We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine”
Review of Ariyasomvilla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ariyasomvilla
Ranked #3 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Divine”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Ariyasomvilla is absolutely divine and one of the very best boutique hotels we have ever had the pleasure in which to stay. The hotel's car service promptly transferred us from the airport and we were greeted with iced tea and escorted to a gorgeous and quiet room overlooking a courtyard. The room was spotless and beautifully appointed with thoughtful touches of fresh flowers and exotic fruit. The breakfast was delicious and the staff was incredibly helpful. We want to return to Bangkok for the sole purpose of staying at Ariyasomvilla!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrowAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,251
    212
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
241
860
92
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I couldn't believe this hotel exists in the midst of all the craziness of Bangkok. All the way down the street of the major hospital and lots of other hotels and offices and then you arrive at a quiet garden, house, hotel, spa and pool.
We were warmly welcomed by staff that spoke more English than most people I encountered in Thailand.
The room (210) was absolutely perfect. The decorations are all local and Thai-inspired. The hotel is all in the family and they give so much individual care you can tell.
Breakfast was included and had tons of options (all vegetarian (does include eggs). Dinner has seafood options. The restaurant is in the main house and you can just visit the restaurant and check the place out.
I'm sure it's expensive for Bangkok but this hotel was worth every penny. Swimming in that pool looking up at the hotel is one of my best memories in Bangkok and I will definitely recommend the hotel to friends and do my best to return!

Phoem Chit (I'm sure that was spelled wrong but you can find it on the BTS map!) is the metro stop only 5-10 minutes away (walking).

Room Tip: I stayed in 210 - it overlooks the pool but is still fairly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012


This hotel really is a beautiful quite oasis in the middle of Bangkok. The staff are friendly and helpful...we arrived on a late night flight from Australia, were hungry and in disparate need of a cocktail. We got whisked outside, a fan was bought out to us and we had drinks and food within ten minutes. Breakfasts which were included in our room rate were delicious. It is slightly out if the way with regard to other dining options and shopping but a 80 baht tuk tuk ride will get you where you need to be. Oh, and the massages are fantastic.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
280 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed only one night at Ariyasomvilla but it is the best accommodation we have ever stayed in. It is just off Sukhumvit Road, close to the Skytrain, as well as close to Makassan Railway station which runs directly to the airport. It is also two minutes walk to the long tail ferries that run along the canal. The room we booked was the smallest room available (Room 310) yet with a large bath, a shower built for two, and a decent sized balcony it would have measured 45-50 sqm which actually makes it quite a large room, only further accentuated by its lovely high ceilings. The pool is a full twenty metres long and set in a beautiful, peaceful garden setting in the heart of the city; the noise of which is totally shut out once you are in your room. The house was built in the 1940's and is nothing short of stunning, and appointed in beautiful, antique and classical furniture. Despite all this, this is not the best part of staying at Ariyasomvilla. The best part is the staff, who are delightful and will do anything to assist a guest. We arrived by limousine but unfortunately left a little teddy in the car. When we explained this to the hotel staff they arranged for the driver to find our treasured travelling partner and return it within 15 minutes. The fridge in the room has free water and a couple of cans of soft drink which is far better than having a minibar full of items for sale. Wifi is provided free and breakfast, which is perfectly cooked, and presented, is extremely inexpesive (less than US$7 per head). After checking out we had a few hours before our flight so Ariyasomvilla gladly looked after our luggage and arranged for us to have a shower to freshen up when we returned, even though we had already actually checked out. If you really want to treat yourself, and someone very special, stay at Ariyasomvilla. The restaurant is mainly vegetarian but serves eggs and fish, and the food is delicious. Next time we're in Bangkok we will stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 310 on level three overlooking the pool. This was a lovely room yet it was the lea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watford
Level Contributor
126 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This was a great place to break our journey and chill on route to Myanmar. The owner is English and very friendly. It has a nice pool but we did notice a rather nasty smell wafting around now and again whilst sitting round the pool. Think it was the drains. The food is good, no meat but there is fish. Beware the vegetable puree!! We can eat hot food but this seared our palates and we couldn't finish it. There was no warning that it was even spicy!! The room was huge, in fact we had a suite even though we hadn't booked it. Beautiful furniture in the room and spotlessly clean. Very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valgardening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Very good design and service. Located about 10 min walking from BTS. The owner is friendly. The room might not as quiet as you would like to be as it was the old house especially when the next room is closing the door. But overall, this is one of the the best small boutique hotels in Bangkok.

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cartoon121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Easily one of the most amazing places I have ever stayed in. Having walked the few minutes from the local metro stop at midday, we were hot by the time we got arrived and were greeted with refreshments and a cold flannel which were much needed. The arrival became even more impressive when we were advised we had been upgraded. The room was absolutely fantastic and was more like a mini apartment. The hotel and grounds are so tranquil and peaceful in what is an extremely chaotic city. The restaurant specialise in vegetarian food and I must say as an avid meat eater, it wasn't really my kettle of fish but very unique. The breakfast was incredible with every type of exotic fruit you could imagine. Unfortunately we only stayed for one night as we were on our way to Australia but would have loved to have stayed longer. A recommendation I would make, get a taxi from the airport rather than attempting to get the train, much easier.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmohide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 858 in Bangkok
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#4 of 858 in Bangkok
547 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariyasomvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariyasomvilla

Property: Ariyasomvilla
Address: 65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariyasomvilla 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariyasomvilla Boutique Hotel is a very unique property in the centre of Bangkok. The original house was built by the current Owners Grandparents in 1942. Unlike other hotels Ariyasomvilla gives you a real sense of place and time but with all modern facilities you would expect from 5 star hotels. With 24 rooms Ariyasomvilla is very private and feels like a sanctuary. The pool is large enough for lap, while the spa offers excellent massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ariyasomvilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariyasomvilla Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing