We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointment”
Review of Patumwan House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Patumwan House
Ranked #57 of 733 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Wrinklybackpackers
We concur with the other reviewers, both positive and negative, but particularly with guymanster. We gave Patumwan two chances to get it right and they turned out to be the worst stay in 2 months in SE Asia. The place is essentially for long stay tenants and they fill up with short stay ones. They provide no tourist support – indeed, the only local info they gave was wrong. They do not know how to apologise even when major things go wrong. They have a set of tariffs which they do not tell you about, but simply take out of the whopping 500THB so called ‘key deposit’ they demand up front – again the only time we found that in our travels. If you stay, be wary of these issues.

Room Tip: challenge the pricing and availability
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wrinklybackpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

181 - 187 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2012

Our families (5 familes) spent 3 nights at this hotel/service apartment. The room is large but average, bathrooms need upgrading and the drainage smell is unbearable (it might be due to the recent flood). We had alot of spare beds as the hotel charge per head not per room ( waste of money as kids do not sleep on separate beds). It would have been better if breakfast was thrown in as part of the deal. No tea, coffee and kettle. One of the fridge did not even work. The upside is that the location is great, close to major shopping centre. Our friend stayed at a 5 stars hotel with breakfast for a similar price

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dt3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Located in a quiet cul de sac . its greatest asset being its close proximity to MBK shopping centre & the sky train.The room is largeish & clean with no frills & nothing fancy about it. The staff are helpful & polite. Breakfast has to be negotiated for separately. The food in the restaurant is quite basic but tasty. When booking on the net the staff take about 2 days to respond to any query. WiFi is not available & there isn't a pool. overall i would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunil99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

No frills is the word for this place.....

it is within walking distance to MBK, Siam Sq, Paragon & central world......

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank groovy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Good location walking distance to the skytrain and mbk shopling mall. Free wifi and big rooms. I would recommend to other travellers to Bangkok.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snydey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

I have stayed in this so called apartment many times in last 4 years. I would recommend anyone to stay there, be it for couple honeymooning or family with children. Location is secured with access card. One could get the launderette done in the morning and get delivered by end of day to your room.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiCheam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We've stayed here many times. Not too far from the Sky train and the shopping malls. We always have had great service. We think it's great value for the money. Large rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craigt3365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Happy 3
Happy 3
#111 of 891 in Bangkok
381 reviews
Siam
Siam Swana Hotel
Siam Swana Hotel
#315 of 891 in Bangkok
313 reviews
Krit Thai Residence
#407 of 891 in Bangkok
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel
ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel
#154 of 891 in Bangkok
1,558 reviews
Siam
Wendy House
Wendy House
#26 of 733 in Bangkok
618 reviews
Siam
Chao Hostel
Chao Hostel
#14 of 1,346 in Bangkok
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patumwan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patumwan House

Address: 22, Soi Kasemsan 1, Rama 1 Rd. | WangMai, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam , Pathumwan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 733 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: £32 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Patumwan House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Patumwan House is one of the accommodation in the heart of Bangkok city located close to all major shopping centers such as MBK center, Siam Square, Siam Center, Siam Discovery and Siam Paragon. Being in the area, we are also around the center of Bangkok business district and education institues. Transportation is easy to find as being not very far from the mainroad, though still be a quite place where you can feel the comfort of a distance from the rush and sound of traffic. The Sky-train BTS is just about 5 - 10 minutes walking distant. We are sure being one of the best choices for your stay in Bangkok ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Patumwan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing