We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sivalai Place
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hip Bangkok(Bangkok)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
113
41
8
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
41
8
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstennis courtsswimming poolhome away from homefitness roomsouthern bus terminalon site restaurantthe main roadaddress written in thaicooking facilitiesinternet cafewat arunapartment buildinga wonderful place to staydepending on trafficcosts bahttaxi farechiang mai
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Very nice, clean, safe! I arrived late night, and the taxi driver had a little difficulty finding the place but since I had the tel number on hand, we called and managed to press a button for the security since it was after hours...and he helped us out with directions. The security officer was so genuine, warm and welcoming, handed me an envelope with wifi info, keys, etc. [tip- print out the actual Thai map from Sivalai's website or ask the staff to email you one to show the taxi driver.] Sivalai has a small restaurant and the woman that prepares the food cares about the quality of the food. There is a nice swimming pool as well.
The neighborhood is a laid back with a very local feel, exactly what I was looking for.
The studio unit was very clean, and the kitchen was equipped with basic utensils. Itsharapap road (the main road) has lots of local food vendors, etc. Wat Arun is close by.
Taxi can get you to the closest BTS (sky train) Wongwain if you need to go to areas like Sukhumvit, Silom, etc. Would I return to Sivalai place in the future? Absolutely!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sivalaip, Front Office Manager at Sivalai Place, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sivalai Place to stay. We are happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay and your comment has been shared among our team to ensure we will continue delivering good service to all guest.

We hope to welcoming back again in the near future. In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us anytime.

Sincerely yours,

Front Office Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

The sivalai place is great, the staff really know what a traveler needs and the place is really well organized (which is not quite easy to find in thailand). The only minus is the location, it is located near the big attractions of bangkok (20 min walk to wat arun), but there is no restaurants close to the hotel (but the hotel does provide meals). Big swimming pool.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank queinferno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sivalaip, Front Office Manager at Sivalai Place, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Value Guest,

I am delighted to read your nice review on TripAdvisor, regarding your recent stay at Sivalai Place, Bangkok. Your comment has been shared among our team to ensure we will continue delivering good service to all guest.

We all look forward to welcoming you back for your stay soon. In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us anytime if we can be further assistance.

Sincerely yours,

Front Office Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I stayed with Sivalai for several months whilst studying at Thammasat University nearby, and it was great. Nice rooms at decent prices, cleaning service and restaurant available and great facilities. The gym was above expectations, they have a nice 25m swimming pool and three tennis courts.

It is located in western Bangkok fairly far from the Siam and Sukhumvit areas of the city, but moving about in BKK is very cheap. If you're up for a longer stay in the city, I would definately recomend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boc44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sivalaip, Front Office Manager at Sivalai Place, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Value Guest,

We are really sorry for the late reply. Thank you for sharing with us about the experienced of your stay and for choosing Sivalai Place to stay.

We are happy to read that we have met up to the expectation of your stay especially when we made you feel welcome and seems that the entire stay was a successful. Your comment has been shared our team as this has shown that we have come to the right direction. We will ensure that the same level of service will be continued.

We hope to see you again in the near future, in the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us anytime if we can be further assistance.

Sincerely yours,

Front Office Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The staff is very helpful and friendly, the rooms are big and clean. The swimming pool, gym, and tennis court are very nice. The fact that the house is located on a quite peaceful and quiet Soi is nice since you get away from the noisy traffic on Isaraphab. Overall, I have been very pleased with Sivalai Place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RS1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sivalaip, Front Office Manager at Sivalai Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Value Guest,

I am really sorry for the late reply. Thank you for your positive comments and we really appreciated to read that we have made up to your expectation. Your comment has been shared among our team to ensure we will continue delivering good service to all guest.

We are looking forward for your future return. In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us anytime if we can be further assistance.

Sincerely yours,

Front Office Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I stayed at Sivalai Place for approximately 5 months as part of my study abroad program in Bangkok.

In an absolute sense Sivalai is ok, rooms are decent, the gym is well-equipped and many Europeans are used to stay there.
However, when you start analyzing Sivalai in a relative sense by comparing with other options, you quickly realize that it is a very poor choice for travelers as well as for students. I would like to point out 3 BIG issues that people NEED to be aware of**:

1) Terrible location: Sivalai Place is located around 8 to 10 min from the main road, i.e. Itsaraphap, which is in itself very far from everything including the BTS and MRT (Public Transportation). It very frequently happened that the taxi drivers did not want to take me or my friends because of the bad location. Consequently overpaying for the taxi to be able to come back home is very common.
Forget about easily accessible nice restaurants and great shops, Sivalai Place is far from everything. I would say that the location is pretty terrible for Thammasat students as well given that you still need 30 - 45 min to reach Tha Prachan campus (This is the same length of time as if you were living in Silom area, which is much closer to the center and its attractions).

2) Poor services: They don’t provide you with anything when you move in, e.g. Bed Sheet, Towel, Water, Soap, Toilet Paper, which is quite a shame for a “serviced” apartment. I do not remember any other hotels or serviced apartments that did not provide me with Bed Sheet and Towels. The restaurant, i.e. “Little Chef”, proposes bad quality food besides an excessively slow service. Moreover, I agree with a previous comment that pointed out the guest/registration policy. Sivalai Place is a “serviced” apartment that offers Student Hostel rules and this is simply inconsistent.

3) Significantly overpriced: Considering the points aforesaid, you will still pay 15, 000 – 16,000 THB/Month for a one bedroom apartment (even including a discount for students), which is equal to or greater than the amount of money you can spend for a very nice room in a great location with much better facilities and a nicer living environment. Besides, the cleaning services are not included in the price and cost 300 THB (9 USD) for one hour. Moreover, you have to take into account the electricity fees, which surprisingly tend to reach 2000THB/Month if you use the air conditioning around 8/10 hours a day.

To put in a nutshell, Sivalai Place needs both SIGNIFICANT improvements to justify the price it currently charges and a lower price to justify its terrible location.

I give Sivalai Place a grade of 1/5 only because of the very nice people I met there during my stay.

**This review is based on my experience at Sivalai, the research I made about Hotels, condominium and serviced apartments in Bangkok and the discussions I had with local people.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShantiA0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sivalaip, Guest Relations Manager at Sivalai Place, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with the general staff attention, the room and gym facilities. We would like to thank you for your business and support, especially as you had the option to move out after the first 3 months contract ended but as you chose to stay until your semester was over.

From reading your valued review, we are sad that you were not happy. Constructive criticism helps us identify problems and make adjustments. However, there are some facts we would like to clarify.

First the location: Sivalai Place is located in the Thonburi area. It is an old part of town important to the history of Bangkok. Sivalai Place is close to the cultural and sightseeing areas ie: the Grand Palace, Wat Pho, the Temple of Dawn and many temples along the river.

Situated in a quiet neighborhood, which gives us privacy away from buzzing Bangkok. Some residents say it is about 5 min walk to Isaraphab rd. Wong Wien Yai BTS is about 15-25 min away by taxi. A walk to Temple of Dawn or WaT Arun is 20 min away. We are also close to the Chao Praya River and its piers. Travelers can take the ferry and the boat as another option for transportation. This is the local life many travelers want to see and experience. We also provide bicycles for the residents to use at no cost.

We have hosted many Thammasat students since 2007. Thammasat is not anywhere near the BTS or MRT because it is located in the old part of the city. We are not in Silom area and therefore it is not a useful comparison, however, we are closer to Thammasat University than apartments in Silom area otherwise most students would be living there. A fully furnished one bedroom place at Sivalai Place is spacious at about 50-60 sqm. For the same price, a one bedroom place in Silom would be a lot smaller.

We are not a service apartment. We provide fully furnished apartment and you were aware of the rates, as we had sent you a quotation prior to you moving-in. We also have hotel rates where we supply the bedsheets, towels and all other conveniences for short term rental like how we were on Agoda.com, Booking.com, Hostelworld.com, Hostelbookers.com and so on.

The guest/registration policy is for the safety of the residents. We are living as a community and safety is one of our main concerns. The cleaning service is flat rate and not by the hour. The housekeeping usually take about 1.30 – 2 hr to clean room depends on the rooms' conditions.

There are many reasons why taxi drivers don't want to take passenger. They may not know the way and they do not want to lose face. It is quite normal that the taxi drivers do not speak English and communication is a problem. They pick up foreigners thinking that they can get an extra ‘no meter’ fare to finish off their shift. After clubbing at night from Sukhumvit and RCA, taxis often only go on a ‘flat rate’ and that is typical in that area with tourists.

However, we regret that you are not satisfied and thank you for giving us the opportunity to clarify those points.

Thanks you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews