We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting for ordinary food”
Review of Vino di Zanotti

Vino di Zanotti
Ranked #1,316 of 10,782 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Italian, European, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely setting for ordinary food”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

The power cut in the middle of dinner didn't help but the staff handled it well. The food was well presented and timely and a little salty for our taste and pretty average. The setting must be what's she's the price up. The live music was professional but a bit like Muzak after a while. The Mana get and staff were very attentive. Only real complaint? The drinks. The mohito had no alcohol in it, the martinis were tiny and the white wine was everso slightly off. The manager did give us a discount on the white wine and the amarone we had was excellent. We may have caught the food on a bad night with a trainee bar tender? Not sure we'll go back but you might have better luck and for sure, a very very nice setting for a restaurant.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    8
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
warks
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“As good as the original!!”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The new location is excellent and has a great atmosphere,perhaps not as atmospheric as the original but that's just my personal opinion. We were welcomed warmly and the service remained attentive throughout. The restaurant was not too busy perhaps due to the demonstrations in Bangkok at the time. However I would be confident that the service would be excellent at anytime.

The food was excellent and portions generous. This was certainly one of the most enjoyable dinners we have had in our many years of visiting Bangkok.

The bill, £150, included 3 courses, a £50 bottle of wine and 2 glasses of fizz, pretty good by any measure!

Many thanks and see you again in April

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gluggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“One of the best Italian Restaurant in Bangkok”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The restaurant itself is set in the former Italian Embassy down Soi Suanplu. They renovated the house nicely and still keep its original charm, also set in beautiful green lawn. The staffs are very professional, informative and not too pushy like other places.
I ordered Parma Ham and Melon for starter which is really delicious. My main course is Veal Ossobuco - Milanese specialty braised veal which is also mouth-watering. Wine selection is plenty, concentrating,of course, in Italian Wine, categorizing by regions. The price is not cheap but very reasonable for the quality of food and service.
Live jazz band is performed everyday from 19.30 til 22.30. Please note that they open only for dinner and close on Monday. Next time, I would try sitting outdoor when the weather in Bangkok is a bit cooler. I would recommend this place to my friends.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keng76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“30$usd++/head for starters!!! What a start!”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I first have to state that I am a returning Customer. Been there 5 times already.
The food is really good and location is perfect in busy Bangkok.
Zanotti is a respected brand as they have several restaurants in Bkk.

Past this positive remarks. I am very upset with what happened yesterday evening.
We came 5 people for business meeting and relax in the evening.

Like almost everywhere in thailand, you experience real pushy service with servers filling up your glasses of wine like if it was water, without asking if you want some (wine starts from 50$usd a bottle...), therefore you need minimum 2 bottles for 5 paxs.
People end up drinking more than they actually want and this is dangerous.

Most importantly, and this is the concern I want to raise, we entrusted the restaurant to start with italian antipasti for 5 and then chose a main dish each.

The surprise came with the bill where we were charged 30$usd/pax on the starters...
150$usd for a lousy starter that all came in one plate!!!
Cannot justify to pay more on the starter than the main dish!!!

The whole experience cost me dearly as you cannot argue with the restaurant during a business diner. 400$usd for 5 (incl. 2 bottles of wine)

It's a shame and it's a pity because the food is good.

Of course, I will not positively advertise on the restaurant, neither go back there anytime soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
198 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
“Very good Italian”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

If you have dine at Zanotti then Vino di Zanotti has the same food, almost, but in a wonderful old house with live music every evening. When we were there it was a jazz quartet and they were good.

The food, pretty much the same menu as Zanotti with exception for tapas and the chef's set menu with several courses. Good wine selection but note that only Italian and some French wines only no American, Australian, New Zealand wines are offered. Being Thailand, with high wine tax on top of the restaurant's markup, I recommend bringing you own and pay the corkage.

Two levels with both outside, open air, and inside with a/c. The inside space feel very airy as the old house have all of it's window shutters open but the elements are kept out with the almost invisible glass , clever and works well. Upstairs has a large room suitable for private use or wine dinners which I also attended.

In the basement there's a very nice wine cellar with sofa seats to enjoy a cigar after the meal.

Will be returning soon!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pooky_TH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vino di Zanotti also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
 
Bangkok, Thailand
 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Vino di Zanotti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing