We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple awesome”

The China House at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Ranked #164 of 11,485 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$61
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Silom
Description: Art Deco style, contemporary Cantonese flavours. Inspired by Shanghai’s legendary Art Deco period, The China House is our stunning Cantonese fine dining restaurant. Featuring authentic Cantonese dishes interpreted in a contemporary style, The China House offers one of our most celebrated dining experiences.Housed in a beautifully restored two-storey colonial building, The China House enjoys an opulent old-world feel with dark wood furnishings and atmospheric low lighting. Under talented Executive Chef Andy Leong Siew Fye, the China House features an à la carte menu, a weekly Dim Sum buffet and a weekend brunch buffet containing all the signature dishes from the menu.We also offer guests the chance to enjoy our private dining facilities. We have three private dining rooms, each seating up to 10 guests and one larger room seating up to 20 diners.
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

It's a very nice restaurant, the dim sums are to die for .... A place with real touch of culture and the service and good is simple great ...

1  Thank UtsavManjari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, F&B Manager at The China House at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear UtsavManjari,

Many thanks for this great review. I am delighted to hear that you had a “simply awesome” dining experience at “The China House” and that you especially enjoyed the historical, Chinese ambiance, culinary delights and our legendary Oriental service.
We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Culinary regards,

Thomas Kinsperger
F&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 174 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had booked by email, with a return confirmation with instructions on how to get there which included a water boat shuttle ride along the river, I love that this is the start of our experience to what can only be described as the best Dim Sim I have had the pleasure of enjoying.

As you walk through the beautiful surroundings which is the Mandarin Oriental you understand that this is going to be a divine experience in culinary taste. The hotel itself is opulent, walking through the foyer the staff are ranked with what seems like a Captain wearing a Naval Officer four stripes lapel. There is high tea being served from a patisserie which had what looked like a cake made into a Luxury brand handbag.

We were directed to the outside to cross over to the China House which is within its own surroundings and Chinese garden, including a magnificent tree which by the size of the trunk was extremely old, with many ceremonial ribbons tied around its trunk & branches. An alter is also present with hundreds of small figurines as offerings (this can be seen from our inside table).

We were seated within our own private table booth which could be closed off for privacy, I wanted to people watch which unfortunately was not possible as there were only a couple of other tables filled and they were hidden from view.

We elected to take the "all you can eat" Dim Sim, which as previously mentioned here is reasonably priced for the calibre of food & preparation that has gone into the dishes. As both of us are meat free we did partake in many seafood dishes and the odd vegetarian (we could have ordered the usual Chinese vegetable side dishes). The gentleman serving was very helpful in suggestions, including at the end of the meal we decided to try a sweet bean streamed dish, without prompting he brought us the same option salted and fried which was the nicer of the two dishes.

We definitely over ate, the service was outstanding with two staff constantly attending to our every whim, which included an endless supply of jasmine tea. At less than AUD80 for the meal, when you consider the calibre of the hotel this restaurant is attached to the experience was a great way to celebrate a friend's birthday of just to enjoy Dim Sim in another city.

Definitely a return visit next time I am passing through Bangkok.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Arianrhod10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, F&B Manager at The China House at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Arianrhod10,

What a heartfelt summary of compliments!

Thank you for taking the time to share your stunning and excellent feedback with us.
Restaurant Manager Khun Sakchai and Chef Andy are truly delighted to hear that you enjoyed the “best Dim Sum” at The China House. The atmosphere is indeed incomparable and I am glad to communicate your compliments concerning the “outstanding” service, delicious culinary offer and lovely location to the entire team.
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon,

Best regards,

Thomas Kinsperger
F&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We heard some great comments on China Doll Peking duck so we decided to go and try it. While a little bit pricey it will be enough for two so be prepares. The duck was out of this world ,crispy light skin in delicate Chinese crepe with some cucumber and onion and to make things better once you finish the skin you can have the meat prepared any way you like ( we selected sweet and sour) and it was also very good . Plan ahead and you will have a great intimate dinner in one of their private rooms.

Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, F&B Manager at The China House at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Jose C,

“Best Peking Duck outside of ... Peking”
It’s always a great pleasure for Gastronomes like us receiving such a stunning review and I am delighted to read about your wonderful dining experience at “The China House” on TripAdvisor.
Thank you for recommending our famous Peking Duck and Restaurant Manager Khun Sakchai, Chef Andy and their teams are looking forward to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,

Thomas Kinsperger
F&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The Peking duck was wonderful! Overall, it was a great experience on par with the remainder of the Mandarin Oriental. We decided on this restaurant while staying at the Mandarin because authentic Cantonese is so hard to find in America. To our surprise, this ended up being better than similar meals in China!

This meal was especially enjoyable when dining in the small mirrored booths. I highly recommend asking for one when making reservations or upon arrival.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Taitemcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, F&B Manager at The China House at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Taitemcd,

I am delighted to hear you had a “wonderful meal” during your last visit to our Cantonese heaven in Bangkok and am pleased that you enjoyed the magical ambiance, the architectural appearance and the culinary delights.
Please do let us know when your plans bring you back to Bangkok; I would be delighted to assist with the details of your evening to ensure another wonderful experience at ‘La Grande Dame’.

Culinary regards,

Thomas Kinsperger
F&B Manager
thomask@mohg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Most would have thought that eating at a 5-star hotel would be costly. But at The China House, their lunch dim sum buffet was just value for money. There are a variety of dim sum choices and most were freshly made and of high quality. The hak kaw with caviar and xia-long-pao are highly recommended. The hot and sour soup was just superb. We booked a table for 7 to celebrate our Songkran holiday. Since it was a full-house and the food serving was a bit slow, the manager (Marc) handled the situation very well by interacting with guests and explaining the cause for delay. Aside from the delay, the service by the staffs was great.
Although there are 2 floors, the seating is usually full on weekends or holidays. Therefore, it is highly recommended to book beforehand since many customers are hotel guests.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Journey_Delight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The China House at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to The China House at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing