We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of P&R Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
P&R Residence
Ranked #67 of 616 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Our room was very spacious and clean. Bathroom worked great and was spotless. The staff were more than friendly everytime we had a question. Great location in the sense that it was literally 30sec walk to the ferry which was a major plus.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    146
    44
    12
    1
See reviews for
11
48
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Our hotel room was of a nice size, with a seperate ensuite bathroom with a western style shower and toilet. There was no problem with the hot water and free shampoo and soap was provided. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Free tea and coffee making facilities are downstairs for guests to use whenever they like.

The location is good; it's beside the pier where you can get a boat taxi to the reclining Buddha and Grand Palace for 15 baht per person on the orange express line. Some advice: when getting the boat taxi back to the hotel, walk down to pier 8 instead of using pier 9 as it is very busy.

There are some street food vendors nearby, as well as some restaurants at the River City shopping complex 5 minutes away. McDonalds is close too if you require a fast food fix.

I found Bangkok a little daunting so I was always happy to come back to this lovely hotel at the end of a busy day.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilo3282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

AREA: Smashing location almost beside the Sheraton hotel, where within 20 minutes are the other 4 of the top 5 chain hotels: Shangri La, Mandarin Oriental, Hilton, Peninsula. Set away from busy tourist and party areas on a quiet back street but not lacking in nearby dining options. Quick access via cab or tuktuk to anywhere in the city. Coffee shops nearby and many inexpensive street food options. On other side of Sheraton is massive shopping centre for further options on shopping and dining. Access to pier from the shopping centre to inter-hotel free ferry or the public pier for commuting up and down the river at 4 baht per person.
FACILITY: Wood shuttered doors, front sitting space and main dining table toward the back near the single lift, a simple and rather sparse entry hall with few decoration pieces. Free wifi throughout the location. Monthly rates available. Simple building and facilities for a decent place to stay at a good standard for a very affordable price.
ROOM: Large double size with en suite bathroom as seen in pictures. Security safe, fridge, tv with passable reception, desk, bedside tables. Carpet is worn and thin but clean. Bathroom is in good condition and well scrubbed. Towels changed daily. No complimentary features.
DINING: Breakfast served downstairs at separate cost; did not partake as there are many other options in the area for the same price.
HOSPITALITY: Welcoming but perfunctory. No one mentioned the wifi until I asked.
SERVICES: No extra apparent services, not that I asked nor did they mention.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alexandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed wd my mom here for 2 nights..this is our last city to tour befor we go back to KL n head home(davao,phils)..the hotel is not easy to locate for the first time, our taxi driver from the airport had the hard time locating it, (you can tell them its near royal sheraton hotel) but after familiarizing everything, you get the hng of it.actually bus stop is very near n you can ride the buses n mini van to other places, we went to pratunam market to buy cheap clothes and we also went to siam square and MBK.when you want to see the temples, the boat station is just 2 minute walk from the hotel.
The room in particular is not new but it is clean, of all the budget hotels we've stayed in for the past 8days during our tour, this is the largest..cleanliness is ok n the hot shower, should be turned on a minute or two to wrk well, but all in all, we are very satisfied wd our stay
The hotel also offers unlimited tea and coffee and fruits in the morning, we usually buy our breakfast at convenience store near river city, which by the way a 3-5 mins walk from the hotel(depending on how fast you walk).

Wil recommend ppl to stay here..safe.affordable.clean and big rooms:)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Skatemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Loved our stay at this hotel last April 2013 in Bangkok. We visited other places in Thailand too but when we came back in Bangkok we stayed at this hotel again. Staff were friendly, patient & helpful. Wifi is good and there's fruits and coffee in the morning and tea at night for free. Sometimes we just hang around the room; buy take-out food at the nearest 24-hour convenience store beside the RiverCity mall or in food carts nearby and eat inside the room! and we totally enjoyed thinking we're in another country!
Thanks for the memories.
We'll definitely come back soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Faye1069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

This is not a luxurious place to accommodate. This is a friendly, down to earth, worn around the edges, but immaculately clean hotel in an excellent location in the city. I do not need the luxury when I have such a wonderfully amazing city to explore and such a comfortable friendly place to go back to in the evenings. I will do it again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

My wife and I stayed here during our Thailand travels during March 2013. We finished our trip here and wanted something inexpensive but not dirty. We landed here because of price and decent reviews, and we were very happy with the hotel and staff.

I wont explain everything about the hotel Ill just do a Cons and Pros list...

***Pros***
- Inexpensive
- Elevator at the end of a long walking day or when you have luggage is very nice.
- Clean everywhere
- No "room key reader". So if your spouse wants to take a nap while you go explore for an hour in the afternoon, they don't have to either sleep with no A\C or have to be woken up when you want back in the room. Only place in Thailand that didn't have this energy saving annoyance.
- Great showers that just felt comfortable to be in
- Good wifi reception
- Inexpensive but good breakfast option (100 Baht per person)
- Service was never an issue

***Cons***
- Poor location, nothing going on around here. Need to walk 20-40 minutes or get tuk-tuk or use the ferry that is right around the corner.
- If you like falling asleep by watching TV, there isn't much/any TV channels.
- English was a little rough for them, so everything just takes a little more time

Be sure to print off this locations address to give to your taxi driver. Ideally in Thai, because its some what hard to find and if the address is in Thai it makes things as easy as possible for them.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank i3urt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Silom
Intown Residence
Intown Residence
#735 of 851 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Silom
Swan Hotel Bangkok
Swan Hotel Bangkok
#420 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Poste 43 Residence
Poste 43 Residence
#502 of 1,158 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Silom
New Road Guest House
New Road Guest House
#79 of 616 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Vera Nidhra
#64 of 616 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to P&R Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about P&R Residence

Property: P&R Residence
Address: 34 Charoenkrung 30, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 616 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — P&R Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
P&R Residence is a boutique accommodation that caters to smart travelers that require convenience, affordability and comfort. P&R Residence is located almost opposite Sipraya Pier and Royal Orchid Sheraton hotel. Traveller can enjoy an express chaophaya boat from Siphaya pier to Grand Palace, Wat Pho and Wat Arun. P&R residence is located adjacent to Royal Orchid Sheraton hotel so to wake up and walk across to Sheraton for conference is less than 1 minute away. For frequent travellers that enjoy travel around Thailand via train, we are minutes away to Hunlamphong central train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your P&R Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
p And r Residence
p&r Residence Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing