We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Good”
Review of Swan Hotel Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swan Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #469 of 885 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Well worth considering for a short or long stay in Bangkok. Convenient location for river trips and the mass transit train into the shopping district. Room was 'no-frills' but adequate, and breakfast buffet was pretty good. All this for $40/day for two people...great value

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

The family room was quite cheap and that's why I decided to stay in this hotel (for the second time already). The hotel could definitely use a renovation, but for example the pool was really nice (except for a little, almost cute rat that scared the hell out of me one night ;) ). I also reallyvliked the breakfast and the restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matylda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The hotel was very clean, including the swimming pool which I noticed was cleaned and chlorinated regularly. The breakfast was reasonably good with cereal,toast, fruit juice,tea and coffee available as well as Thai food. Computers are available in the lobby for internet access at a reasonable charge. At the price, this hotel is reasonable value for money albeit somewhat unexciting and a bit dated.

Our room had a window but no balcony, but this was not the hotel's fault as I forgot to request a room with balcony. If you prefer a balcony then I recommend requesting one as some rooms do not have one. The front of the hotel has taxi and tuk-tuk drivers outside it every day touting for business the minute you walk out the door which becomes very irritating. You will get cheaper transport by walking less than 50 yards to the main road.. The staff were not unpleasant, but many spoke no English and some looked bored to death. If you don't like climbing stairs, book a low floor room as there's no lifts.

The hotel is near River City for eating out and boat trips etc, but it is not within walking distance of many shops, bars and restaurants. You may wish to note that it is however very close to a road with dozens of jewellery shops in it, which if your good lady notices could lead to some very expensive shopping :-).

Room Tip: There are no lifts in the hotel so you may wish to consider that when choosing which floor you wish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGasMeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

It's clean but a bit rundown & tired.
We got duped into booking in here after a taxi driver took us to what appear to be a Tourist Advisory Service in Bangkok, turns out it was really a sort of travel agency that booked us in at the Swan Hotel & charged us a hidden commision. The told me it was a 3 star hotel.

When we arrived it looked nothing like the flash brochure I had been shown and it was pricey at the "duped"price.
I asked the friendly Chinese guy at reception how many stars the hotel had. He just laughed and said " No stars ".

The room was clean & basic. The hotel needs a renovation.

The first thing I did was pay to use their internet and get on & book a better hotel, which I did.
At Sakul House in Sol Rambutti ( Chinatown ). Better hotel, better rooms & better location.

The staff at the Swan Hotel were friendly enough but there are better places to stay than in their hotel, for the same price or better.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dam0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

If you're going to Bagkok during summer, be sure to have a powerful air-conditioned room.
This hotel is well located for those who want to be close to the metro and the river. Just a few steps from the famous Leboa hotel skybar.
Be sure to get a card from the hotel to show the tuk tuk drivers, they won't understand if you say Swan hotel.

Room Tip: Don't get the rooms that face west during summer. the walls can get pretty hot and the air condi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marisa-MS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I come to Bangkok 3 or 4 times a year on business and always use the Swan hotel. The rooms are fairly basic but comfortable, clean and come with fridge, AC and TV. The hotel is well staffed, the breakfast is good, and the restaurant food is good too. Great little pool and out door area to relax after work or with the family after a day of exploring. Good location for river bus (200m) or sky train (5-10mins walk) so all the city is easily accessible. A great value for money hotel that serves all your needs and leaves money in your pocket to enjoy the city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We had just stayed in a 5* hotel for a night in bangkok and had booked after looking in a brochure. When we got there the room looked nothing like on the photo and we were initially very put off. However as the days went by we gradually started to love the hotel. The pool was great the food was excellent and so was the service! The place was SPOTLESS which was all I was bothered about! The only nagging thing was that wifi wasn't free and you had to pay for it by the hour. With a little bit of modernising this place could be the best value in bangkok!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eden r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Win Long Place Hotel & Apartment
Silom
Oriental Heritage Residence
Oriental Heritage Residence
#316 of 885 in Bangkok
20 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
River View Guest House
River View Guest House
#349 of 885 in Bangkok
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Intown Residence
Intown Residence
#790 of 885 in Bangkok
12 reviews
Silom
Bossotel Bangkok
Bossotel Bangkok
#294 of 885 in Bangkok
761 reviews
Silom
Pas Cher Hotel de Bangkok
Pas Cher Hotel de Bangkok
#337 of 885 in Bangkok
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel Bangkok

Address: 31 soi Charoenkrung 36 Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #469 of 885 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £18 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Swan Hotel Bangkok 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swan Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing