We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Tree Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Peninsula Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$286
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$272
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveller rating
54
99
74
21
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
99
74
21
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstravel advicebackpackers placetemple tourtravel desktwo double bedsmonth triptrain stationthe riverthree nightsair conditionstreet foodgrand palacesky barvisiting bangkokdormgoasiachinatown
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 263 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Social hostel with a lot of people around - beware that it is like 90% Danish people in groups because major travelagency's in Denmark use this place for arrival and departure - hence the Danish travel desk. Not sure how well that works out for "foreigners".

Facilities are nice and the location is good - except for the broken beds which makes A LOT of noise everytime you turn over - I checked in at 2am and probably woke up the entire room trying to fall asleep (they said they were fixing the three bad ones in our room)

But for 130 baht who can complain

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Thank Sebastian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 February 2017

Dear,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are glad that you enjoy our hotel and facilities and we do apologize for the inconvenience you had with the bed.
We have already took action on this matter and fix all the bed that are making noise.

We hope to see you again at New Road Guesthouse for your future stay in Bangkok.
For any queries, please do not hesitate to get back to us.
Warm regards,
Mr Julien Dupont.
Front Office Supervisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

First of all, I must praise the hosts at this place. They all speak English well and are very friendly and helpful.
Rooms are not very nice, small and damp (tried two fan rooms, i.e. no ac.
The restaurant is good and prices are so so.
The staff will be more than happy to arrange taxi etc for you, but this will be up to three times the price you will pay when stopping one five meters from the place yourself... Always go by meter. They will trick you otherwise.
New Road GH is a Danish hub, så MANY twenty year old party kids staying for one or two nights.
I (36) stayed twice on my trip and liked it, but you can get much better accomodations i Bangkok for similar prices (e.g. incl. pool).
I met nice backpackers and the location i good close to boats, sky trains, tourist traps etc And still quiet!!!
I recommend it if you are young. Otherwise not.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 February 2017

Dear,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are glad that you like our hotel, staff and facilities. We do offer a taxi service but its always up to the guest to choose if he wants to book it with us witch is always here on time with a fix price or to deal with the taxi on the street as most of them will want to charge you a fix price over than 500 THB.

For any queries, please do not hesitate to get back to us.
Warm regards,
Mr Julien Dupont.
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

We had a great 5 nights here! Really good location and super friendly staff. The atmosphere was always very chilled, which made you feel layer back, even in the hustle and bustle from Bangkoks busy streets. Good food and drink options in the cafe and for breakfast, but also many street food choices available close by! We enjoyed ourselves!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank MathildePoulsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 February 2017

Dear,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us, it is very apreciated.

We are glad that you have pleasant stay with and we hope to see you again at New Road Guesthouse for your future stay in Bangkok.

For any queries, please do not hesitate to get back to us.
Warm regards,
Mr Julien Dupont,
Front Office Supervisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017

Got great advice about my travels here. The staff is super knowledgeable and very helpful with getting to nearby countries. They have a lot of package deals that are reasonably priced. This is definitely a commercial backpackers place and not for super budget backpackers! They also charge 200 baht extra for booking trains and extra for buses which is a bit much.

I shared a room with no windows and a fan for 165 baht which is reasonable and worth it since the common area was nice with ac, hot showers and free coffee. WiFi is super slow and hard to use but they have one desktop computer. Location is a bit commercial but close to the water where you can take a ferry to all the temples for very very cheap.

Room Tip: Book in advance
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 February 2017

Dear,

We would like to thank you for your very good feedback.

We are glad that you liked our hotel and the services offered.
We hope to see you again very soon at New road Guesthouse.

For any queries, please do not hesitate to get back to us.
Warm regards,
Mr Julien Dupont.
Front Office Supervisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

Rooms are a bit small but very clean. Staff is helpful and can give you a lot of information of Thailand and Bangkok. Many other backpackers so you will meet cool other people. Location is not perfect but good enough.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jan Taeke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 January 2017

Dear,

We would like to thank you for your very good feedback.
We are glad that you enjoy our staff and hotel and we hope to see you again very soon at New Road Guesthouse for your future stay in Bangkok.

For any information, please do not hesitate to get back to us.
Warm regards,
Mr Julien Dupont.
Front Office Supervisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews