalai Place is located in the Thonburi area. It is an old part of town important to the history of Bangkok. Sivalai Place is close to the cultural and sightseeing areas ie: the Grand Palace, Wat Pho, the Temple of Dawn and many temples along the river.

Situated in a quiet neighborhood, which gives us privacy away from buzzing Bangkok. Some residents say it is about 5 min walk to Isaraphab rd. Wong Wien Yai BTS is about 15-25 min away by taxi. A walk to Temple of Dawn or WaT Arun is 20 min away. We are also close to the Chao Praya River and its piers. Travelers can take the ferry and the boat as another option for transportation. This is the local life many travelers want to see and experience. We also provide bicycles for the residents to use at no cost.

We have hosted many Thammasat students since 2007. Thammasat is not anywhere near the BTS or MRT because it is located in the old part of the city. We are not in Silom area and therefore it is not a useful comparison, however, we are closer to Thammasat University than apartments in Silom area otherwise most students would be living there. A fully furnished one bedroom place at Sivalai Place is spacious at about 50-60 sqm. For the same price, a one bedroom place in Silom would be a lot smaller.

We are not a service apartment. We provide fully furnished apartment and you were aware of the rates, as we had sent you a quotation prior to you moving-in. We also have hotel rates where we supply the bedsheets, towels and all other conveniences for short term rental like how we were on Agoda.com, Booking.com, Hostelworld.com, Hostelbookers.com and so on.

The guest/registration policy is for the safety of the residents. We are living as a community and safety is one of our main concerns. The cleaning service is flat rate and not by the hour. The housekeeping usually take about 1.30 – 2 hr to clean room depends on the rooms' conditions.

There are many reasons why taxi drivers don't want to take passenger. They may not know the way and they do not want to lose face. It is quite normal that the taxi drivers do not speak English and communication is a problem. They pick up foreigners thinking that they can get an extra ‘no meter’ fare to finish off their shift. After clubbing at night from Sukhumvit and RCA, taxis often only go on a ‘flat rate’ and that is typical in that area with tourists.

However, we regret that you are not satisfied and thank you for giving us the opportunity to clarify those points.

Thanks you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Loved staying here, amazing apartment. If you needed a taxi the security guard would go get one from the street, However taxis couldn't find it and tried to rip you off upon return. Huge room with kitchen area. Nice pool and restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HeeleyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sivalaip, Front Office Manager at Sivalai Place, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments. Your comment has been shared among our team to ensure we will continue delivering good service to all guest.

I am pleased to read that you had enjoyed the convenience of our services. Thank you once again for sharing your feedback.

We are looking forward for your future return. Please do not hesitate to contact us anytime if we can be further assistance.

Sincerely yours,


Front Office Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We arrived to Sivalai without expecting too much, and it exceeded our expectations. Much better than other hotels in BKK for the same price. It is much more than a room: with cooking facilities and a living room, and also a great view, specially at night. Quiet neighbourhood but still very close to the attractions. HIghly reccommended, grat value for money :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura_smith_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sivalaip, Front Office Manager at Sivalai Place, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Value Guest,

I am really sorry for the late reply. Thank you for your stay with us. Thank you for sharing with us the experienced of your stay and for choosing Sivalai Place for your holiday. We are happy to read your positive comment and your comment has been shared among our team to ensure we will continue delivering good service to all guest.

We are looking forward for your future return. Please do not hesitate to contact us anytime if we can be further assistance.

Sincerely yours,


Front Office Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We enjoyed a very nice stay in Sivalai. It has the best of an hotel and the best of an appartment!. Staff is hugely helpful, rooms are large and quiet. It even offers a large swimming pool and tennis facilities. It is hard to find something negative to stay....we sometimes experienced difficulty in finding transport to get to the place: taxis don't always want to go that far out from the center...I recomend it wholeheartedly

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DominiqueBourguignon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sivalaip, Front Office Manager at Sivalai Place, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments and we really appreciated to read that we have made up to your expectation. Your comment has been shared among our team to ensure we will continue delivering good service to all guest.

We are looking forward for your future return. Please do not hesitate to contact us anytime if we can be further assistance.

Sincerely yours,


Front Office Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I have stayed here on numerus occaisons whilst visiting my girlfriend who lives nearby.I have always found it a true home from home.I enjoy their facilities,the swimming pool,gym and restaurant[good food great value].The staff are always obliging and friendly,and you always feel very safe and secure in the building.Even the surrounding area is secure.There is a security guard further up the road.Every time I have stayed here I have never had any cause for complaint,and I have always left there with a hint of sadness that I wasn't able to stay there for longer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sivalaip, Front Office Manager at Sivalai Place, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Dear K.Nigel F,


Thank you for your recent stay at Sivalai Place. We hope that your stay was pleasant and that our accommodations and services were acceptable to you.

Please let us know if there's any ways that we might make improvements in the accommodations and services for our guests.

With Best Regards,


Front Office Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Hotel Royal Bangkok at Chinatown
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#139 of 885 in Bangkok
1,604 reviews
Theatre Residence
#475 of 885 in Bangkok
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Din
Bangkok 68
Bangkok 68
#283 of 885 in Bangkok
345 reviews
Baan Wanglang Riverside
#164 of 885 in Bangkok
332 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Chic Hostel
Chic Hostel
#115 of 1,307 in Bangkok
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sivalai Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sivalai Place

Address: 168 Soi Isaraphab 33, Isaraphab Rd | Tha Phra, Bangkok-Yai, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 1,307 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: £24 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sivalai Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sivalai Place is a perfect accommodation for your comfort stay in the old capital part of the city! We provided a modern luxury room & lovely service along with the friendly price. Our fitness room offers a variety of exercise machines and free weights suiting all your cardio and strength training needs. Along with the 25 meter ozone swimming pool offers our guests with a refreshing way to relax after a long day.Resturant Lil Chef provided various selection of Thai taste and interenational menu.Our hotel located in nearby to all the must seen beautiful& charming caultural sites, walkable to Wat Arun temple of Dawn and 15-20 mins to Grand Palace,easy access to the Pier.15 Mins drive to Khao Sarn rd and BTS Wongwienyai. Perfect for both short or long stay in Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sivalai Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sivalai Place Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing