We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel in a frenetic city!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ariyasomvilla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ariyasomvilla
Ranked #3 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in a frenetic city!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

We stayed on the 3 night package which included breakfast, set dinner for 2 & a Thai massage. Fabulous hotel in a convenient location. Our room was lovely & spacious and were even upgraded from a deluxe to a suite. This was fab as it was actually our wedding anniversary! All the staff were friendly & very courteous. The set meal that was included in the package was actually the best meal that we had during our 15 night stay in Thailand - just superb. One lunch time I had the Pomelo Salad (Yam Som O). This is also one of the most delicious things I have ever tasted! Definatly a hotel we will return to when next in Thailand. Highly highly recommend.

Room Tip: We were in a suite overlooking the pool. Only noise was from the boats on the canal next door first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Knickerscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,222
    205
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
237
835
90
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Westcountry
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed for 1 night at the start and 1 night at the end of a 3 week trip through Vietnam and Thailand and loved the hotel. We had a suite on our first visit (we were upgraded) and then a deluxe room on our final visit. Both rooms were fabulous, very spacious, tastefully decorated and with large bathrooms. The staff were terrific and the food in the restaurant excellent. This really is Tripadvisor at its best –making independent travellers aware of such hidden gems. Definitely a hotel that we will return to and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SmartMoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

This hotel is positively lovely. The rooms are spacious, well designed/decorated and have big bathrooms, the restaurant is fantastic (you must try the pomelo salad - literally one of the most delicious things I have ever eaten in my life), the Thai massage was blissful, the staff is friendly, location is good and grounds are lush and well maintained. Would definitely highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bangkok.

Unfortunately, my boyfriend and I left Bangkok with few other positive experiences. We read about all of the scams before coming here, but we were still shocked and saddened by how pervasive the hustling is here. There are so many elaborate, underhanded schemes to fall victim to - some perpetrated by very sweet and gentle-seeming old men. Many involve the temples, which is particularly shameful. We are from NYC and are avid travelers, so we have come across our fair share of scoundrels. But Bangkok takes hustling to a new level. Not fun, not decent. We won't be back.

Bottom line: Don't talk to anyone who approaches you on the street, as casual or coincidental as the encounter may seem. If you do, count on the fact that every syllable coming out of their mouth will be a lie.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank amiesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyack, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Stay here 3 nights
Room was ok, Bed was comfortabled
Restaurant was ok, food was delicious.
will back stay longer

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Ariyasomvilla is a lovely little hotel. The room was spacious, clean and well decorated. The staff were friendly and helpful. The gardens and pool area are beautiful.

The restaurant had excellent food, I particularly recommend the chocolate pie and the gooseberry pie.

It is within walking distance from the Skytrain making it very convenient.

I have nothing but good things to say about this hotel and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a delightful alternative to big name 5 star hotels. In particular, if you are going to Thailand for medical treatment at Bumrungrad, you can't find a better place.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaurieHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Bangkok is full of high-rise international hotels catering to business travelers that I find elegant but without character. The Ariyasomvilla is a hidden oasis of quiet and charm in the midst of a busy, hectic city. The food is outstanding, tempered for Western palates. Our room was large, the bed firm and comfortable; the bath was luxurious. The staff is attentive and helpful, and the owner is personable. The spa offers good massages, and the outdoor pool welcomes when Bangkok's steamy weather permits. I will use it again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oleprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
192 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights on the first leg of our honeymoon. I chose it based on Tripadvisor reviews and was not let down. Service was top notch!!! Access to shopping, restaurants, skytrain was really convenient. Rooms were very nice, large and comfortable (we had the base rate room), they were sold out, so no upgrade for the honeymooners :( Bed was very comfortable and bathroom was beautiful. Owners were out of town when we were there, was a bummer not to meet them after all the talk on the reviews.

Spa was nice, but it is outdoors, so on a hot day it was a little too sweaty (we had massages at 1pm), go later in the afternoon, or early morning so it isn't too hot.

Restaurant was okay. Service was 5 star. Only meal we ate there was breakfast (included in room price). We aren't vegetarian, and I hate tofu, so I wouldn't eat there for dinner. But breakfast was good with nice variety. A real piece of bacon would have made it perfect.

Pool was very nice and clean with poolside service too.

Laundry service was VERY expensive, cost us appx $50 for 2 loads! But it was convenient.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cutecdnchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#5 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariyasomvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariyasomvilla

Property: Ariyasomvilla
Address: 65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariyasomvilla 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariyasomvilla Boutique Hotel is a very unique property in the centre of Bangkok. The original house was built by the current Owners Grandparents in 1942. Unlike other hotels Ariyasomvilla gives you a real sense of place and time but with all modern facilities you would expect from 5 star hotels. With 24 rooms Ariyasomvilla is very private and feels like a sanctuary. The pool is large enough for lap, while the spa offers excellent massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Priceline so you can book your Ariyasomvilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariyasomvilla Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing