We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best way to experience Bangkok” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citin Pratunam Hotel by Compass Hospitality

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Citin Pratunam Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #292 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best way to experience Bangkok”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2009

I spent a long time on Tripadvisor.com trying to sus out the best budget hotel for my stay in Bangkok and I'm so glad I listened to all the great reviews. Getting to this hotel can be a little tricky if its your first time, be sure to print out the map in Thai and show it to your taxi driver when you're at the airport, this helps tremendously.

Aside from that, I have absolutely no complaints for this hotel, it was a total gem. The room prices were very much worth the money. The rooms were basic, but comfortably spacious. This hotel sticks to the basic no frills rooms, but whatever they provided they provided very well. The shower was lovely, and the water always ran hot. The free wi-fi in the lobby was a nice touch as well since most travelers like checking their inboxes every now and then.

The entire feel of the hotel was very clean, bright and welcoming and I could not praise the service more. The service was impeccable - all the counter staff spoke very fluent English and were often very friendly and helpful. They have an all-day tourist counter, I believe it is run by one of their male staff. One incident that stuck with me was this.

I'd heard Platinum Mall was around the area, and I was planning on checking it out. I was about to approach the tourist counter when I realised he was busy with two caucasian clients. I then went to eat lunch around the area, figuring I'd come back when they were done. When I came back to the hotel, the tourist counter staff himself approached me and said, "I noticed you wanted to ask some questions just now..." All in all, the service was absolutely 5 star. The staff made us feel so welcome and went out of their way to help us with our baggages and passports, they definitely played a big part in making our trip so pleasant.

About the location: While it is difficult to navigate at first, one will quickly realise how charming it is. Citin is situated in the middle of a tiny cultural hub, walking out of the hotel you'll find inexpensive and authentic thai food, massage centres, fresh fruits, shopping carts and everything one can imagine. It is truly convenient and loads of fun for those who enjoy exploring new cultures.

Note: I'd recommend taking a taxi from the main road instead of walking to the BTS. Surprisingly, taxi rides can be more economical than the BTS because taking a taxi is so affordable here. Be sure to avoid rush hour though! You might even get stuck in traffic for up to an hour.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cuddlebuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citin, Resident Manager at Citin Pratunam Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 6 June 2009
Dear cuddlebuggy,

Thank you very much for using Citin Pratunam as your 2nd home when you were in Bangkok and for spending of your valuable time writing a review. We all appreciate that very much and please to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Your compliment would encourage all staffs to do their job in providing a good service to all guests.

We hope to have a chance to welcome you again at Citin Pratunam in the near future.

Best regards

Prawit Chokamnuay
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    461
    200
    73
    46
See reviews for
195
243
60
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cumbernauld
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

This place is perfect for dicovering Bangkok! The breakfast was lovely and the rooms are clean and spacios. We stayed he at the beginning and the end of our trip. Great market stalls with food and fake goodies also. Right in the thick of real bangkok - not for the faint hearted. We loved this place. Make sure you have a map of where it is as it is quite tricky to find and the taxi drivers were not always sure where this was. Take the phone number of the hotel with you. Our driver spoke to the hotel and got directions. The beds were hard but we still slept like logs after the busy days sight seeing. Oh and go to the nokia cinema with the recclining chairs and cocktails it was fab.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsLMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

I decided to booked Citin based on the reviews that I read at Tripadvisor, and both my husband and I were very satisfied and happy for our choice. The hotel location is good, it is only 10 minutes walk to Platinum fashion mall and the nearby areas in Pratunam; staff and bellboy were friendly and helpful. There's also free hotel tuk tuk shuttle service that stops at the junction of the road that you will have a short walk to the nearby Ratchatewi BTS train station. The room is trendy, clean and new and I was given a quiet corner room since I have requested a King size bed.
The downside for this hotel is that it's not easy for cab drivers to locate the hotel, so it's best that you can show the hotel card with map to the drivers. It was raining season during our stay in May and we discovered that roads outside of the hotel is flooded with water up to ankle length depth, so, if it does rain heavily, walking maybe a bit of problem to walk from Pratunam back to the hotel. I would suggest either you take a tuk tuk or a cab back to the hotel.
However, despite the limitations, I would still recommend this hotel for travellers that is looking for a good location with a clean and trendy room to stay. I would definitely stay in this hotel again when I return to Bangkok next time.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ong_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2009

Stayed in Citin from 8-10 May 2009 with my mom and sis. Selected this hotel based on three factors: (i) the heaps of positive reviews from Tripadvisor; (ii) its proximity to Platinum Mall for shopping; (iii) $$.

It was difficult finding the hotel at first and this was not helped at all when our cab driver, who was an old man, had a bad eyesight and could not read the map printed from the hotel's website. My sis and I had to give him directions based on the map. Anyhow, he missed the turning to the hotel and we ended up walking about 100 meters to the hotel with our bags in tow. The hotel is located at the end of a dead end road and in 2 buildings. We stayed in the one where breakfast was served in the mornings. The room was very clean and size was good even though we had an extra bed added at TB500 (with breakfast for the third person). The hotel had complimentary tuk tuk shuttle service which would bring us to the main road where we could catch a cab or walk 10 minutes to the sky train station. Buffet breakfast which was included in the room price was adequate. Remember, this is a budget hotel, so don't expect a spread which you see in a 4-5* hotel. Despite our difficulty finding the hotel on the first day, we were truly satisfied with our stay there. Staff were pleasant and helpful and even arranged for a weighing scale to be brought to our room so that we could check the weight of our luggage. We certainly do have no qualms returning there for our next trip. Keep it up, Citin.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citin, Resident Manager at Citin Pratunam Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 4 June 2009
Dear KHF,

We thank you very much for staying at Citin Pratunam during your time in Bangkok last month and for spending your valuable time giving a very possitive review. We appreciate it and ensure to you that we would try our best to keep up our standard. By the way, we so sorry to hear that you encountered a difficult time finding our hotel. We are now trying to put up bigger signage along the way to the hotel. We hope that your visit to Citin Pratunam newt time would be a pleasant one.

Best regards,

Prawit Chokamnuay
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2009

Once we finally found this hotel, we were pleased with the hotel's reception, rooms, and staff. The hotel is located in a busy, congested area which will appeal to shoppers as there are numerous vendors on the street, as well as many small shops along the side streets. It's also near several shopping malls.

The hotel's decor is modern and trendy. The rooms were clean and open with flat screen TV and free wireless internet. The bathroom was very nice with a great shower. There are no good views from the windows as this hotel is wedged into the middle of a block of close buildings on all sides.

When we came home from the night market (a 10-minute taxi ride), the power to the entire block was out, but the hotel staff was very accomodating and said the power should be back on within 30 minutes. We walked up the stairs to our room and were able to shower and get ready for bed under the emergency lights. As promised, the power was restored shortly without incident.

Breakfast the next morning was an average buffet at the hotel's restaurant which is located across the street and down a half block.

This was a good hotel for our one night in Bangkok (on a side trip from our cruise ship docked 2 hours away).

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiketheGoodLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citin, Resident Manager at Citin Pratunam Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 23 May 2009
Dear LiketheGoddLife,

We thank you very much for staying at Citin Pratunam during in Bangkok and pleased to know that your had a very pleasant stay with us. Thanks for spending your time giving us a positive review. We appreciated that but at the same time we have to apologize for the inconvenience cuased duing the power failure one night. We wish to have a chance to welcome you again at Citin Pratunam in the near future.

Best regards

Prawit Chokamnuay
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2009

Although this hotel is very clean, and has possibly the nicest shower I experienced in Asia, the service is mostly efficient but highly impersonal. We stayed in hotels for half this price and found the stay far more enjoyable. The "budget" range is not as glamorous, but the staff treated us like royalty fallen on hard times rather than the comodity we felt like in the Citin.

The location is really poor if you are wanting to see the sites. 20mins to the skytrain (although they will take you in a tuktuk if it's available), and is miles from any tourist spots. If you are looking to shop, shop, shop, however, it's a pretty good location for the biggest shopping mall in the city. We tried to order room service at 2145, only to be told they were closed. I told them the menu said it closed at 2230, and after a few minutes of silence on the phone, they said they would bring the meal up. I should say the food was excellent, and very reasonably priced.

Our flight out was at midnight, so after checking out they allowed us to keep our bags in the hotel as long as we liked. However, unlike EVERY other hotel we stayed in, they did not allow us to have a shower at the end of the day without booking a half-day in a room, which I thought was very poor. This should not be taken as an insult to the staff themselves, but rather hotel policy in general.

In summary, a mix of good and bad. If you don't mind Travelodge or Holiday Inn-style efficiency at the cost of Holiday Inn and Travelodge-style blandness and robotic service, then this is probably for you. Google the hotel and book direct as we saved $10USD by getting their "offer" rate.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antsdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citin, Resident Manager at Citin Pratunam Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 9 May 2009
Dear antsdavies,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your patronage Citin Pratunam during your time in Bangkok though it was not an enjoyable stay. We apologize for the inconvenience caused you during staying with us and thank you very much for the review which is valuable for us. Please be ensured that we'll try our best to improve in the mentioned area in order to meet the customer expectation. We hope that Citin Pratunam will have chance to welcome you again in the near future.

Warmest regards

Prawit Chokamnuay
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2009

Arrived at this hotel around end of november when the airport was closed,the hotel was just what the right at central location of shopping mecca.The people and the atmosphere was very interesting,the rooms was just super clean,food was just delicious,will always come back to this hotel when I come to Bangkok.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jumpfence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Alpine
Grand Alpine
#709 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.1 mi away
First House Bangkok
First House Bangkok
#343 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Rajtaevee
Residence Rajtaevee
#359 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
iCheck inn Mayfair Pratunam
iCheck inn Mayfair Pratunam
#291 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baiyoke Suite Hotel
Baiyoke Suite Hotel
#693 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vista Express
Hotel Vista Express
#348 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citin Pratunam Hotel by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citin Pratunam Hotel by Compass Hospitality

Property: Citin Pratunam Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Address: 117 Soi Chunladit | Thung Phayathai, Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#100 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#176 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Citin Pratunam Hotel by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the city's vibrant Pratunam neighbourhood, Citin Pratunam features 126 studios designed in a modern style. Facilities and services include 24-hour reception and security, WiFi Internet connection, in-room electronic safe, LCD flat screen TV with satellite channels and more. Additional facilities include Citin Cafe which serves vegetarian fusion cuisine, Citin Spa for those tired feet, a sauna and gym. Within walking distance or a short ride by our free tuk-tuk shuttle service are Pratunam Market, Platinum Mall, Pantip Plaza, Central World and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Citin Pratunam Hotel by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citin Pratunam Bangkok
Hotel Citin Pratunam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing