We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would have walked passed if not with a guide...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chote Chitr

Chote Chitr
Ranked #7,000 of 10,706 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Banglamphu
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We would have walked passed if not with a guide...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

We ate here as part of an excursion, recommended by our guide and on first impressions we were very unsure. 5 small tables in a small room, staff who appeared quite hostile at first, 3 dogs running around and bugs on the table, all in a restaurant that is very easy to miss. However, the food totally made up for any concerns we had. The prawns in red curry and the crispy noodles were delicious.
We went at 12 just as the restaurant was opening, in fact we were the first guests of the day, and by the time we were finished there were 3 parties waiting for tables on the road outside, a mixture of tourists and locals, which is always a good sign. You cant reserve a table and most people seemed happy to wait, possibly up to 45 minutes for a table.
We would certainly go back - if we could find it again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethWalker79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    43
    28
    12
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worst food in Bangkok for me, enemy looking staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

Maybe it is the proper thai food but I used to eat on the streets all over thailand & bangkok even in parts where I was the only tourist. I didnt like my crispy noodles at all food was cold, staff looked veryVery unfriedly. It also stunk inside. I wouldn't come back even if the food would be for free.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andyrej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Some fantastic dishes, very unfriendly host”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

If you are in the area and like unusual Thai food, this tiny disheveled place is well worth a stop by. The banana blossom salad and the steamed fish in coconut milk were both absolutely scrumptious. However, the woman who took our orders and woman who delivered the food both seemed miserable and inconvenienced by their customers. So, if you are looking for a romantic place, skip this spot. But if you just want a good culinary adventure, then it's a fun spot to try. (There's dogs here...so don't come if you are allergic!)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must in Bangkok”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

It was a special local in a deep part of Bangkok closer the Grand Palace. Really small place with inside lots of dogs and all kind o animals down the few tables. A little temple on the floor with foods and candle lights. The landlady is a old woman that speack just little bit, the necessary to order some meals and try to understand what she says. She takes order from her bar/table talking with loud voice and repeats our order to the chefs who are in the kitchen. Most part of meal are delicious and healthy and smells all around good fragrance of good foods. The atmosphere is magical you seem you go back in time in around '60s. We spent two people eating a lot and drinking 2 big bottles of beer around all inclusive 700 bath (15 € ). Racomanded!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Illness79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoran Desert AZ
Level Contributor
115 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A real experience, and amazing food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

Chote Chitr is literally a hole in the wall, tucked away in a quiet historic neighborhood in Old Town (if you're fortunate enough to be staying at The Bhuthorn you're in luck, Chote Chitr is right around the corner). This restaurant is not for everyone-it's right on the street, the owner's dogs will probably be there wandering past your table, and the owner herself will not go out of her way to make you feel welcome UNTIL you tell her how absolutely incredibly fantastic her food is, and then she'll be your friend for life. And, believe me, the food here is outstanding. The banana flower salad (not really a salad) is one of the most delicious and unique dishes I've ever had, anywhere, and the curry was sublime. If you want an elegant restaurant dining experience do not even think of coming here. But if you want brilliant Thai food at ridiculously low prices and a real local experience then try and find Chote Chitr.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank msmarls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chote Chitr also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Chote Chitr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing