We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect hosts!”
Review of Urban House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Urban House
Ranked #71 of 1,186 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“The perfect hosts!”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Urban house, what a gem!

Located in busy Silom but off down a side road so perfectly quiet and because it is at the end of a quiet street with card entry, Ive never felt safer in Bangkok.

The lady looking after the place was so helpful and friendly. Gave us lots of tips on places to eat, quickest way to walk into town, booking a taxi and safety tips to be careful of our bag etc.

Wifi, aircon, breakfast, drinking water, fridge, TV, all the extras that make that bit of difference! The only thing I would say, is it could have been just a little big cheaper. 1080 baht for quite a basic place it would have been nice to have been a little cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wigglesworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    33
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
80
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Urban House is a really great place to stay in Bangkok. Its located in busy silom, where you can find a lot of places to eat, shop and be merry. The hotel itself is modern, the staff is very nice and informative (giving advice on what to see and what to do and how to get there - including a very good tip on an alternative to chatuchak weekend market, if you're not staying in bangkok during the weekend: asiatique riverside)
We were 3 people staying in a rather small room (at least for 3, for two its perfectly alright), but were already informed on telephone upon reservation of the room, that its not going to very spacious with an extra bed. Everything is clean and tidy. Wifi and Breakfast is included and you even get a little take-away-breakfast if you're leaving early.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frltoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed for six nights and had the suite on the first floor. Spotlessly clean, comfortable bed, plenty of hot water, air conditioning worked very well, spacious, soft towels. Laundry service 40 baht a kilo and returned clean, crisp and nicely folded in plastic. Only minutes away from underground and sky train, restaurants, fast foods and supermarket.

Lady on front desk very knowledgeable on any thing you may ask regarding Bangkok. The staff here take pride in their job and it is clear customer satisfaction is important to them. Yes a more substantial breakfast would have been nice but it all comes back to what you pay. Do not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

It is my first time to Asia. Yes, it was a little hard to find. Bring the map and you will get here. The room is very nice and clean. Fast internet in my room.
The front desk person speaks wonderful English! I arrived and said things I would like to do. I got here on a Tuesday and wanted to see Muay Thai at Lumpini stadium. She got tickets delivered for less than what I would have paid at the stadium and they were delivered in 20 minutes. She gave me great directions to places... Sure helpful when new to a region.
I'm so happy I'm extending my stay so I can do more in Bangkok.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

- very friendly and very helpful host!!
- simple, but very clean rooms
- simple breakfast (toast, juice, yoghurt)
- no elevator
- restaurants, street markets and cookshops nearby in Silom Road
- 1:30h from airport (sky train and air rail link)
- 3 stations with BTM (sky train) to river then 20-30 minutes with boat to king's palace or Khao San Road
- 30' to with BTM (sky train) to Siam Paragon shopping center
- avoid taxi, traffic in Bangkok is heavy, especially during the rush hour
- many japanese guests in hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jx7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

This is a great little place in busy Bangkok. It's a little tricky to find (our taxi driver got lost and had to ask for directions) but once there we knew we'd made the right choice.

The room was spotlessly clean - the bed was very comfy and the bath towels were nice and thick (a first during our travels).

Breakfast was good - it's a help yourself continental which was fine for us. And a plus was having free tea/coffee available throughout the day.

Laundry is done in house - our clothes came back wonderfully clean and fresh.

The staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable and gave us some excellent advice.

It's close to Convent Rd which has great street food and near Patpong Rd. The BTS Skytrain and Metro are only a 5 - 10 minute walk away and the bank / ATM is a 5 minute walk. For somewhere so central we were pleased by how quiet it was - there was no street noise at all.

We're hoping to return in January 2013 on our way to Northern Thailand and can happily recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodbutcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012 via mobile

Our second time in BKK we went for the same area as the first Silom as we know it quite well and was easy to get around on the Skytrain. Even though the hotel is out of the way and in a quiet area its about a 5min walk to the night market and skytrain stop Saladeng.
The lady at reception was so friendly and helped us and advised us as much as possible which we really appreciated!
The room was nice 4a right at the top so nice and quiet very clean and A NICE SOFT BED WITH 2 PILLOWS AND A DUVET! So nice it felt like we were in a nice bed from home and in 7 weeks in in S.E Asia we have never had 2 pillows :)

Really cosy and homely would definitely stay here again if we had the chance!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Baan Silom
Baan Silom
#253 of 1,186 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Silom
Baan Saladaeng
Baan Saladaeng
#109 of 628 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Silom
The Cube Hostel
The Cube Hostel
#30 of 1,186 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Silom One
Silom One
#27 of 628 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Silom
Pula Residence
Pula Residence
#240 of 1,186 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Silom
No photo provided
bnb@Silom
#382 of 1,186 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban House

Property: Urban House
Address: 35/13 Soi Yommarat Saladaeng | Road Silom Bangkok, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 1,186 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Urban House 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban House, opened in February 2006, is located on Saladaeng, Silom – the heart of Bangkok’s business, tourist and entertainment district, provides you a cozy and clean accommodation in a relaxing atmosphere for both business and leisure travelers. Within walking distance, you may find shopping malls, major attractions, embassies, first class hotels, banks, restaurants, night market (Patpong,) Suanlum night bazzar, and recreation area (Lumpini Park). Since it is close to BTS skytrain station (Saladaeng), underground MRT station (Silom), it is very convenient and easy to access to all parts of the city. Amenities: - Air-conditioning (individually controlled) - Refrigerator - Complimentary drinking water (one bottle per person per day) - Television / Cable TV - Bathroom en suite - Linen / towels - Soap / shampoo - Key card access - Hi-speed internet / telephone/ fax facilities in the lobby - Continental Breakfast (7am – 10 am) - Free coffee (7am - 8pm) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Urban House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban House Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing