We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
iCheck inn Mayfair Pratunam
Ranked #304 of 880 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 10 March 2009

We stayed here for four nights. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The shower cubicles are very large and with all the toiletries necessary. The negative was the breakfast. Each day there was a couple of cold fried eggs lying. Another day there was a surprise awaiting. There was also two boiled eggs awaiting. As there were only about 20 guests the Westerners had to make a mad dash for those two eggs! I lost. On the third day I asked if I could have an egg as there were no eggs in sight and was rewarded with two eggs. I still do not know if you were supposed to ask daily or make a run for the only egg on the hot-plate, which was actually stone-cold. There was soup and salad however but my stomach cannot cope with such food at breakfast. There was also chicken. The breakfast lady never appeared to do any replenishing of foods ie. tell the kitchen what was required. They were supposed to guess at this through the wall. So the fault lay with the breakfast staff and not the kitchen. Everything else was super but do not expect much of a breakfast. The free tuk-tuk takes you part of the way to the sky-train which is a must for getting around and it is air-conditioned. After the tuk-tuk you have to walk 12-15 mins. which does not sound a long walk but it is when humidity is high. However, I would still return here as a short tuk-tuk and a short walk is ok. The Paragon is a wonderful shopping experience. Any hotel near the sky-train is a must.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enquiries661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (675)
There are newer reviews for iCheck inn Mayfair Pratunam
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

382 - 388 of 675 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2009

Pros
The hotel is new, and clean. It has free wifi internet and if you do not bring your laptop along, you could use the computer at the lobby. It has free tuk tuk shuttle to and from the main road. It has free massage for one hour for two. On the package that I got, it has free breakfast. It gives 2 free bottled water daily. It is located adjacent to a convenience store at the back street. It has a small but adequate gym and the roof top has a view of the pratunam area.
Cons
The area where it is located is a semi residential, semi industrial. There isn’t much to see at its immediate surroundings. On my last two days, the house keeping did not replenish the usual shampoo, body wash, soap, coffee, tea, sugar, and facial tissue. I had to call the front desk to give me the supply, worse yet, I have to do it for two days, unbelievable! The hotel has to take action on this if they do not want to receive bad reviews. The rooms are independently air-conditioned that if you leave the hotel releasing the card key on its slot, all electrical equipments will shut down except for the ref. That means, when you arrive back, the room is hot and only when you slip the card key in will the aircon turn on and it takes awhile before the room cools to a comfortable level. I tried once to keep the card key at its slot when I left the room bringing along the extra key, but the housekeeping still removes it. The problem is, Thailand is a hot and humid county and you’d appreciate that when you arrive at your room, it is cold enough.
Reviews
This hotel is hard to find. After reading some reviews on this hotel about most taxi drivers getting lost on the way to the hotel, I was compelled to contact the hotel directly by email and had to request for a scanned map and calling card written in Thai. When I arrived at the airport and took the taxi, I showed the map and address (calling card) written in Thai to the driver but the taxi driver either do not know how to read or was blurry-eyed that he had to ask me to mention the name of the hotel. When I mentioned the name of the hotel, it did not ring a bell and I had to mention that it is close to “First Hotel at Pratunam”, only then when he knew where to go. When we arrived at the Pratunam district, taxi driver got lost as the streets in Pratunam are one-way. I had to inform him that from the main road, he had to enter Soi Phethburi 11 street and after a block, turn right and on the next block, turn left (at Soi Phetburi 13 street). When we finally arrived there, the hotel was like a gem in the middle of a quiet neighbourhood. It is new, clean and well designed. I could understand why most taxi drivers do not know the hotel as it is obviously new. When I arrived at room 801, it is clean and well designed and not a spot of it is old. The room is big enough, bigger than other rooms in other Pratunam hotels. It has a flat screen TV with numerous English channels; it has a channel directory, but was not according to what was written. The aircon takes awhile before it cools to a comfortable level (I think it needs cleaning). In the morning after, I was excited to have breakfast and was curious of what was offered and wanted to confirm if all that negative comments about its breakfast was true. Whe I got there, the buffet breakfast was complete for me, daily it has scrambled eggs, bologna, sausages, vegetable salad with 4 different dressings, loaf bread, croissant, cereal, butter, jams, coffee, tea, milk, juice, water, soup, rice, fruits, yoghurt and a meat and vegetable dish. Although, they only simply make variations of the meat/vegetable dish, soup and rice daily and have the others served the same daily, with the diminutive amount that I paid for the room, that buffet breakfast was already a bonus and is quite unfair to be given a negative comment. In fact, other hotels nearby offers rooms with higher rates without a free breakfast. When we went for shopping, we took the complementary tuk tuk shuttle to and from the hotel. If you want to experience riding the tuk tuk, believe me, take the complementary tuk tuk of the hotel instead of the regular tuk tuks at the streets, you will free yourself from the mischievous and irritating haggling for overpriced fare. I usually request the driver to drop us off at the end of Soi Phethburi 15 where you would find Burger King. From there, its just a few minutes away from the malls and Pratunam market. When going back to the hotel, remember this tip, keep a calling card and 2 Baht coin handy. Near Burger King (at the end of Soi Phetburi 15), you would find public telephone booths where you’d be able to contact (with just 2 Baht) the front desk and request that the tuk tuk driver fetch you. I find the telephone booth by the name of “TRUE” user friendly. Believe me, taking the hotel tuk tuk is very convenient rather than walk back to the hotel from the main road with its hot and dark streets. There is a convenience store at the back street of the hotel, cheap store for buying water and other drinks. The hotel offers free massage but book it up upon check-in as it is full daily. From 12 PM to 6 PM daily, you can lounge at the Millenio Cafe and have complementary coffee and tea. The hotel has a small but adequate gym with a view at the roof deck. The roof deck is great for having a view of the Pratunam district. The sales manager by the name of Ms. Chatchadaporn attended to me promptly when she saw the front desk was very busy, she was very friendly and attended to my requests for arrangements when I check out, she arranged getting me a taxi and even gave me two food boxes to be eaten at the airport when she found out that I won’t be able to avail of my last free breakfast meal (apparently I was booked to check out on Feb 22 when I have to leave at 9PM of Feb 21 to catch a 12 midnight flight back to my country), that’s so sweet! That alone made me want to get back to this hotel when I am back to Bangkok.

Quick tip
If you want to go to the Grand Palace, wear closed shoes, long pants, and a conservative top or you will not be permitted to enter. Bring a hat or umbrella as it is so hot and humid.

If you want to buy inexpensive items of about anything, go to Big C mall, Also, if you want to eat a lot, on its 4th level, you can have a cheap authentic Thai and International meal cooked in front of you at 25 to 55 Baht a meal.

Go to the Sea World located at the basement level of Siam Paragon Mall, it is a great experience!

If you need to go to a currency exchange, go to a shop with name “The Best Exchange”, here the rates are the best in all Pratunam. It is located at 122 Rachaprarop Road, it is at the end of Soi Phethburi 19, the Tuk Tuk drivers of the hotel knows where it is.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smarttravellerhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2008

As a normal experience traveller would do, check on all review with regards to the hotel; and compare/varify it the moment you check-in. Well, what all reviews failed to inform me is that it also offer free 1 hour massage!! Aside from the fact that their staff was superbly friendly & helpful, the hotel was amazingly clean (clean toilet too), the decor was brightly simple, facilities was top, well... there's no end to it.

The hotel was small though and located slightly inwards of the main road, we got a hang of walking to BTS Skytrain - Ratchathewi Station (15mins walk) or to the wholesale area (10 mins walk too). Not to worry, if you're tired, you can give a call to the hotel and they will pick you up from the main street with in-house Tuk Tuk.

There is also a Convenient Store located next to it (back road), next to the massage spa. This road also leads to plenty of 7-11 stores, the market and wholesale mall - back door. Good area for you to try and grab local delights.

As for shopping, well... the location says it all. Ladies wholesale market, Platinum Mall, Central World, Erawan Mall, Paragon, MBK, Siam Square, Hard Rock Cafe etc etc. Imagine it as a square area, and if you have the feet for walking, you can walk the whole square whole day (wear good shoe though as it can be tiring, but then again; massage spa is everywhere!). Oh yah! You do not need to change train to get to the famous Chatuchak Weekend Market as it is on the same line (Mo Chit Station - talk about convenient.

Btw, the massage might be seasonal/on promo, hence we were the lucky few! Hope its on--going and forever though :-D

Even though it's far from main street, it's still near to the shopping area, and even though its located in the busiest area, it is still quiet & peaceful.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LilySidariani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2008

If you don't mind that the hotel does not have a pool this is good value for money. Friendly, clean and a breakfast above average for a hotel in this price-range. Wireless internet. High bed standard and a quite large bathroom. Medium size in-door safe.
This months offer was a free hour of thai-massage at the small spa, we really enjoyed it! There is also a small restaurang and they have room service until midnight.
The hotel is down a tiny backstreet and you would not expect a hotel of this standard in these surroundings. However, it is very close to the major shopping streets and the hotel tuc-tuc will take you for free the 350 meters down to the major street. It is a 5-10 minutes walk down to the closest sky-train station.
Recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank swedishtraveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2008

I think this place opened in the summer of 2008, so everything is nice and new. The only problem is the location... it's so far from the main road and the Sky Train station. And the main road is this massive 8-lane noisy street. Not a pleasant area, but the street the hotel is on is actually very quiet.

The bed is very comfortable... not rock-hard which you typically find in Thai hotels. They have free internet in the lobby. They have a Tuk Tuk, but it won't take you to the station... only to the main road.

The rooms are quite small, and the standard room is really only suitable for one person.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank maynard7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2008

It was brand new budget hotel locate at the city area. The hotel is very near to the high street shopping area. Since it was just open for few months, so you can see everything available in the hotel is brand new and looks trendy compare to the nearest budget hotel. Overall I found is worth to stay as you are paying budget cost and the service you get from the staff is worth 5 stars. The hotel staff and management were very nice, friendly and helpful. Bravo and kept it up !!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank chuncun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2008

My family and I stayed at this hotel for 11 nights strait. Bangkok was the last station in our trip prior to departure Thailand. We needed the comforts and tranquility. I was told that there was a newly inaugurated hotel in Bangkok and that what I did . The Hotel was just open officially around end of July and we were there around mid August.

I must say that the hotel was excellent in all terms , located just behind the largest shopping district of Bangkok. That suited us very well. We need to do our shopping without using Taxi.

Two things worried us so much; the area surrounding the hotel is not clean. You will smell bad smells while walking to the hotel. The other point is that the hotel is tiny and has small rooms in size and quantities. That created bad situation for us especially when our friends came from Phucket . The hotel is not children friendly at all. Nothing for our little partners to do. No swimming pool , no game room , to space at all. We had to take our children out of the hotel every time we go because there were two compliant about our children.

We tried the restaurant only 2-3 times . Breakfast – nothing special , the basic stuff , the dinner was also fine but not much either.

At the end I must thank all staff and management for their kind assistance. Every one at the hotel welcomed us and gives us warm welcome. They are really assets to the hotel industry.
.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Khalifa_161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Cubic Pratunam
#740 of 880 in Bangkok
59 reviews
Hotel de Bangkok
#260 of 880 in Bangkok
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Top High Airport Link Hotel
#378 of 880 in Bangkok
31 reviews
Phayathai
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
#336 of 880 in Bangkok
62 reviews
myhotel Pratunam
#482 of 880 in Bangkok
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iCheck inn Mayfair Pratunam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iCheck inn Mayfair Pratunam

Address: 36 Phethburi Soi 13 , Phethburi Road | Phaya Thai, Rajthewee, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mayfair Suites)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#74 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £20 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — iCheck inn Mayfair Pratunam 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
iCheck inn Mayfair Pratunam is located in the heart of Business Center, Banking, Fashionable, and Street shopping of Pratunam area. With in a radius of a kilometer and a half to all major tourist attractions e.g. Central World, M.B.K. Hall, Siam Discovery, Siam Paragon, Siam Square, Central Department Store, Rachprasong Intersection, and only a few steps from the hotel to Baiyoke Arcade, Pratunam Shopping Arcade, and Platinum Fashionable Plaza. The hotel also provides a complimentary Shuttle Tuk Tuk from the hotel to Pratunam Shopping Arcade and main street with 24 hours service. Tastefully decorated rooms are available as standard, superior, or deluxe and are equipped with a satellite TV, mini bar, and high speed Internet access. The in-house Millennio Cafe, Cocktail Lounge, and Coffee Shop are great places to wine and dine. Daily breakfast is served from 7.00 to 10.00 am. A 8 storey modern designed hotel consists of 3 room types:- Standard Room (7 rooms), Superior Room (14 rooms), and Deluxe Room (28 rooms) with full international standard furnitures, facilities, and amenities. The hotel also provides the best International and Thai cuisine named "Millennio Café" and Tangerine Spa/Thai Massage. A complimentary Wi-Fi High Speed Internet Access both in rooms and common areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your iCheck inn Mayfair Pratunam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mayfair Hotel Bangkok
Best Western Bangkok
Bangkok Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing