We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely delightful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #38 of 861 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Absolutely delightful!”
Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

Wanting to steer away from the usual suspects like Arnoma and Grand Diamond Hotel, which are situated on the shopping belt, we opted for Hotel Vie, a boutique hotel which seem to have gotten many good reviews. We were not disappointed.

Location wise, it is situated right next to the Ratchathewi BTS station (you can easily spot the hotel from the station). The hotel is a 5 min walk to malls such as Siam Discovery and Siam Paragon. You can also take the BTS (one stop from Siam and 2 from Chid Lom) or metered-taxi (45 baht to Platinum Mall). It's the ideal location if you want to be close enough to the shopping malls but yet not smacked right in the middle of all the hustle and bustle.

If you are coming from the airport, you can simply hop on to the City Line and alight at the final station - Phaya Thai Station. The fare costs 45 baht and takes about 40mins. For a quicker journey, you can go for the Express Line (90baht) which takes half the time as it bypasses most of the stations. However, it runs less regularly than the City Line (Express trains departs every hour whereas City Line runs frequently like a normal subway). From Phaya Thai Station, change to the BTS and alight one stop later at Ratchathewi Station (15 baht).

The rooms are spacious and the bed was huge for 2. Bathrooms was nice as they had separate cubicles for shower, bath and toilet (more than one person can use it at one time). Unfortunately the room which we were staying in had no view. However, when we took a peek into the adjourning room, we saw that the view was really good (we stayed on the 23rd floor) - so do try and ask for a room with a view if its available!

There was free wifi in the room and for room service, I recommend the Thai Fried Rice.

One downside will be the pool. Located on level 10 and in a separate building from the main block, we were initially very excited to learn that it was a rooftop pool. However, the pool was quite small and even though it was supposed to be an infinity pool, the glass panel facing the roads were dirty. Was hoping that the pool was bigger. Nonetheless, it was still a good respite from the heat of Bangkok.

The service provided by the staff was impeccable. From the reception to the housekeeping staff, everyone was friendly and made us feel welcome. The staff at the reception were knowledgable and were able to give us good recommendation on places to go and routes to take. This prove useful especially in Bangkok, where the traffic condition can get a little crazy. The staff gave good advice on which roads to avoid at which hour, and the best mode of transport to take to get to our destination, based on the time of the day.

Overall, the entire stay was very enjoyable and I highly recommend the hotel to anyone who is up for a new and chic boutique hotel, away from the crowd but yet close enough to all the action that Bangkok brings.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeedeeVIE, Manager at VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Thank you so much for your generous review and your recommendation. We hope to have to pleasure to welcome you back for another memorable stay.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,884
    770
    145
    43
    26
See reviews for
558
1,127
288
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

It is really hard to find any fault with this hotel: perhaps location is not perfect, with at least 15 min walk to Siam square where closest good restaurants and shopping are located. Other than that, staff is extremely helpful, breakfast is plentiful and rooms are quite nice. I have stayed in much better 5 star hotels but this one is quite ok: not too flashy but clean and well-appointed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snetesin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeedeeVIE, Manager at VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

This must have been by 9th stay in the hotel, which never fails to live up to expectations. Located near to some the best shopping in Bangkok, and a haven of tranquility, I can't speak too highly of the management and what they are trying to do. Beautiful quiet room, spotlessly clean, fabulous food, and with personal but not obtrusive attention, a really nice place to stay. Only one small gripe, some of the door staff seem more interested in tips and their own personal pursuits than in looking after the guests.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visitor951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeedeeVIE, Manager at VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for your insights in our door staffs, this behaviour is not acceptable in our general practice and necessary procedures will be conducted.

Thank you and we hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you for the 10th, 11th and so on times.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We were upgraded to a Grand Deluxe as our deluxe booking was not available when we checked in. Other small details that made our stay very pleasant: complimentary Tuk Tuk service to nearby malls, plenty of bottled water, complimentary drinks voucher at their bar, small presentation of bed-side chocolate + flower, etc.

Location is excellent as it is right in front of Ratchathewi BTS station. For excellent road-side wan tan noodle stall, cross the bridge towards Asia Hotel and take the right-hand-side bridge down to street level. The stall is another 20meters ahead (with bright yellow and red signboard).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audreysoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeedeeVIE, Manager at VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the VIE Hotel Bangkok - MGallery Collection. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Meedee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Location excellent and very helpful staff, Right next to a metro station and easy to walk to Siam square and Shopping market MBK also other shopping malls. Lovely Marble bathroom with full both bath shower very spacious.
if you first timer in Bangkok this is 5 star places for you :
First :request to be odd number room upon checking to get better view like "1909-2109" get 2 key leave in room to AC be on otherwise shut done all electricity and AC, make sure book your room with breakfast should be around $14 in advance otherwise will cost you almost $25, the best breakfast buffet you can imagine, is totally international with fresh seafood fresh juice bar fresh pastry much much more.
Do not use room services just go down simply go cross street for coffee and anything else ..

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zaino M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VIEHotelVVillas, Manager at VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from VIE Hotel Bangkok!

Thank you for your positive comments. It is always a pleasure to know that we have met or exceeded our guests’ expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to VIE Hotel Bangkok in the future.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2013

For those of you spending a few days in Bangkok before you get down to the island this hotel is the little taste of city luxury that you need after that 7hour flight, the staff are helpful and well presented the food is sexy and tasty and the views are hustle and bustle city charm :-) (Don’t expect great scenic vie from most hotels) great for drinks transport. It is not 100% central but it’s not far on the took-took bikes 9you will see what I mean) about 10-15bar to get into the main city craze...

Fellers! what ever you do not let the taxi man or took took man lead you into no tailor shops they are the best sales people, now they are good in Thailand but its also about price. Always look into the recommendations by the hotels or trip advisor; even the hotels are getting a profit!

Room Tip: book before you go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VIEHotelVVillas, Manager at VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from VIE Hotel Bangkok!

Thank you for your positive comments. It is always a pleasure to know that we have met or exceeded our guests’ expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to VIE Hotel Bangkok in the future.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
#75 of 861 in Bangkok
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Pullman Bangkok Grande Sukhumvit
Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
#100 of 861 in Bangkok
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel

Property: VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 117/39-40 Phaya Thai Rd. | Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Formerly VIE Hotel Bangkok - MGallery Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#31 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#34 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#47 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel, is a luxury designed hotel with a superb location for both leisure and business. Right in the city center, it provides maximum convenience, with excellent conference and seminar facilities, and is perfect for a special weekend or family stays. The hotel is just steps away from the BTS Skytrain Ratchathewi station and within a ten minutes' walk to Bangkok's most renowned shopping malls in the Siam Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, ACCOR, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bangkok Vie Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing