We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Regent Silom Hotel
Ranked #790 of 1,335 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Booked my hotel stay for 3 nights at hotels.com, which is a quite reputable and known site. When I arrived near midnight, I was told by the hotel staff that they didn’t have my reservation and don’t even have a contract with hotel.com. I even had my confirmation on my iphone, but it was not good enough. It was a hassle trying to get a thai sim card for my American phone and having to call hotels.com to resolve the issue. The true issue was the hotel losing my reservation…they finally checked me in after an hour of pain at 1 am.

The location is awesome, right is the center of busy silom area and very close to subway. The room is very basic…air con didn’t work well either. I would only recommend staying they for a short time if you want to be in the middle of silom.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sergeipdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

BEWARE - This hotel is sited within a teeny square accessed via a little alley where you walk thru massage parlour. As such, the so-called "Superior" rooms do NOT have windows. ALL rooms are badly designed with air-con fan coil over the doorway but the bed(s) are tucked into another corner. So the air-con cannot cool the bed area. Bangkok is very hot most time of the year.

Staff are very nasty - they cancelled my room which was FULLY PAID because I kicked up a fuss about (1) the bad design of rooms which deprives guests of air-con comfort and (2) unethical non-disclosure of No-Windows for Superior Rooms.

Room Tip: Avoid Regent Silom Hotel altogether. Bangkok has loads of other hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fi33ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

You can get 10 times more upgrade with the same price in other hotels nearby the area. We pre-booked 2 days here and had thoughts to not continue staying. Bed and bathroom with basic table plus refrigerator are all you can have in a deluxe room. Shower is bad as well as the cabinet. Very small room. However, basic set breakfast is good though not as good as others. Not my type of hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Basic no frills accomodation. Stayed 5n. As mentioned by others, it is just a few steps away from sala daeng bts skytrain which makes getting around bangkok easy. Good security and decent wifi connection.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justdabest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed there on my first trip to Bangkok .
Bts sala daeng is right in front of the hotel door step. The silom night market and path phong is just 20steps away! How amazing. The front desk speaks good English. Plus there's a 10% off thai massage from Saba thai massage home which is at the hotel lobby. Convenient! Had them every evening after long day of shopping. For travelers and backpackers. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RaziyahRahim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stated at Regents for three nights and not once we got a smile from the receptionists. The place is convenient but lacks of personality.
There is no electrical outlets in the room. If you wan to plug your lap-top, you have to unpug the desk lamp or the TV.
Shower curtain in my room 309 were torn and the sink is too small

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Stayed here 5 years ago and had an amazing weekend- Its well located near shops, bars, markets etc and well placed for the MRT- 20 seconds away.
That's the o\good news. Also I paid 1400 Baht a night which isnt bad.
The room is very basic and a bit dusty. Clean on the surface but surfaces and furniture chipped and not very nice. Shower OK but cold water and took a while to adjust to prevent water spraying the (already) slippy floor.
Noise is bad- you can hear pretty much everything from the corridor. TV reception not great, only a few english channels and usually Thai hotels have better TVs selection.
Bed hard and not comfortable, 2 thin pillows. Breakfast the absolute minimum.
I broke a room glass and left 20 baht for this (as well as a 100 baht tip for the cleaner which was good as the room was not cleaned during my 2 night stay) and there was a frantic phone call when i was leaving to pay for the glass. I didnt have the energy to explain I had left money so just left. I had packed the glass up carefully to avoid the çleaner''cutting herself.
Some things are best left in the past and the Regent is one of them. It's very well located and for a single traveller who wants to dump bags and go out, it's fine. It would not take much to make the rooms look better- some paint, coloured cushions, more interested desk staff.
2 stars for price and location.

Room Tip: windowless wasnt that bad actually- got a good sleep and the view will not be great anyway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank schemie2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
D Varee Diva Bally Silom, Bangkok
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 887 in Bangkok
8,540 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent Silom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Silom Hotel

Address: 60 / 15 Silom Road, Suriyawong, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #790 of 1,335 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regent Silom Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Regent Silom, the affordable hotel in the heart of Bangkok, Silom area. All comfortable guestrooms at The Regent are provided all common facilities for a comfortable stay for both Leisure and Business Traveler with our comprehensive services to fulfill your journey. The Regent Hotel is located in Silom area with a few step walk in to BTS Sky train station and MRT. Guest can conveniently access to all major points of interests and Bangkok Tourist Attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Regent Silom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bangkok Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing