We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Functional Accomodations” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ivory Suvarnabhumi Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ivory Suvarnabhumi Bangkok
Ranked #435 of 845 Hotels in Bangkok
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Functional Accomodations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

This hotel hits it on the nail for a functional stay by the Bangkok Suvarnabhumi Airport. It's literally 10 minutes away and the hotel has car service to pick you up and drop you off at the airport. I didn't have the breakfast but I did try food from the cafe that was delightful, especially for the price.

Only issues:
- This was yet another hotel in SE Asia that catered to the male counterparts of my party. I (young female) handled all the bookings but all questions were directed to the males of my group.
- Not that responsive on email. I had a question about how to get to the hotel from the old Don Meang Airport. I sent an email two weeks prior to the trip and did not hear back until I tried emailing again days before my booking.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    132
    67
    11
    6
See reviews for
19
52
26
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vientiane
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

The Ivory Suvarnabhumi is ideal for somebody needing easy access to Bangkok International Airport. Though the airport is just about 2 km away aircraft noise is non-existent.

What added to our time getting to the hotel from the airport was the thirty-minute wait for the free airport pick-up service. The driver was very apologetic though.

The hotel is compact, but with rooms that are surprisingly spacious, comfortable and spotless. What I liked best was the bright and cheerful colour chosen. Ivory naturally.

Staff at the hotel were at a minimum and I wondered if these were serviced apartments. However, the front office person did try hard tracking down a telephone number for us.

There is a restaurant in front of the building but I didn’t think it was part of the hotel and anyway, the fare offered was extremely limited in choice. We checked in at about 9.30 pm and then went in search of something to eat, but there was nothing to be found. For Bangkok, the streets were surprisingly deserted. I got the impression that it was an industrial area with a lot of warehouses that were locked for the night.

This is a hotel that has to be accessed by taxi.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WowLao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

It is about 10 minutes from the airport by car. The room is clean and well maintenance. Staff are trustworthy and reliable. I forgot some of my thing in the room during my stay. When I called back the hotel receptionist informed me that they kept it in a safe place and wait for my contact back. There is a taxi service from hotel to the airport. It is a value for money hotel. I will stay there again.

Room Tip: Request for a room in the southern building that is not located close to the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kriangc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melaniehookuk
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

This was a really good little hotel,quite near the airport, The rooms were very clean and modern and the bathroom spotless too. The welcome and service were particularly good for tired travellers, with people carrying cases and taxis arranged. The little restaurant was good as they cooked up tasty dishes even late at night and the breakfasts were freshly cooked and presented well too. Our only problem was that the second time we visited the taxi driver could not find the hotel -not the fault of the hotel. When we first arrived the first time the hotel fetched us from the airport and this would always be the best option in such a huge city with sprawling suburbs.. There are no restaurants etc nearby so I would think it best for a short stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melaniehookuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Been coming here 3 times a year since they opened 3 years ago. Basic but great value and desk staff (especially night shift and Tookta in particular) very helpful.

Awful restaurant at whatever time, but if you go 3 minutes towards town centre you have various eateries and a Tesco Lotus or go towards airport and you have others and a Family Mart. Taxi is 150 baht to airport.

The porter is a real character....

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zardoz59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

this hotel is very clean and the rooms very spacious. it was always nice to stay here when we have just an overnight in Bangkok as it is very close to the international airport. The only downside is it is quite far from all the attractions and has not service to the metro or skytrain. Breakfast is included as is a pickup from the airport. We stayed at this hotel the last time in 2011 but did stay there for a few years prior.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dabblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

I stayed at the hotel for two nights and the room, bed, furniture and bathroom was very clean. The only problem was that the shower in the bathroom barely put out any water, so no refreshing shower with water pressure there. And I've stayed in hostels that had better showers. The other problem was that there was no stores or restaurants next to or nearby the hotel. There was just a lot of dark alleys. Otherwise, I had at it on whatever was in the fridge in my room. The hotel does have a restaurant, and the food is edible, nothing to rave about. For airport transfer, there is no airport shuttle to take you back and forth from and to the hotel to the airport. You have to ask the hotel for airport transfer and in total costs 300THB. I tried to order food to my room but the hotel said that I had to come down to the lobby and order. Not like there was even a menu in my room anyways. So, the only menus they had were for other restaurants, not for their own. Not an awesome experience, but like I said, cheap, clean place, near the airport.

Room Tip: Ask to check the rooms before checking in and the shower water pressure. Also, ask them about how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angelinajoel06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangkok
0.5 mi away
Golden Jade Suvarnabhumi
Golden Jade Suvarnabhumi
#291 of 845 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent Suvarnabhumi Hotel
Regent Suvarnabhumi Hotel
#639 of 845 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cottage Suvarnabhumi
The Cottage Suvarnabhumi
#379 of 845 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Siam Place Airport Hotel
Siam Place Airport Hotel
#447 of 845 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Bangkok
The Phoenix Hotel Bangkok
#293 of 845 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vismaya Suvarnabhumi Resort
Vismaya Suvarnabhumi Resort
#2 of 5 in Racha Thewa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ivory Suvarnabhumi Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivory Suvarnabhumi Bangkok

Property: The Ivory Suvarnabhumi Bangkok
Address: 2/1-2/2 Latkrabang 22 Rd, Latkrabang | Suvarnabhumi Airport, Bangkok 01520, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #435 of 845 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ivory Suvarnabhumi Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Ivory Suvarnabhumi Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ivory Suvarnabhumi Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Ivory Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing