We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden retreat”
Review of Ariyasomvilla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ariyasomvilla
Ranked #3 of 885 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We read other guests mentioning Aryiasomvila a hidden gem. In fact it is. Hidden as it is at the end of a side street of one the bussiest roads of Bangkok. The sideroad itself gives you on a miniscale a good idea of everyday streetlife in Bangkok. There are plenty of streetfood restaurants, 2 supermarkets, a pharmacy and a very reasonable italian restaurant (just in case you dont want spicy food for one day).
The reception was hearty and welcoming and you feel immediately at ease.
We had a de luxe room with a little pivate terrace on the gardenside which gave privacy and the opportunity to sit there by eveningtime before going to bed.
The room is spacious though lacking enough light (lamps) at evening time which makes the room a bit gloomy.
The breakfast is by order, not buffet. You can order what you want. But there can be some waiting time. We had a good time in the Aryisomvilla. The staff is nice and helpful. We stayed there 5 nights. It is a perfect alternative for those who dont want the big five star hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

904 - 910 of 1,525 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012

We've been back from Bangkok for several weeks now but haven't stopped talking about this hotel! To find such a peaceful, friendly and beautiful place in the middle of a bustling city was more than we could have hoped for. The room was beautiful, the staff went out of their way to help us and we enjoyed the pool and the food. We would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjr80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Wow, this place was amazing and every one of our expectations were exceeded. We went for the package, and the deluxe room was beautiful and it was a lovely surprise to have scented candles lit in the bathroom each day. We enjoyed a dip in the pool each evening, and it was fun even in the rain, much to the amusement of the staff. We also tried the hotel massage which was great, in the open air pavillion over-looking the pool. The meals we had in the hotel were also great, we loved the fruit, and pancakes at breakfast. Make sure you also try the Massaman curry and try the desserts, which are home made by David. All staff were really accommodating, greeting you by name and with smiles. The hotel is close to the BTS and to the ferry (behind hotel), which makes it perfect to explore Bangkok. We will definitely return here and recommend it to any of our friends travelling to Bangkok. David was wonderful and charming and was very helpful in recommending day trips and travel routes.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be great, just depends on your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NicolaHartMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

My wife and I decided to stay here for our honeymoon. So far, it has been a great decision.

Because of some delays with the airport driver, (not the hotel's fault), they upgraded us to an executive suite. This was something that they really did not have to do. We had arranged a deluxe room and we would have been happy to stay in it. However, we were very pleased to have been moved to such a huge, well laid-out room (two living rooms, with an upstairs bedroom).

Though it was originally book for 6, our arranged massage had to be pushed back to 6:30. The staff arranged these change easily and without problems. Even better, our dinner at Na Aroon afterwards was absolutely delicious. Everything on the plate was prepared perfectly: turnip cake (sounds nowhere near as good as it tasted), seafood curry--outstanding, massaman curry (great). All in all we both had a very pleasant, relaxing stay.

The people here have been all smiles, going out of there way to help us at all times. For those hoping to learn more about the hotel, please send me a message. We've really enjoyed our stay here and we have no complaints about the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This is a lovely hotel. It really is an oasis in the middle of a crowded, hot, congested city. It's so quiet and relaxing. We had a nice room (we were upgraded from the studio level rooms to the next level up- I can't remember what those are called) and it was really lovely and spacious. The grounds are gorgeous, the pool is totally relaxing, and the meals and service at the hotel were great. A perfect place to stay when you arrive in Thailand.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parkbench28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Ayiyasomvilla is an oasis in the middle of Bangkok. It is tastefully decorated and renovated, keeping the flavor of the bygone colonial era while providing the high levels of modern comfort. The bathroom is huge and comfort and is the best part of the room. The dining room (breakfast room) is the most beautiful room, and the breakfast was very nice. Close to the Skytrain station and very convenient. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travel-world-mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Just stayed one night, but felt home immediatly. The place is spotless clean and the staff very friendly. The most I enjoyed the small touches, Soap with colored rice, incent burners, turn down service, fruit platters, Bathroom with natural stone decorations etc...
You can feel that the owners are behind their business. The only downside is the location, a bit far from BTS or MRT...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 885 in Bangkok
4,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariyasomvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariyasomvilla

Address: 65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £117 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariyasomvilla 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariyasomvilla Boutique Hotel is a very unique property in the centre of Bangkok. The original house was built by the current Owners Grandparents in 1942. Unlike other hotels Ariyasomvilla gives you a real sense of place and time but with all modern facilities you would expect from 5 star hotels. With 24 rooms Ariyasomvilla is very private and feels like a sanctuary. The pool is large enough for lap, while the spa offers excellent massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ariyasomvilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariyasomvilla Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing