We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home away from home in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Saladaeng Colonnade
Ranked #214 of 1,158 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A home away from home in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

My traveling companion and I have stayed at this service apartment for many years. We typically share a two bedroom unit, which includes two comfortably sized sleeping rooms, a living room, a dining room, and a kitchen. The building is a bit aged, and some things, like the AC or the free wireless, don't always work that well. But the staff works hard, and tries to promptly respond to any problems that arise. The location is one of the best features. It's just a 5 minute walk to the Saladaeng skytrain station on Silom, yet far enough away that it's relatively quiet where the building is situated. There are convenience stores just down the street, and a great Italian restaurant right in the lobby. All in all, it's a great alternative to staying in a hotel, and feels much more cozy to have your own "home" in Bangkok.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank benz37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    68
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
21
26
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Saladaeng Colonnade last weekend, which came recommended by a friend in the small group we were travelling with. We managed to get a room for cheap on Agoda (around USD 90 - 100) a night.

At first glance, the hotel is nice and pleasant enough. Large rooms, with all the basic conveniences of a serviced suite - full sized fridge, microwave, basic cutlery, ironing board, in-room safe, Wi-Fi. However, when you get down to the details is when you notice its shortcomings.

1. The Wi-Fi on our floor was really slow, almost non-existant.

2. The towels were a light grey and of motel quality - thin and not fluffy at all.

3. They only provided one bathrobe for a double room; and it smelled like Febreeze.

4. Water pressure was quite weak.

Our first night there we hardly got any sleep because in our room (502) we could hear every flush, rinse and shower of the guests above us. We called the next morning for a room change and they gave us room 403, which did not have this problem. The room, however did have a funny smell that went away after a day. The source of the bad smell remains unknown.

The nice things:
1. Zanottis the Italian restaurant has a great dinner, it's always full, so book in advance. The rock sale and rosemary steak is delicious.

2. The staff are really helpful, efficient and FAST. A+

3. Nice location, a little off the main road so nice and quiet, walking distance to my favourite massage place on Convent Road.

I'd rate this place a very good 3 and a half star hotel with excellent service.

Room Tip: Not 502. You can hear the plumbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank myWei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
804 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,020 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

I have stayed in this neighborhood several times but never have I found such a blend of good size comfortable room, close to the BTS and at a reasonable price.

The staff was friendly and helpful in recommending massages, restaurants and temples.

You can walk to the park to exercies.

You are down a quiet soi so it is very lovely.

Some gripe about the breakfast. It is not the best but it is simple and fine.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arizonaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Good, quite location with minutes away to subway at Silom. Room, big and very clean, incl free WiFi. We had a suite with sep. bedroom.BUT why can't a nice place like this have a breakfast to be called BREAKFAST? You get to your room cold, over cooked eggs, soft butter and cold toasts. That together with lukewarm coffee and juice is not a good start of the day. No nice breakfast buffe here as in most other hotels of this standard. Change that and we will be happy to come back. That there is no minibar in the fridge, can we live with.
R and K

Room Tip: Hard madresses - Thai style, for the rest nice big rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richme1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

The location of the hotel is very good. It is in Soi Sala Daeng which is right next to Sala Daeng BTS Station. The hotel building is located in a lively area but in a quiet street. Lots of food outlets and street stalls around. Silom market and nightlife are just right the corner.

The reception area is relatively small but it is ok. Staff are very friendly. The room is spacious and very clean. The kitchen is well-equipped with all kinds of utensils. The living room is comfy. As mentioned in other reviews, the maids would bring the breakfast to room.

The only complaints are water problem and the limited TV channels. I haven't seen this problem in the other reviews. Maybe it is only my room. The water pressure is too small. The water was sometimes very hot and sometimes not hot. Anyways, it is never in the right temperature.

The Italian restaurant next to the reception is quite nice. They have relatively cheap lunch sets.

Overall, the hotel is very nice. It would have been perfect if they could fix the water pressure problem.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miraclen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
145 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

What a pleasant surprise, indeed. The hotel has a Colonial charm to it. The rooms were large and comfortable, and there was even WiFi and cable available. The breakfast was simple, but good enough to fuel one up before hitting the sights and sounds of Bangkok.

The front desk and security personnel was helpful. Special mention goes to the young lady who was on the morning shift during my stay - she was professional and spoke impeccable English.

The hotel is a mere 7 mins' walk to the Sala Daeng BTS Station. Along the way, there are quite a few stalls if you are keen to sample local cuisine.

As the neighbourhood is made up of offices, it gets rather quiet in the night and on the weekends. While it is generally safe, be careful if you are planning to walk back from the BTS Station to the hotel at night. I was harassed and robbed by a street urchin and his accomplice on motorbike. Beware of young kids pretending to sell you things, they are aggressive and are looking to pickpocket unsuspecting tourists.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jameskenglim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

We have stayed at this hotel several times over the past year, the last being in April 2011. It is conveniently located, within a few minutes walk from the BTS station. The rooms are well kept and spacious, even the studio apartments.

One good thing I'd like to point out is that they do value return customers. During my first stay there, we were upgraded to a two bedroom apartment as the studio that we had booked was unavailable. During the last trip, we were upgraded yet again.

With regards to a previous review about the unfriendliness of the security guard, I'd like to clarify that there are 2 of them. One of them is very friendly, even to me, an Asian. The other one does have an attitude, and only seems to be nice to 'non-asian' residents. I have experienced this over several stays myself.

If you stay there for more than a few days, you may get bored quickly with the limited breakfast selection. This is one of the few faults that I can find, apart from the seemingly unfriendly security guard (1 out of 2).

Overall, I would still return to the Collonade on my next trip.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TanDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
The Inn Saladaeng
The Inn Saladaeng
#309 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Silom
La Residence Bangkok
La Residence Bangkok
#387 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Silom
Baan Saladaeng
Baan Saladaeng
#111 of 616 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Baan Silom
Baan Silom
#256 of 1,158 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Silom
Silom Forest
Silom Forest
#476 of 1,158 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Silom
The Pad Silom Convent Serviced Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saladaeng Colonnade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saladaeng Colonnade

Property: Saladaeng Colonnade
Address: 21 Soi Saladaeng Silom Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 1,158 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Saladaeng Colonnade 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saladaeng Colonnade offers Bangkok serviced apartments on Saladaeng Road, which is close to Silom Road and Sathorn Road. All rooms boast antique furnishings that blend perfectly with modern amenities, such as private bathroom, flat screen TV, and DVD player. The concierge desk is open 24 hours to entertain queries and welcome arriving guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Saladaeng Colonnade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saladaeng Colonnade Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing