We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great hostel in SEA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Road Guest House
Ranked #80 of 615 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another great hostel in SEA”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

stayed here for one night in the mixed dorm and its been great! i only literally needed a bed for the night but the rest of the hostel looks great. the reception staff were really helpful telling me best way to get tl dmk airport/prices and a good place for food as I didn't have the time to venture. I also really liked that they do an intro to Bangkok and a kind of travelling info sesh at 1700hrs every day. no idea what its like but I'm sure it would be handy if its your first time travelling or in south east asia. toilets are good, showers are good, beds are good. what more could you want?

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maywood96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    89
    70
    19
    11
See reviews for
17
72
48
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stayed at New Road Guest House for 3 nights, The staff was readily available and helpful. Wifi was good. The Dorms had lockers, outlets and the bathrooms were just outside. The hostel also had a cool rooftop area that we discovered on our last day. Super close to the river boat which made getting to sights like the Grand Palace incredibly easy. Arrived at 2am and there was someone there ready to help us check in. I was also staying at this hostel during the 'political unrest' in Thailand, and the staff did really well to inform us of what areas to stay away from and updates with the curfew.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the NRGH for our first nights in Bangkok and we loved it. It is a bit away from the backpackers streets which is according to me an advantage. They offer organized trips in the Visit Beyond travel agency which is situated under the same roof.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Davidsgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The PROS: The front desk receptionist was very nice and helpful. She took the time to provide map of the area and samples of tours the hotel can arrange for you. And even though we arrived before official check-in time, we were given a room right away.

Now the CONS: the windows in our room did not lock and the TV did not work properly due to faulty wiring. We notified front desk and the guy there gave us another room. We were happy to be in a room with working locks and TV but totally incovenient to be moving around..especially on small atay.

Caution: I have travelled with my kids to pretty much every continent and have seen and experienced in some cities racism. But we have always felt comfortable and safe at our place of lodging. At this guesthouse, though, one of the guests yelled a racial slur at my kids and myself as we returned back from dinner!

So even though the location was ok, i will probably choose diiferent place on my next viait to Bangkok.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacky N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hostel was good, in an area called Silom which easily accessible by riverboat and bts. Buses also run on the road outside but I wasn't there long enough to figure them out! The ac is pretty awesome, in the rooms and common area. Staff were friendly and helpful with directions.

Room Tip: Shared dorm, ac, perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We booked our first night in the dorm. Since the ac was not working properly that night and we told them we were upgraded to a private double where we stayed our whole stay (than paying normal room rate). Location is convenient to the main pier and the skytrain station. It is kind of a long walk to chinatown or the main railway station. Lockers available in the common area, free Wifi.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed there in the end of may for 2 nights. As I travelled with a friend, we chose the cheapest option: the two bedroom with fan instead of the dorm with the AC. It was extremely small (which is normally not a problem for me), but in this case it was even difficult to move our backpacks. The beds made really scary sounds, as soon as one of us would move which could be really annoying while trying to fall asleep. There were two computers and many nice community areas outside as well as a roof top with hammocks. Even if you can easily take the boat (2 minutes walking distance) and go anywhere, it is not the best location. There are only a few drugstores nearby, the rest is all about jewelry. Also the Khao San Road (I am sure I spelled it in the wrong way again, sorry) is definitely more frequented and you will meet more people there. The New Road Guest House is fine, the staff is friendly but I would not absolutely recommend it. I am sure there are better places for Backpackers to go in Bangkok.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Judith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berit B, Public Relations Manager at New Road Guest House, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Traveller,

We are happy you took your time to provide us with feedback on our property.
- Not least that you found our staff friendly and liked our many common areas outside. We too really love the roof top terrace and the hammocks.

As for your stay in our very cheap (thb 280) backpacker rooms we are sorry that you perceived it a bad experience. We only sell this option locally (not online) so travelers can see the room before they decide to stay. We normally get the feedback from travellers that these are very good value for money in Bangkok; however, we of course agree that it should also provide a comfortable night’s sleep. Therefore, you will be happy to know that in the short run we have made an effort to offset the noise by using rubber bands and generally tightened everything up and extra notch.
In the longer run we plan to renovate these very cheap rooms for increased comfort. For now, we are however sorry that this did not live up to your expectations when you were here.

Location wise we are situated in Bangrak (meaning the village of love), which is not only in the jewelry district, but also a very local and friendly neighborhood with less tourists. It is in walking distance to bustling Chinatown on one side and Silom road on the other with all of its entertainment options. We think the location is very nice in this sense, but are of course aware that some may prefer Khao San Road for its many backpackers.
Transport wise we are a short 5 minutes taxi drive from Hua Lamphong main train station (and MRT), 10 minutes walk to pier number 2 from where the riverboats depart and 15 minutes walk from the skytrain. Specifically for Khao San Road, it is possible to take the riverboat up there conveniently as Khao San may otherwise not be very well connected in regards to MRT or skytrain.

In all, we are sorry about your experience but hope you had good days while in Bangkok.

On behalf of all of us at New Road Guest House,
Mr. Suban Soonthornchoti
Hotel Manager – New Road Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Sam Sen Sam Place
Sam Sen Sam Place
#31 of 615 in Bangkok
331 reviews
Banglamphu
Penpark Place
Penpark Place
#46 of 615 in Bangkok
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Once In Bangkok Guesthouse
Once In Bangkok Guesthouse
#51 of 615 in Bangkok
59 reviews
Admire Thonburi
#73 of 615 in Bangkok
33 reviews
Silom
P&R Residence
P&R Residence
#62 of 615 in Bangkok
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Road Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Road Guest House

Property: New Road Guest House
Address: 1216/1 Charoen Krung Road | Between Soi 34 and 36, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 615 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Road Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Road Guest House is a place with great atmosphere and homey surroundings. In the middle of hectic Bangkok you will find this nice hotel which is very popular among travelers all over the world. Next to the lobby you will find a Service Center that can provide you free travel advice from experienced European and local staff.The lobby, café area and most rooms just went through a comprehensive renovation leaving the guesthouse new and fresh. Despite the new interior the guesthouse have kept their budget rates with prices and rooms for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your New Road Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Road Guest House Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing