We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”
Review of Som's Guesthouse

Som's Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Som's Guesthouse
Ranked #241 of 731 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I stayed there May 2012. This was the second time I have been there and my brother has stayed there twice too. We like it. It is a little older but clean, large rooms, good A/C, free wifi, breakfast....every thing you need. The couple who own it are cool and the location is great. You can walk to the MRT or Sky train.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meanhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

I've stayed in other places in SouthEast Asia and I keep judging them against Som's. There are cultural differences in the countries I've traveled to and these things I've learned are not issues with the place as much as they are built in misunderstandings. Som has just opened a nice bar in the soi as the most of Washington street will be torn down. The Guesthouse still provides breakfast to order, landry service and a great perk is that they will even keep hold of excess luggage when you make short jaunts in and out of the country. Rooms are huge and small air con issue was taken care of in record Thai time overall a great place, with real free wifi.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jstinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Great place. Friendly staff and owner. Good location!

Stayed: April 2012
Thank ThailandBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Great stay, huge rooms and breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jstinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We met Som a couple of years ago on our first visit to Bangkok at her bar on Soi 22 called Denny's, we spent alot of time in the bar and got to know Som had a gueshouse close by. This year we took her up on it and from the moment we arrived were made a complete fuss of. The guesthouse in very well located with easy walking distance to the sky train and more importantly Denny's bar! The rooms are very clean with everything you need, comfy bed, TV, AC, Fridge and ensuite shower room with towels. Breakfast is very flexible and is really good. Som even invited everyone who was staying to a Thai banquet one evening which she had cooked herself and it was amazing. We also got to know Soms husband Jeremy who is a great laugh and very entertaining. Chum is also a little diamond and made us feel very welcome. I would have no hesitation in recommending Soms and Denny's to anyone and have got to say that the amazing hospitality for me was the most important thing of all. Thanks Som, Jeremy, Chum and everyone at Denny's. Hopefully see you again soon. John and Gordon

Room Tip: We had rooms 8 and 9 and were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

We stayed at Som's Guest House 18 months ago and were very pleased with it so planned to stay again this trip. Then we read the previous bad review and got a bit nervous in case it had changed hands. Decided to give it another go and very pleased we did. The sheets were not only clean on arrival but were changed every two days, clean towels every day and room cleaned every day. Som is still here and she and all the staff are friendly and helpful. Cooked breakfast every day (included in price) and free wi fi that works (as well as free internet on their computers), also free luggage storage while we travelled South. It is an older building and it isn't 5 star but neither is the price. The rooms are big and the downstairs lounge/bar is always welcoming. You can walk to BTS. For budget accommodation in the middle of buzzy Bangkok it has everything we need

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiAbroadGally2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

Dirty room,dirty sheets.I honestly don't think they had been changed from the previous guest.You could see mucky marks on bed sheets.Also,the previous guest had been a smoker,as you could still smell smoke every time you entered the room.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimjim03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 890 in Bangkok
8,627 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Silom
Trinity Silom Hotel
Trinity Silom Hotel
#193 of 890 in Bangkok
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Som's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Som's Guesthouse

Address: 295/13-14 Sukhumvit Soi 22 | Klongton/Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 731 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: £16 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing