We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great location”
Review of Swan Hotel Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swan Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #467 of 880 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed as part of a big group and the hotel was very nice. We got to the hotel and there appeared to be a mix up with our original reservation as we had previously booked over the phone the day before. However on arrival they sorted all 15 of us in rooms of a good quality. The rooms were a decent size, very clean and modern.

The bathroom was very bright and again clean. The hot water only works during certain timings but this wasnt too much of a problem. I think it comes on about 4 hrs in the morning and then the same in the evening.

We had dinner and breakfast here and both times the food was lovely so no complaints there. Dinner in particular was very nice. The restaurant is small however so I am not sure how they would accommodate all the guests if they wanted to eat breakfast there. There are a few more seats and tables outside the restaurant with a view of the swimming pool.

We didnt have time it try the swimming pool so I cannot comment on it but it looked clean.

Wifi is chargeable, I think it was something like 200 Baht for 12 hours. You need to log onto the website and add a code then when you are not using it log off, I have only ever seen this at one other hotel before in Paris and it can get a little annoying at times.

The hotel is in a great location in order for you to explore Bangkok.

Overall it was a great stay and I have no complaints whatsoever!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Swan Hotel Bangkok
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

I spent about 2 weeks overall at the Swan during Jan./Feb. of this year. It was a tad overpriced but not distressingly so. Rooms are OK, decent pool, small restaurant with a small bar (closes about 2200), and a small internet cafe (but you will be charged extra by the hour or half hour). Overweight, out of shape barbarians beware-there are no elevators! Some of the staff speak passable English and I think one member spoke a little Japanese. My biggest language issue, as a native English speaker, wasn't with the staff. It was with the well-heeled, arrogant European non-native English speakers who were sometimes demanding & abusive in speaking with the poorly-paid Thai staff. Hell, I couldn't understand their English at times - how did they expect these poor Thais to do so?

For budget, backpacker travellers coming into Thailand (via Bangkok) for the first time, I might suggest this: spend the first two nights at the Swan and then get a budget hostel place or go to wherever you're going to (e.g. the south beaches).

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JhongliCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

stayed here for 3 days, lovely pool, good food, good prices all round. oldish but clean. had a small bug attack, small ants in room, could have got the hotel to spray but just lived with them.
very helpful with storing luggage and early check in. close to ferry, longish walk to sky train, location is great and taxis cheap.
just round the corner is the oriental nice for high tea and jazz in the evening. 2 blocks away is the state tower sky bar and within a good walk is the golden budha, railway station and river city.
my 4 star rating is relative to the fantastic price at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank filip l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

For a middle range hotel in Bangkok area, Swan Hotel is the best choice to stay. Located in Charoen Krung street give a plus point and close to anywhere. Few minutes walk to the pier that will take us to the Chao Phraya river transportation experience, less than 7 minutes to the busy night life along the Silom Soi, just 11 minutes walk to Lumphini Park and more and less 15 minutes walk to the skytrain. The room was quite big with a standard amenities, clean, the staff are very helpful and the pool is the best spot in this hotel after a long hot day especially during March-April. Highly recommended this hotel for it value and location ^_^

Room Tip: choose the rooms with pool side view!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mas_ari83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

Great staff. Comfy big bed. Stayed in a double room. Pool is a plus after being out in the oppressive Bangkok in may heat. Tv has some English channels. Al jazzera bbc and a movie channel. Stayed here at the end of a three month trip. Anyone who poorly rates this hotel needs to adjust their expectations of Thai mid range hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BlindCreek1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Two friends and I just returned from a week in the beautiful country of Thailand.We stayed the first three nights in The Swan in Bankok.The Swan is a two story Hotel that is very well maintained and has incredible surroundings.The room I stayed in was 111 on the first floor.This property has no elevators but really is not a hinderance unless you have a physical health issues.The room was a king size room with the basic anemities for your average Thailand property.My view was pool side which made it convient to check on the patrons at the pool.The pool is absolutely beautiful,clean and immaculate.We met the owner of the property and he went out of his way to accomodate our request.The location is convient to the river and several small shopping areas.The staff during the day is incredible,however,after midnight I would caution anyone about making any plans with the front desk.Every night we came in late employees were either dosing or totaly asleep.I would recommend considering this property for the price and location in Bankok.

Room Tip: The breakfast at the Swan was included in the room price but dont expect your normal Thai selection...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glynr34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We have stayed in many hotels in Bangkok, but this one was great. The staff were very good, the location was good if you wanted a quite location, but close to the river and short 15 min walk to the skytrain.
The pool was always very clean, and never really busy due tothe size of the hotel.
The breafast was basic, but okay, and the rooms were big, but a little dated. We would stay again, nice hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Win Long Place Hotel & Apartment
Silom
Oriental Heritage Residence
Oriental Heritage Residence
#335 of 880 in Bangkok
16 reviews
Silom
Bossotel Bangkok
Bossotel Bangkok
#290 of 880 in Bangkok
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Pas Cher Hotel de Bangkok
Pas Cher Hotel de Bangkok
#332 of 880 in Bangkok
180 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
River View Guest House
River View Guest House
#340 of 880 in Bangkok
380 reviews
Silom
Intown Residence
Intown Residence
#786 of 880 in Bangkok
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel Bangkok

Address: 31 soi Charoenkrung 36 Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #467 of 880 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £19 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Swan Hotel Bangkok 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Swan Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing