We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent food at a reasonable price - shame about the lack of customer service.”

Ricky's Coffee Shop
Ranked #14 of 503 Coffee & Tea in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Banglamphu
Asia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Decent food at a reasonable price - shame about the lack of customer service.”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This place has many good points. It has great coffee, a wide variety of breakfast dishes, Mexican food that isn't available anywhere else in the KSR area, a good selection of sandwiches, nice seating and The Bangkok Post.
The service is average and the manager is the most miserable man in Bangkok. I assume as 98% of his customers are Farang and that he must speaks the occasional word. If he does he is a man of very few words because it seems painful for him that you are taking up a seat in his premises.
I live locally so this place is handy for brunch etc but Mike Strachan is correct, the customer service needs some work. It might be that it is understaffed as there only seems to be two girls and they are always pretty busy all day.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank angstas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    43
    9
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Why work in the customer service industry?”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We went for dinner and the food was tasty and reasonably priced. The service at dinner was so-so but we figured the waitress must have had a long day. We went back for breakfast the following day and the service was worse. The menus were thrown down in front of us without any greeting and it actually felt like we were inconveniencing the waitress by making an order. The food was delivered in the same way. The sugar bowl was swarmed by ants and given the previous service, we decided to not ask for a replacement. Upon paying, again the change was thrown down on the counter and the waitress turned her back before we'd even picked it up. Whilst the food was reasonable, good customer service can go a long way, and on that note the restaurant isn't worthy of patronage.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeStrachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sisaket, Thailand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A Bangkok Favorite”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

A trip to Bangkok would not be complete without a great coffee and Delicious Sandwich at Ricky's! Great Breakfasts and sandwiches and a great coffee to accompany.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breakfast at Ricky's”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We've been going to Ricky's since the mid '90s. It's one of the things I look forward to on our annual trips to SE Asia...breakfast at Ricky's. Not outstanding, not fantastic, but reliable and a little like our home away from home coffee house. Muz has his eggs and I have fruit and muesli with yogurt, 2 cups of strong coffee with sweet milk and I'm ready to face a day in Bangkok...besides, its right next to our guesthouse, the New Siam II. I couldn't do Bangkok without it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tried twice, wouldn't try again”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This was the only place open twice when we were up early. First time, my eggs were almost raw, I don't mind a soft yolk but even the white was I adequately cooked. So, the next time I asked for eggs over easy, and they were burnt. Bread is stale and dry, just like the service. They need to pick up the game. Coffee was ok.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank anikad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ricky's Coffee Shop also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Ricky's Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing