We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only Good Memory of Bangkok”
Review of Ariyasomvilla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ariyasomvilla
Ranked #3 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Only Good Memory of Bangkok”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

This hotel is positively lovely. The rooms are spacious, well designed/decorated and have big bathrooms, the restaurant is fantastic (you must try the pomelo salad - literally one of the most delicious things I have ever eaten in my life), the Thai massage was blissful, the staff is friendly, location is good and grounds are lush and well maintained. Would definitely highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bangkok.

Unfortunately, my boyfriend and I left Bangkok with few other positive experiences. We read about all of the scams before coming here, but we were still shocked and saddened by how pervasive the hustling is here. There are so many elaborate, underhanded schemes to fall victim to - some perpetrated by very sweet and gentle-seeming old men. Many involve the temples, which is particularly shameful. We are from NYC and are avid travelers, so we have come across our fair share of scoundrels. But Bangkok takes hustling to a new level. Not fun, not decent. We won't be back.

Bottom line: Don't talk to anyone who approaches you on the street, as casual or coincidental as the encounter may seem. If you do, count on the fact that every syllable coming out of their mouth will be a lie.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank amiesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,261
    213
    27
    6
    4
See reviews for
248
862
92
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nyack, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Stay here 3 nights
Room was ok, Bed was comfortabled
Restaurant was ok, food was delicious.
will back stay longer

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Ariyasomvilla is a lovely little hotel. The room was spacious, clean and well decorated. The staff were friendly and helpful. The gardens and pool area are beautiful.

The restaurant had excellent food, I particularly recommend the chocolate pie and the gooseberry pie.

It is within walking distance from the Skytrain making it very convenient.

I have nothing but good things to say about this hotel and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a delightful alternative to big name 5 star hotels. In particular, if you are going to Thailand for medical treatment at Bumrungrad, you can't find a better place.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaurieHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Bangkok is full of high-rise international hotels catering to business travelers that I find elegant but without character. The Ariyasomvilla is a hidden oasis of quiet and charm in the midst of a busy, hectic city. The food is outstanding, tempered for Western palates. Our room was large, the bed firm and comfortable; the bath was luxurious. The staff is attentive and helpful, and the owner is personable. The spa offers good massages, and the outdoor pool welcomes when Bangkok's steamy weather permits. I will use it again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oleprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights on the first leg of our honeymoon. I chose it based on Tripadvisor reviews and was not let down. Service was top notch!!! Access to shopping, restaurants, skytrain was really convenient. Rooms were very nice, large and comfortable (we had the base rate room), they were sold out, so no upgrade for the honeymooners :( Bed was very comfortable and bathroom was beautiful. Owners were out of town when we were there, was a bummer not to meet them after all the talk on the reviews.

Spa was nice, but it is outdoors, so on a hot day it was a little too sweaty (we had massages at 1pm), go later in the afternoon, or early morning so it isn't too hot.

Restaurant was okay. Service was 5 star. Only meal we ate there was breakfast (included in room price). We aren't vegetarian, and I hate tofu, so I wouldn't eat there for dinner. But breakfast was good with nice variety. A real piece of bacon would have made it perfect.

Pool was very nice and clean with poolside service too.

Laundry service was VERY expensive, cost us appx $50 for 2 loads! But it was convenient.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cutecdnchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
All over the world
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

hidden at the end of sukhumvit soi 1 is this great hideaway, full of teak and thailand smells without much of the clamor of bangkok. an easy walk to the bts and to sukhumvit sois. from the bts you get to siam square and silom in a jiffy. i would not recommend their restaurant though as i found the dinner mediocre. other than that recommend this to anybody.

Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Tegia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We spent 6 days in Bangkok and chose Ariyasomvilla as our base to explore the city and beyond from.

I won't repeat what countless others have said. Just agree that the rooms are amazing, huge and comfortable. Bathrooms are modern and great. Spa is good.

The pool. THE POOL!! One of our daily highlights was slipping into the cool, saline pool at night after dinner. Washing away the grime, sweat and exhaustion of each day. It was truly a GREAT way to end each day and we really loved it.
All of the staff is amazing. REady to assist in whatever way they can.

My ONLY disappointment, if you can call it that, was the restaurant. This was in NO way the restaurants fault, it's just that I'm not a vegetarian and I don't love seafood and my husband won't touch seafood, so it was just hard for us to find dishes that satisfied. I tried the penang curry that came with tofu. The flavor was great, but it was TOFU. I really tried to LOVE it, but couldn't. I only mention this for the benefit of other meat eaters, as I have read several reviews from meat eaters who have said that they didn't miss the meat at all. That is great, but if you don't eat seafood, i do believe you will miss the meat. HOWEVER, I would NEVER not stay here because of this. There are 1000's of restaurants to choose from in Bangkok if you have to have your meat! That being said, breakfast is great. Coffee is strong and amazing. The desserts are to DIE FOR, made by David the owner daily. (Try the plum tart, divine)

David (the owner) is awesome! Always available,always smiling, always ready to assist in whatever way possible. One morning he walked around with freshly baked muffins and gave them to anyone who wanted one. I fell in love with his coffee cups and other assorted pottery/ceramics. He told where I could possibly find it in Bangkok, and after unsucessfully looking, printed out all of the information for his supplier up in ChangMai.

Overall, Ariyasomvilla has earned it's number one ranking. A fabulous place and we would reccommend it to anyone looking for a boutique experience in a frantic, hectic city!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank norwegianwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 866 in Bangkok
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariyasomvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariyasomvilla

Property: Ariyasomvilla
Address: 65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariyasomvilla 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariyasomvilla Boutique Hotel is a very unique property in the centre of Bangkok. The original house was built by the current Owners Grandparents in 1942. Unlike other hotels Ariyasomvilla gives you a real sense of place and time but with all modern facilities you would expect from 5 star hotels. With 24 rooms Ariyasomvilla is very private and feels like a sanctuary. The pool is large enough for lap, while the spa offers excellent massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ariyasomvilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariyasomvilla Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing