We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$209/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Banyan Tree Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Peninsula Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$286
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$272
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$575
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$522
Mandarin Oriental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveller rating
54
99
74
21
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
99
74
21
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstravel advicebackpackers placetemple tourtravel desktwo double bedsmonth triptrain stationthe riverthree nightsair conditionstreet foodgrand palacesky barvisiting bangkokdormgoasiachinatown
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 263 reviews
Reviewed 29 February 2016 via mobile

It's a good price if you stay in the dorms or if you are a couple and share your own room but don't have air con. More expensive with air con.

Great travel desk. Friendly people on reception. Nice little roof top for chilling and doing your washing!

Food not so good and over priced.

Great location from boats up the river / train station 5/10mins walk away and loads of street food close by / shopping centre close by also!

Really enjoyed staying here. Nice atmosphere and the location for me was a winner!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Cazolibe1419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I didn't stay here long, just two night. Bathroom and rooms were clean, small and efficient. We didn't know you had to book a room with AC, make sure you check before booking whether you have AC or not, if it's a big deal. We had a hostel in Chiang Mai without AC and it was perfectly fine, but Bangkok was so much more hot and humid, might be better to have AC.

We didn't stay longer for any of the amenities and the tour center was helpful for most guest but we didn't use them since we were just passing through.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berit B, Manager at New Road Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2016

Dear Ann T.,

Thanks for taking your time to review our guest house, and for giving tips to other travellers.
We are happy that you liked our place, found it clean and efficient. And that you found our travel center helpful.

When coming from Chiang Mai in January, you will definitely experience Bangkok as being warmer, especially at night. And it may be recommendable to book aircon if you prefer cool nights to have a good sleep.
We strive to have rooms for all budgets, from cheap shared dorm rooms and basic private rooms with fan, to more comfortable spacious rooms with aircon and nice Thai-inspired decor.

We hope you found this onwards and wish you happy onwards travels.

All the best,
Team New Road Guest House - Ms Noom and Berit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2016

We stayed at New Road Guest House in January 2016 for 5 days. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was delicious and well priced. Very clean, both rooms and common area. Wifi slow but everywhere, even rooms! Locations is good. Only short walk to both the skytrain (10mins) and the river ferries (5mins). Can reach Patpong night market on foot in 30 mins. Would definitely reccommend this hostel, great value for money!!

Room Tip: private rooms with bathroom are nice and clean, beds very comfortable
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Located in Silom. New Road questhouse offers good accommodation for reasonable prices. The hotel is run with professional atitude and si mostly focused on young travelers. Staff speaks very good English, there is large counter where tours are sold by English native speakers. The whole property is well maintained.
The cheapest room (basic) is tiny (just to fit bed) rather simple and run down, but yet reasonably clean and with private facilities. For the price it is still good deal. There is a good wi-fi in the hotel, you can buy breakfast and join mutliple tours in Bangkok and beyond.

Place is good for younger travelers loking for decent accomodation for fair price.

Room Tip: The basic room is very small and basic.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muttus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2016

We stayed here for 4 days, and really loved the place. You can walk to it from the SkyTrain (maybe 10-15 minutes), and it's close to the water if you want to go on tours. They have both private ensuite rooms and shared dorm rooms. There's breakfast (you have to pay), and a daily meeting where you can learn about tours, areas to visit in Bangkok, or just help with your Thailand trip. The hostel has a little travel agency almost beside the check-in desk. There is always someone there (a European lady when we were there), who was super helpful in organizing tours, and giving us other helpful information about everything Bangkok. There's also a cool little outdoor area with chairs and tables where people can hang out.

Room Tip: WiFi only worked okay in half of the room... not sure if this is the same for every room.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews