We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in bangkok”
Review of Ariyasomvilla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ariyasomvilla
Ranked #3 of 863 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“A gem in bangkok”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Ayiyasomvilla is an oasis in the middle of Bangkok. It is tastefully decorated and renovated, keeping the flavor of the bygone colonial era while providing the high levels of modern comfort. The bathroom is huge and comfort and is the best part of the room. The dining room (breakfast room) is the most beautiful room, and the breakfast was very nice. Close to the Skytrain station and very convenient. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travel-world-mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,256
    213
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
244
861
92
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Just stayed one night, but felt home immediatly. The place is spotless clean and the staff very friendly. The most I enjoyed the small touches, Soap with colored rice, incent burners, turn down service, fruit platters, Bathroom with natural stone decorations etc...
You can feel that the owners are behind their business. The only downside is the location, a bit far from BTS or MRT...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Our family of 4 loved Ariyasomvilla! We popped in and out of this beautiful boutique hotel over the 4 weeks of our SE Asian odyssey and always felt like we were coming home. David was usually there chatting to his guests and overseeing his staff, who were delightful and always willing to accommodate. Our room was very well equipped to sleep the 4 of us, with a sofa bed and a fold out provided for our 2 kids in what felt like a separate bedroom (though it was actually the sitting room). Room 211 was our favourite as it looked over the pool and had a gorgeous balcony. The room was very spacious, too.
The traditional Thai fit out was obviously well designed and thought out and very much in keeping with the history of the house. We felt very peaceful when we were there. We ate 2 diners and thought it was exceptional quality and value and what we had hoped for from clean, crisp, spicy Thai food. Breakfast was amazing, though the kids didn't manage with the vegetarian bacon and sausage, but the abundance of fruit and those banana pancakes certainly made up for it!!
Location was great. An easy exit from the motor way, especially if coming directly from the airport. 20-30 minutes if traffic is good and only about 300bht. To get to the skytrain you have to walk the length of Soi 1 and around the corner so probably a 10minute walk, but what an interesting one with street food vendors, a sidewalk tailor, international hospital with nurses and doctors everywhere and hustle and bustle which made me feel very safe and alive. We ate lunch at the outdoor food stall market, which is about 1/2 way down Soi 1, twice. Best Pad Thai made in front of you, yummy chicken rice, noodles and so much more. To feed four of us it cost no more that $6 and it was delicious and clean.
We indulged in a some of the Thai massages at the hotel and they were spot on. Probably the best of our trip, and we tried quite a few. Very reasonably priced, too.
Don't even second guess staying here. If you can get in then grab it. We will be back! Thank you so much for having us.

Room Tip: Room 211 was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carducci_Clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

At the end of Sukhumvit Soi 1 is an oasis of tranquility and a temple of taste. The Ariyasomvilla is a gem of a boutique hotel, small, friendly and very, very classy. Built around a traditional Thai house the hotel owner has taken great care to ensure that traditional Thai aesthetics and sense of serenity are maintained throughout the hotel.

All of the rooms are quite, spacious and styled in a traditional Thai way but with all the amenities you would expect; large screen TVs, Internet access, tea and coffee making facilities etc. The rooms induce a calmness and peace into the bustling heart of Bangkok and takes you a galaxy away from the careworn world outside.

The dinning room has tall windows that open out onto the garden, a garden that is landscaped by the British owner’s landscape gardener wife. Every care has been taken to use decorative and architectural plants appropriately with ancient trees providing shade.

The environmental has not been forgotten either. The swimming pool water is purified with a special salt and not environmentally damaging chlorine. There is a car park but it is underground so the noise and fumes of cars do not intrude into the area.
The food is mainly Thai and is of an excellent quality, it is also authentic in presentation, ingredients and taste. Lunch or dinner here is an experience in itself.

The Ariyasomvilla is delightfully different from other boutique hotels because the owner and staff care for their guests as people and not room numbers.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and of equal quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suanphlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Nestled right at the end of Soi 1 off Sukhmuvit is Ariyasomvilla, and when you enter you wouldn't know that you are a stone's throw from freeways nor the various attractions and temptations on Sukhumvit Rd.

Ariyasomvilla is all understated Thai elegance, and it makes you feel relaxed and at home from the outset. The low rise buildings blend into their surrounds, and it has the feel of a resort, even though it's in central Bangkok. It's well located too with the nearest Skytrain station only 5 minutes walk away, and you could walk to the big shopping malls around Siam Square if you wanted (though the heat and humidity will probably dictate otherwise).

The rooms are superbly fitted out, with sumptuous hardwoods throughout, and the bed has to to be the biggest I have ever slept in.

The restaurant serves excellent Thai fare (no meat, though fish and seafood are plentiful) and the breakfast outside by the pool is divine.

Two minor criticisms are the lack of any alcoholic drinks in the min-bar (7/11 down the road to the rescue!) and the bathroom has an opaque window that has the corridor outside the rooms on the other side. This allows the night light to come into the bedroom during the night, which doesn't appear to be able to be blocked out - can be annoying if you are a light sleeper like me.

Otherwise, an excellent boutique upper-end choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flavour2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This hotel is everything you want & more. This trip was for our wedding & honeymoon. We have previously visited Bangkok & had to start here in order to register our wedding at the British Embassy before heading to Koh Samui to be married.

We choose this hotel on the basis of other trip advisor reviews & we were so pleased we did. The hotel is intimate, beautiful, just perfect. We had our two & a half year old daughter with us & we choose it really as it seemed to be set away from the hustle & bustle of Bangkok. Saying this though, the sky train is just around the corner & in two stops you reach the main areas Siam square etc.

The staff were lovely, food absolute heaven. The restaurant was so good we ate there nearly every night and we never normally would do this.

We stayed for three nights and then went to the Islands & Chang Mai, coming back here for our last night before heading back to England & I can honestly say that we were all looking forward to spending our last night of our trip back at the Ariyasoma & we were not disappointed.

If we were ever to visit Bangkok again we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JodieT77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Ariyasomvilla is absolutely divine and one of the very best boutique hotels we have ever had the pleasure in which to stay. The hotel's car service promptly transferred us from the airport and we were greeted with iced tea and escorted to a gorgeous and quiet room overlooking a courtyard. The room was spotless and beautifully appointed with thoughtful touches of fresh flowers and exotic fruit. The breakfast was delicious and the staff was incredibly helpful. We want to return to Bangkok for the sole purpose of staying at Ariyasomvilla!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrowAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 863 in Bangkok
614 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#5 of 863 in Bangkok
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariyasomvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariyasomvilla

Property: Ariyasomvilla
Address: 65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariyasomvilla 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariyasomvilla Boutique Hotel is a very unique property in the centre of Bangkok. The original house was built by the current Owners Grandparents in 1942. Unlike other hotels Ariyasomvilla gives you a real sense of place and time but with all modern facilities you would expect from 5 star hotels. With 24 rooms Ariyasomvilla is very private and feels like a sanctuary. The pool is large enough for lap, while the spa offers excellent massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ariyasomvilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariyasomvilla Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing