We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet Spot” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Patumwan House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Patumwan House
Ranked #39 of 606 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Bristol
1 review
“Quiet Spot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2008

I arrived without prior booking and found that they had accommodation (1,400 THB, no breakfast). Lifts to all floors and I found the room spacious and clean. No Cable TV (only one Thai channel working) and Air Con. fan was so noisey I turned it off. I would stay again as the location was good.

  • Liked — Good sized double bed
  • Disliked — No channel choice on TV
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hilary09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    109
    37
    9
    13
See reviews for
71
77
31
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2008

We had a pleasant stay at the Patumwan House recently. The rooms are big, clean and the location is great. We are a couple with two small children and the bed was big enough for all or us. The rooms had sink and a good sized refrigerator. The restaurant food was good and so was the laundry. No pool but the price was also reasonable. Would recommend to everyone, especially for people travelling with kids as it is in the end of the alley and safe.

  • Liked — location, big room, facilities
  • Disliked — not enough staff
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Binaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2008

I have used the facilities at PATUMWAN HOUSE many times over the years. The resturant is clean with an ok menu. Location is super. Cost is very reasonable. (900-1200 baht) over the years. Very secure and safe. Rooms have beautiful teak floors, huge beds, clean bathrooms and a refer. WIFI/CABLE also. INTERNET in lobby. oh yea, I have worked in Thailand since '82 and am almost 70 years old. Retired in Chiang Mai. Love it here.

  • Liked — price and location
  • Disliked — occasionally front desk staff attitude just ok.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank subsailor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2008

I couldn't disagree with the previous reviewer more. I think she probably isn't giving us the full story which is a bit unfair. I actually lived here for seven months and have stayed several times again. The rooms are quite big and comfortable, but a bit musty. Try and get a room that faces the outside rather than the atrium.

This place is fairly cheap, in a great location, the rooms have HBO and cable and are nicer than all the others in the street (except maybe the more pricey Reno). The place is generally full of expats and fairly well-off Thai people who work in Bangkok which gives it a nice feel unlike some of the guest houses down the road full of American International School students and backpackers.

The service was always good when I was there. The staff were always helpful. When I first arrived I wanted to see a room and they explained that there were no empty rooms, but they said come back tomorrow, which I did, and saw the room then. No issues there!! So, while this isn't the most glamorous place to stay in central Bangkok, it is certainly one of the best value for money.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Some rooms need some updating
  • Stayed February 2006, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KhonThai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2008

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights, 1000baht per night.
The staff were very friendly, the rooms are very spacious with your own bar (bring your own alcohol)!
TV, hot shower/bath, fridge, wi-fi (100baht per day).
Room service, huge bed, conveniently located to siam square and sky train. Has it's own restaurant, but we never ate there. There are minah birds outside the building who are very amusing. If you like a bit of entertainment during dinner, go to the MK restaurant just off Siam square at 6pm where the staff perform with a special little dance, good fun!

  • Liked — Own bar and lovely minah birds
  • Disliked — didn't have a proper shower
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank milkbottletravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2008

I visited this place a couple times to look at rooms for a long (6 month or more) stay. Their rooms are okay, a bit old, dark, and musty, but they are decent sized and have okay amenities. So I decided to put down a deposit for 6 months. I work online and must have reliable internet access, so I asked the girl there if I could return with my laptop to test the wi-fi signal in the room. She said sure. So I made the 3 hour round trip back to my hotel and got my laptop and came back to test. "No can". "Huh?" "You not my customer you cannot test wi-fi". "But I am about to give you 36000 baht, I just need to make sure I will be able to work in this room". "No can". The one girl at reception became 3 snobby girls, who all refused to let me test the wi-fi, even when I offered to pay them for the time I would be using it. Nope. So I walked out and they lost business. Very stupid and very rude staff. If you were staying there and had any problem, I doubt they would make any effort to help. I do not recommend giving them your business.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Muangphol Mansion
Muangphol Mansion
#722 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Siam
Happy 3
Happy 3
#127 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Siam
Ibis Bangkok Siam
Ibis Bangkok Siam
#159 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Wendy House
Wendy House
#22 of 606 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Siam
Lub d Bangkok Siam
Lub d Bangkok Siam
#28 of 1,131 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Siam
Siam Swana Hotel
Siam Swana Hotel
#70 of 606 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patumwan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patumwan House

Property: Patumwan House
Address: 22, Soi Kasemsan 1, Rama 1 Rd., WangMai, Patumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 606 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Patumwan House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Patumwan House is one of the accommodation in the heart of Bangkok city located close to all major shopping centers such as MBK center, Siam Square, Siam Center, Siam Discovery and Siam Paragon. Being in the area, we are also around the center of Bangkok business district and education institues. Transportation is easy to find as being not very far from the mainroad, though still be a quite place where you can feel the comfort of a distance from the rush and sound of traffic. The Sky-train BTS is just about 5 - 10 minutes walking distant. We are sure being one of the best choices for your stay in Bangkok ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Patumwan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing