We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel to stay when in Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #40 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

2,822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,848
    763
    144
    41
    26
See reviews for
544
1,110
285
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Pros:
1- Location location location.
2- Sky train is literally around the corner.
3- Siam Centre is one stop only. Very convenient.
4- Concierge service is top notch.
5- Room is spacious and the bed is really comfy.
6- Awesome breakfast.
Cons (mainly related to the room design):
1- The bed legs is protruding a bit which makes it really hard to miss hitting your toes. Almost broke a couple of toes.
2- Slightly dark in the room I am not too sure if it is part of the design to add to the mystique of the room. The bathroom is brighter than the room!
3- The air-condition is too cold. Even when you adjust to 25 C. It is still freezing. I had to switch it off.

I would still be staying there next time. Loved the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with MGallery Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Amr E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VIEHotelVVillas, Manager at VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Amr E,

Greetings from VIE Hotel Bangkok!

Thank you for your positive comments. It is always a pleasure to know that we have met or exceeded our guests’ expectations.

I've found 2 points (1.) Slightly dark in the room - Yes, it's what the French designer wants to keep this tone (2.) The air-condition is too cold, I've informed our Chief Engineering to recheck the system and make sure of this matter every rooms.

By the way, we look forward to welcoming you back to VIE Hotel Bangkok in the future.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hotel was a gem. Arriving from the BKK international airport, the hotel is very easy to get to via public transport (via the airport train link and then a quick transit with the skytrain to the Rachathewi station which is right in front of the hotel). Do note that there is no escalator or lift available for at the Rachathewi station, so public transport may not be a good idea if you have large suitcases and you are not able to carry it down the steps. However, if this does not bother you, it's a great way to save some money (taxi is quite cheap in Bangkok for international standard, so all things considered you may want to just catch a taxi).

We arrived at New Year's eve in December 2013. We were very kindly upgraded to a suite facing Siam Paragon. We were treated to the firework extravaganza at midnight. If you have ever had the opportunity to stay in this hotel at New Year's, try to get a room facing Siam Paragon. You will have one of the best vantage point ever (see my photos).

The room and living suite are befitting of a five-star hotel - perfectly crafted and comfortable. The wifi connection was slightly hit-and-miss - it was free but the connection was not very stable. I ended up relying on my own mobile broadband connection quite a lot.

The staff are very polite and courteous, and I felt cherished as a guest. Overall a very pleasant experience, it was money well spent and added positively to my stay in Bangkok.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youngyew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VIEHotelVVillas, Public Relations Manager at VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear youngyew,

Greetings from VIE Hotel Bangkok!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of VIE Hotel Bangkok. Our dedicated team is always delighted to hear that one of our guest’s stay with us has been a memorable one. I will pass on your compliments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to VIE Hotel Bangkok in the future (Coming New Year).

Sincerely,

PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I am in Bangkok almost half a dozen times every year with work and been doing that for the past 15 years - I have literally stayed at each and every 5 star hotel and can say with utmost objectivity that you will not find a more 'complete package' in Bangkok than Vie - Period.. no exceptions ! This has now become my hotel of choice in Bangkok.

Location: Next to BTS, close to tons of wonderful local and foreign cuisine, 5 min to MBK mall, 5 min walk to Siam and most of all its only 20-15 min from airport even in peak hour !

Property: Great design, wonderful lobby and hallway, constant smell and music that highlight the wooden panels everywhere, ambient lightning enhancing the interior decor.

Staff: Polite, eager to help (perhaps not as polished as those in 5 star chain hotels) and with a can-do attitude. Exemplary service with a free Hotel TuTu service to close by attractions !

Room: Big spacious, very comfortable bed with choice of pillows, complimentary evening turn down, quality bedroom furniture, one of the best bathrooms in Bangkok hotels with very high quality bathroom furniture, high powered shower, great amenities, ambient lighting and separate cubicles for shower and toilet. The suites are world class separate living and bedroom , individual TVs and study area.

Breakfast: I will call it perhaps one of the best breakfasts in Bangkok. great variety, lovely decor, fresh juices, magnificent coffee, great choice on egg stations, thorough bakery, tons of fruit and smoothies in ice tub (nice touch) and super-keen service staff. 5/5

Value: Unquestionably the best in Bangkok ! Best of all, all taxi drivers know the hotel location and for me it is an oasis in the sometimes mad and chaotic Bangkok.

It may not have the extreme opulence of Shangri-La, Mandarin oriental, Four Seasons or Peninsula but it has everything else and more at almost less than half the spend one will fork out for those hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VIEHotelVVillas, Public Relations Manager at VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Haris C,

Greetings from VIE Hotel Bangkok!

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the VIE Hotel Bangkok - MGallery Collection. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel was beautiful and the glass-sided pool was an interesting touch. Room service was surprisingly good too. The staff was friendly and attentive and overall we were quite pleased with our stay. The only drawback is the location. I can't say that it's a matter of the hotel's location, but rather the city on the whole. As the staff will tell you, you should not trust anyone. It's not the sort of place that you feel particularly comfortable walking around at night. On the flip-side, the skytrain is very useful and there's a station just steps away from the hotel's entrance. I don't think I'd return to Bangkok, but if I were to, I'd likely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eklein5823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VIEHotelVVillas, Public Relations Manager at VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear deklein5823,

Greetings from VIE Hotel Bangkok!

We always appreciate comments regarding a stay at VIE Hotel Bangkok, a member of the MGallery Collection especially our designed VIE Pool. It was a pleasure to receive positive feedback from you and I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that your remarks will serve as encouragement to all our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karatchi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Quiet, aromatic, central. Nice background music in the hallways - probably trance. Extremely kind and hospitable to allow us smoking in the rooms. I had heard a great deal from friends that stay there often.
Found it better than I had thought.

Room Tip: Trust the hospitality and experience of the staff. They seemed to know what they were doing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taimur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VIEHotelVVillas, Public Relations Manager at VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Taimur Shaique H,

Greetings from VIE Hotel Bangkok!

Thank you for your positive comments. It is always a pleasure to know that we have met or exceeded our guests’ expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to VIE Hotel Bangkok in the future.

Sincerely,

PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
#72 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Siam
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
#55 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
#97 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,008 reviews
Siam
Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel

Property: VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 117/39-40 Phaya Thai Rd. | Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Formerly VIE Hotel Bangkok - MGallery Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#31 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#36 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#47 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel, is a luxury designed hotel with a superb location for both leisure and business. Right in the city center, it provides maximum convenience, with excellent conference and seminar facilities, and is perfect for a special weekend or family stays. The hotel is just steps away from the BTS Skytrain Ratchathewi station and within a ten minutes' walk to Bangkok's most renowned shopping malls in the Siam Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelbag, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bangkok Vie Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing