We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value!”
Review of Swan Hotel Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swan Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #430 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent value!”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We had just stayed in a 5* hotel for a night in bangkok and had booked after looking in a brochure. When we got there the room looked nothing like on the photo and we were initially very put off. However as the days went by we gradually started to love the hotel. The pool was great the food was excellent and so was the service! The place was SPOTLESS which was all I was bothered about! The only nagging thing was that wifi wasn't free and you had to pay for it by the hour. With a little bit of modernising this place could be the best value in bangkok!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eden r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    81
    70
    32
    7
See reviews for
50
77
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kassel, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We just spent one night in the hotel on our way from Chiang Mai to Cambodia. The room was very basic and hasn't seen a refurbishment for a while. The breakfast was ok. The staff was very unfriendly and not very cooperative. A waiting taxi driver in the lobby finally helped us finding our next transport. Wifi is not free which was very unusual on our trip. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sascha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

The hotel is nice and quiet, and located in Silom, near the river with its cheap and frequent river taxis, and within walking distance of Patpong night market.
The room was clean and neat, if a little sparse.
The best things about the place were walking into the airconditioned lobby, and the large pool surrounded by palms and potted plants. If tempted to stay here ask for a poolside room.
Unfortunately we felt let down by the attitude of some of the staff, particularly at reception and the restaurant. In a land characterised by its peoples' smiles we found most of the staff at this hotel moody and unwelcoming, which is not what you want from a hotel. There's also no free wi-fi, and the breakfast buffet was pretty grim.
With these issues resolved it would be a half-decent mid-range hotel. As it was we felt we wouldn't be going back in a hurry.

Room Tip: Ask for a poolside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelspruit
Level Contributor
92 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

stayed again for 2nights in feb, simple, clean, very well priced, good location, 400m to river boats, 10-15min walk to mrt station, 5min to oriental hotel for high tea and jazz, 5min to sirocco from hangover. 30min walk to main train station and 10 min to robinson mall with night market and lots of food stalls and bigmac there as well.
great pool and its clean.
old need refurbishing, clean, only hot water at certain hours, beakfast has fresh fruit, juice, omlette or american and some local food, more than adequate.
i was given a free wifi voucher with my room.
well priced basic but very good. i given it top marks based on price

Room Tip: rooms facing the road are bigger than the pool facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filip l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

It wasn't bad, it wasn't bad, it was just another mediocre hotel. If it's your last option: go for it, but if the have the possibility: find something better.
The rooms were clean, but very small, the breakfast was so so and the hotel is not located in a very appealing area. However, the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_en_M2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed in this hotel for five nights in January for a work conference (didn't want to stay at the conference hotel). For $50 a night, you get what you pay for, and this is not a bad thing. The rooms are very simple, but clean. There is no tub in bathroom, but it's very clean, and hot water is available four hours in the morning and four at night. The breakfast buffet is included; fruit, toast, cereal, coffee, and juice is always available, along with two hot dishes that change every morning. You can also have eggs made to order (included). The pool is very nice, big enough to swim in and good for children and adults. Very clean, with some nice sitting areas, including a rooftop garden. We had the opportunity to use the pool once at the end of the conference, and I wish we had been able to use it more often.

You get two bottles of water every morning when they clean the room. They are very stingy with this. We asked for more water to make bottles for our baby, and they wanted us to wait until morning. We ended up buying water from the cafe.

DO NOT take a ride with the taxi or tuk tuk touts who hang out in front of the hotel. They will ask for 100 baht on what would be a 35 baht ride. If you ask at the front desk, someone will walk down the street and get a taxi for you.

Overall not a bad place. We would probably stay again, if only for another work conference.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sevarem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rennes, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We appreciated to stay at this place.
The swimming was large enough to swim.
The breakfeast was good
Bed were also good.
Rooms are clean but the decoration is quite old fashion.
Hotel was quiet
With my wife we appreciated it.
Unfortunately, you have to pay for the wifi !

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lechoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Win Long Place Hotel & Apartment
Silom
Sapphirtel Inn
Sapphirtel Inn
#766 of 858 in Bangkok
30 reviews
Silom
Bossotel Bangkok
Bossotel Bangkok
#264 of 858 in Bangkok
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Intown Residence
Intown Residence
#744 of 858 in Bangkok
11 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
River View Guest House
River View Guest House
#325 of 858 in Bangkok
368 reviews
Silom
Sathorn Terrace Apartment
Sathorn Terrace Apartment
#490 of 858 in Bangkok
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel Bangkok

Property: Swan Hotel Bangkok
Address: 31 soi Charoenkrung 36 Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #430 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Swan Hotel Bangkok 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Swan Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing