We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little oasis in the middle of Bangkok” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ariyasomvilla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ariyasomvilla
Ranked #3 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
watford
Level Contributor
126 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“A little oasis in the middle of Bangkok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

This was a great place to break our journey and chill on route to Myanmar. The owner is English and very friendly. It has a nice pool but we did notice a rather nasty smell wafting around now and again whilst sitting round the pool. Think it was the drains. The food is good, no meat but there is fish. Beware the vegetable puree!! We can eat hot food but this seared our palates and we couldn't finish it. There was no warning that it was even spicy!! The room was huge, in fact we had a suite even though we hadn't booked it. Beautiful furniture in the room and spotlessly clean. Very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valgardening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,221
    205
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
236
834
90
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Very good design and service. Located about 10 min walking from BTS. The owner is friendly. The room might not as quiet as you would like to be as it was the old house especially when the next room is closing the door. But overall, this is one of the the best small boutique hotels in Bangkok.

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cartoon121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Easily one of the most amazing places I have ever stayed in. Having walked the few minutes from the local metro stop at midday, we were hot by the time we got arrived and were greeted with refreshments and a cold flannel which were much needed. The arrival became even more impressive when we were advised we had been upgraded. The room was absolutely fantastic and was more like a mini apartment. The hotel and grounds are so tranquil and peaceful in what is an extremely chaotic city. The restaurant specialise in vegetarian food and I must say as an avid meat eater, it wasn't really my kettle of fish but very unique. The breakfast was incredible with every type of exotic fruit you could imagine. Unfortunately we only stayed for one night as we were on our way to Australia but would have loved to have stayed longer. A recommendation I would make, get a taxi from the airport rather than attempting to get the train, much easier.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmohide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

We spent 5 beautiful days in this real oasis in a hectic bangkok neighborhood. Best treatment you can get and long for.
It provides a real personal touch, excellent & attentive service, neat & clean room (room 105), conveniently located close to Bangkok's metro line. There was nothing we missed during our stay. No downlights to mention, very recommendable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henning R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

I'm sad to say my husband and I were disappointed by our stay at Ariyasomvilla. We had high hopes after seeing some beautiful pictures of the hotel at the time of booking. The photos don't lie because the hotel is gorgeous to look at, but unfortunately you can't relax and enjoy the surroundings because of the Mosquitos which are practically forming an orderly queue to bite you! They are everywhere!! They're in the restaurant, the lobby, the swimming pool and most annoyingly of all, in our room! We spoke to some friends who live in Bangkok about it as they had previously eaten in the hotel restaurant and their comments were that they had been 'eaten alive' by mozzies. I wore DEET and citronella repellant and it made no difference. It probably didn't help that the rooms weren't particularly clean. A lot of dust in the corners, on the window sills etc. Aside from the mozzies who feasted on us when we were in our room, we also found in our room two lizards, a cockroach and lots of little larvae on the walls which I think were moth larvae...? I've seen them before in the tropics, but in much cheaper hotels! When sitting by the pool there wasn't really any sun because of the trees, and it goes without saying that there were mozzies around (even in the middle of the day) and every so often you'd get a whiff of something unpleasant which I assumed to be sewage. It wasn't all bad - the staff were really helpful, the food in the restaurant was really nice, but the tons of biting insects mean I wouldn't recommend Ariyasomvilla to others unfortunately.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lizzybristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ariyasomvilla, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Dear Lizzybristol,

Thank you for your review. I'm afraid mosquitos are a fact of life here in the tropics. Having a very lush tropical garden there are bound to be mosquitos. Our reception, lobby and restaurant are semi open and they do come in although we provide strong fans that keep them at bay. We also provide an organic mosquito spray in all rooms and in the restaurant. I am not a fan of chemical repellants and have a strong concern what these are doing to us rather than the mosquitos.

We clean our rooms fastidiously everyday but some mosquitos will get in when doors and windows are open.

Many of the big hotels are hermetically sealed and perhaps that is an option for those who are troubled by mosquitos. Bangkok is a huge beguiling city with all sorts of sounds, smells and sights that assail the senses - we do get the odd unpleasant whiff from the canal next door but also some wonderful scents from the garden.

I am of course sorry that the mosquitos spoiled your stay and I would much rather you remembered the pleasant things.

With best regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed here on our first night in Bangkok. It was a slight struggle to get there because the cab driver didn't know where it was and was also illiterate (couldn't read the address even in Thai).

Ariyasomvilla is lovely because it's a stark contrast to the rest of Bangkok city. It reminded me of a health retreat - peaceful, tranquil and green.

The room was large with a balcony and the bathroom reminded me of a zen garden. I loved it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

I am a bit if a boutique hotel junkie, so have sampled quite a few good ones, but still none can compare to ariyasom, the moment you enter this hotel you are transported away from the hustle and bustle of Bangkok into a calm and serene haven of absolute tranquility, beautiful smells, sounds and a feeling of authentic Asia. The food is well priced and excellent (try the eggplant green curry or peppercorn yellow curry, my favourites) the rooms are faultless with every creature comfort you could want, including the wonderful Thai Prann range of toiletries which smells divine!The staff are excellent. The layout of the hotel is great, it is wonderful to return to the hotel after shopping, dive in the pool and then get served amazing food at the poolside! The owner David is so kind and attentive to the guests, and is very helpful with any info you could want to know about Bangkok. My advice is if you really want to enhance your stay in the vibrant city, look no further than Ariyasom, it makes some of the big name chain hotels seem bland and flat in comparison! This truly is my home from home in Bangkok!, Thank you for yet another excellent stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MicheleCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#4 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariyasomvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariyasomvilla

Property: Ariyasomvilla
Address: 65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariyasomvilla 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariyasomvilla Boutique Hotel is a very unique property in the centre of Bangkok. The original house was built by the current Owners Grandparents in 1942. Unlike other hotels Ariyasomvilla gives you a real sense of place and time but with all modern facilities you would expect from 5 star hotels. With 24 rooms Ariyasomvilla is very private and feels like a sanctuary. The pool is large enough for lap, while the spa offers excellent massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Ariyasomvilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariyasomvilla Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing