We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Quality in Bangkok”
Review of Ariyasomvilla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ariyasomvilla
Ranked #3 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Outstanding Quality in Bangkok”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We spent 5 beautiful days in this real oasis in a hectic bangkok neighborhood. Best treatment you can get and long for.
It provides a real personal touch, excellent & attentive service, neat & clean room (room 105), conveniently located close to Bangkok's metro line. There was nothing we missed during our stay. No downlights to mention, very recommendable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henning R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,251
    212
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
241
860
92
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I'm sad to say my husband and I were disappointed by our stay at Ariyasomvilla. We had high hopes after seeing some beautiful pictures of the hotel at the time of booking. The photos don't lie because the hotel is gorgeous to look at, but unfortunately you can't relax and enjoy the surroundings because of the Mosquitos which are practically forming an orderly queue to bite you! They are everywhere!! They're in the restaurant, the lobby, the swimming pool and most annoyingly of all, in our room! We spoke to some friends who live in Bangkok about it as they had previously eaten in the hotel restaurant and their comments were that they had been 'eaten alive' by mozzies. I wore DEET and citronella repellant and it made no difference. It probably didn't help that the rooms weren't particularly clean. A lot of dust in the corners, on the window sills etc. Aside from the mozzies who feasted on us when we were in our room, we also found in our room two lizards, a cockroach and lots of little larvae on the walls which I think were moth larvae...? I've seen them before in the tropics, but in much cheaper hotels! When sitting by the pool there wasn't really any sun because of the trees, and it goes without saying that there were mozzies around (even in the middle of the day) and every so often you'd get a whiff of something unpleasant which I assumed to be sewage. It wasn't all bad - the staff were really helpful, the food in the restaurant was really nice, but the tons of biting insects mean I wouldn't recommend Ariyasomvilla to others unfortunately.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lizzybristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ariyasomvilla, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Dear Lizzybristol,

Thank you for your review. I'm afraid mosquitos are a fact of life here in the tropics. Having a very lush tropical garden there are bound to be mosquitos. Our reception, lobby and restaurant are semi open and they do come in although we provide strong fans that keep them at bay. We also provide an organic mosquito spray in all rooms and in the restaurant. I am not a fan of chemical repellants and have a strong concern what these are doing to us rather than the mosquitos.

We clean our rooms fastidiously everyday but some mosquitos will get in when doors and windows are open.

Many of the big hotels are hermetically sealed and perhaps that is an option for those who are troubled by mosquitos. Bangkok is a huge beguiling city with all sorts of sounds, smells and sights that assail the senses - we do get the odd unpleasant whiff from the canal next door but also some wonderful scents from the garden.

I am of course sorry that the mosquitos spoiled your stay and I would much rather you remembered the pleasant things.

With best regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed here on our first night in Bangkok. It was a slight struggle to get there because the cab driver didn't know where it was and was also illiterate (couldn't read the address even in Thai).

Ariyasomvilla is lovely because it's a stark contrast to the rest of Bangkok city. It reminded me of a health retreat - peaceful, tranquil and green.

The room was large with a balcony and the bathroom reminded me of a zen garden. I loved it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I am a bit if a boutique hotel junkie, so have sampled quite a few good ones, but still none can compare to ariyasom, the moment you enter this hotel you are transported away from the hustle and bustle of Bangkok into a calm and serene haven of absolute tranquility, beautiful smells, sounds and a feeling of authentic Asia. The food is well priced and excellent (try the eggplant green curry or peppercorn yellow curry, my favourites) the rooms are faultless with every creature comfort you could want, including the wonderful Thai Prann range of toiletries which smells divine!The staff are excellent. The layout of the hotel is great, it is wonderful to return to the hotel after shopping, dive in the pool and then get served amazing food at the poolside! The owner David is so kind and attentive to the guests, and is very helpful with any info you could want to know about Bangkok. My advice is if you really want to enhance your stay in the vibrant city, look no further than Ariyasom, it makes some of the big name chain hotels seem bland and flat in comparison! This truly is my home from home in Bangkok!, Thank you for yet another excellent stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MicheleCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed here for one, all too short night, on a layover in Bangkok. This hotel is like an oasis of calm on a crazy Bangkok street. The rooms are magnificently furnished, special mention going to the huge jacuzzi bath, which was a great surprise! Breakfast was delicious, with lots of fruit as well as many cooked options but it was the little finishing touches that really made this place: a delicious flower tea on arrival, scented candles lit in our room and outside our door that night, a lovely fruit basket and complimentary mosquito repellent! They really thought of everything.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AG018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We decided to stay at Ariyasomvilla because we wanted a change from the large hotels we
have been staying in in Bangkok so far. The atmosphere and authentic thai features are wonderful, we also enjoyed the personal service and attention we were given by staff. We stayed in a deluxe room and it was great especially the bathroom was a real feature. However the comfort of the bed left much to be desired it was more like a futon and both my husband and I woke up every morning with back and/or neck aches. Personal taste perhaps. The dinner at the restaurant was absolutely delicious but the breakfast was a bit limited after being used to breakfast buffets. Especially for my husband and son who love their bacon and sausages in the morning. The pool is great as is the spa: my husband had one of the best Thai massages he ever had here. Try to make your own way from the airport to the hotel because the airport transfer we arranged through the hotel was very expensive: 1600 Baht which equates to about A$50, in comparison we took a taxi back to the airport from the hotel and paid only 300 Baht. (A$9). We probably won't stay here again based on the (dis)comfort of the bed and the breakfast.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are lovely but have steep stairs so not suitable for families travelling with small chi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zambookacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ariyasomvilla, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Dear Zambookacat

Thanks for your review and thank you for your kind words on our service.

Just wanted to comment on the beds as this is the first negative comments we've had on our mattresses in four years. Our mattresses are pocket spring ( 20 cm thick) and are medium firm and have always until now been much appreciated. Just sorry that you didn't find them comfortable.

With only 24 rooms we do not offer a breakfast buffet but our breakfast menu is very extensive. Sometimes it's nice to be waited on rather than jumping up and down all through the meal.

Many thanks for your comments and best regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmocko
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012 via mobile

Loved this hotel - small, intimate, and welcoming! Rooms were beautiful with great aesthetic and comfy beds. Our 2 rooms were not noisy (other than the morning roosters) and we thought the location was great. Staff was friendly and helpful - arranged for whatever we needed. Would definitely stay here again in lieu of big chain hotels.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jmocko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 858 in Bangkok
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#5 of 858 in Bangkok
548 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariyasomvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariyasomvilla

Property: Ariyasomvilla
Address: 65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariyasomvilla 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariyasomvilla Boutique Hotel is a very unique property in the centre of Bangkok. The original house was built by the current Owners Grandparents in 1942. Unlike other hotels Ariyasomvilla gives you a real sense of place and time but with all modern facilities you would expect from 5 star hotels. With 24 rooms Ariyasomvilla is very private and feels like a sanctuary. The pool is large enough for lap, while the spa offers excellent massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ariyasomvilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariyasomvilla Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing