We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Som's Guesthouse”
Review of Som's Guesthouse

Som's Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Som's Guesthouse
Ranked #220 of 641 Bangkok B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Som's Guesthouse”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I'm going back to Thailand to visit friends, and I always stay at this guesthouse, I really like the feel of the place,modesty priced with breakfast, very Thai, always good, friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, could do with a coat of paint in some places, but if you want that, there are plenty of larger and more expensive hotels nearby, but, as always, they are very much the same all the world over. I also read this negative review, and it stumped me, I think maybe it was a question of demanding and not too many good manners, on there part. Yet to meet a Thai that will react in a positive manner to being stood over !! So if you want to start your holiday right and enjoy the exploration of "Thai ness" start here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richardjbanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    7
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
2
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

the rooms need a renovation, but what will you expect for a low budget.
better pay 200baht more and go to regency park.
better value for the money.
but if you want to sleep clean and cheap its ok.
there is no lift, so you must climb up the stairs with bag

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dodyFRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meanhorse
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I stayed there May 2012. This was the second time I have been there and my brother has stayed there twice too. We like it. It is a little older but clean, large rooms, good A/C, free wifi, breakfast....every thing you need. The couple who own it are cool and the location is great. You can walk to the MRT or Sky train.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meanhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
419 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I've stayed in other places in SouthEast Asia and I keep judging them against Som's. There are cultural differences in the countries I've traveled to and these things I've learned are not issues with the place as much as they are built in misunderstandings. Som has just opened a nice bar in the soi as the most of Washington street will be torn down. The Guesthouse still provides breakfast to order, landry service and a great perk is that they will even keep hold of excess luggage when you make short jaunts in and out of the country. Rooms are huge and small air con issue was taken care of in record Thai time overall a great place, with real free wifi.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jstinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012 via mobile

Great place. Friendly staff and owner. Good location!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ThailandBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
419 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Great stay, huge rooms and breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jstinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We met Som a couple of years ago on our first visit to Bangkok at her bar on Soi 22 called Denny's, we spent alot of time in the bar and got to know Som had a gueshouse close by. This year we took her up on it and from the moment we arrived were made a complete fuss of. The guesthouse in very well located with easy walking distance to the sky train and more importantly Denny's bar! The rooms are very clean with everything you need, comfy bed, TV, AC, Fridge and ensuite shower room with towels. Breakfast is very flexible and is really good. Som even invited everyone who was staying to a Thai banquet one evening which she had cooked herself and it was amazing. We also got to know Soms husband Jeremy who is a great laugh and very entertaining. Chum is also a little diamond and made us feel very welcome. I would have no hesitation in recommending Soms and Denny's to anyone and have got to say that the amazing hospitality for me was the most important thing of all. Thanks Som, Jeremy, Chum and everyone at Denny's. Hopefully see you again soon. John and Gordon

Room Tip: We had rooms 8 and 9 and were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 858 in Bangkok
8,106 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 858 in Bangkok
4,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Som's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Som's Guesthouse

Property: Som's Guesthouse
Address: 295/13-14 Sukhumvit Soi 22 | Klongton/Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 641 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your Som's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing