We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
YHA Bangkok Downtown
Ranked #395 of 1,346 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Reviewed 22 February 2011

I stayed at YHA for a couple days at the begininng of my trip and again at the end.

The hostel itself looks very small from the outside but you will learn it actually has 5 floors. The rooms are small and clean and the sleep is comfortable. The bathrooms are communal and very small. The bathroom on the second floor was in need of some minor repair but the other floors were better. The only complaint I have about the washrooms is that there was not an electrical outlet close by for use of electric razor.

The location is ideal for people looking to explore the city because it is about 1 block away from a Skytrain station. It's also around the corner from the infamous Patpong night market. During the day you can find numerous street food vendors just around the corner where you can have delicious meals for about $1 USD. It is aslo close to banking area making it easy to access your international accounts.

This hostel is very secure, having a main door lock with key card access (turned on after midnight). Then a lobby door with keyed entry and then a deadbolt lock on the room door.

There is a small common area where you can sometimes find people playing cards or using the free wifi. The wifi is not very good in the rooms but strong in the common area. I found the hostels set up is not very condusive to a social environment, we ran into many people who were just staying for one night before going somewhere else.

The staff are very helpful in getting you around Bangkok and getting you what you need. On our last day they had no problems with us leaving our bags there for the majority of the day while we waited for flight. Most places are good to do this for a few hours but for extended periods.

Overall I recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jam1king
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2010

For the same amount I paid for a gorgeous room in Phuket with Tv and views etc, the YHA Bangkok provided me with a dark dingy room with very basic bathroom (shower over the toilet and metal dish basin) with no tv.
It was clean but no view.
Only attraction is the location: which was on the airport bus route.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancescaSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2009

This YHA claims to be the smallest hostel, and it sure is. The staff are very friendly and helpfull. But the rooms are like prison cells. great for travellers on a buget who dont mind sleeping in a box room.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lash2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

This location worked great for us with kids, as we wanted to be away from the backpacker craziness, but it is right on the skyrail 2 stops from river taxi and 1 stop from metro. Manager very helpful and cleaning staff very friendly. Wifi worked in our room, but won't be reliable since it was from a neighboring building. Great bathrooms and showers, everything nice and clean. Note that hot water and A/C only available from roughly 9PM - 9AM.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VermontTravelers09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank EduardoBrunaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keep_on_exploring_ye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janka90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
The Urban Age Hostel
The Urban Age Hostel
#897 of 1,346 in Bangkok
87 reviews
Silom
Puck Hostel
Puck Hostel
#223 of 1,346 in Bangkok
32 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 890 in Bangkok
8,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Bangkok Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Bangkok Downtown

Address: 395/4 Naradhivas Rajanakarindra Rd. | Silom , Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #395 of 1,346 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: £10 - £13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — YHA Bangkok Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple hostel in the heart of the city. All private room , air condition , free wifi , free breakfast , 2 min walk to skytrain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your YHA Bangkok Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing